Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Carrie Stanley Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1901-1944
Creator: Stanley, Carrie (1886-1962)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0074
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: University of Iowa professor of English,1920-1954. Correspondence.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Jerry Murphy in 1978.

Preferred Citation: Carrie E. Stanley Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Carrie Ellen Stanley was born January 1, 1886, in Toledo, Kansas. She grew up in Corning, Iowa. She earned her B.A. from the University of Iowa in 1912, and took her M.A. in 1915. Ms. Stanley taught high school English in Lamoni and Marshalltown within Iowa, as well as Boise, Idaho, after graduation.
 
Stanley joined the faculty of the State University of Iowa English Department in September 1920 as instructor. She was promoted to associate professor during her career. Stanley taught composition, and established a writing laboratory in 1934 to provide additional aid to students who were struggling with that subject. Professor Stanley's laboratory methods were copied at writing labs nationwide. After retiring from the University in 1954, she taught at schools in Lone Tree, Iowa, until May 1962. Carrie Stanley died June 18, 1962. A women's dormitory constructed in 1966 was named after her.

This collection consists of correspondence of Carrie Ellen Stanley, dated 1901 to 1944, primarily 1912, 1913, and 1943. These papers are not arranged. Correspondents include James J. Trickey (1888-1913), and Carrie Stanley's relatives. Subjects include public schools of Boise, Idaho and Idaho irrigation farming.
Folder, "Stanley, Carrie E.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Stanley, Carrie Ellen. "The Tenth Century English Renaissance." Master's thesis, The University of Iowa, 1915.

Stanley, Carrie Ellen. A Guide for Freshman College English, With Freshmen Themes. New York: Century, 1926.

Records of the Dept. of English (RG06.0012.001)

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Stanley, Carrie E. (Carrie Ellen), 1886-1962

Corporate Names:
University of Iowa. Dept. of English

Topics:
Writers' workshops

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Sources
Correspondence

Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers