Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Ernest P. Kuhl Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1855-1979
Creator: Kuhl, Ernest P. (1881-1981)
Extent: 9.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0064
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor of English at the University of Iowa for 26 years. The collection is largely correspondence with important Chaucer and Shakespeare scholars.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: See E.P. Kuhl Collection of Photographs (RG30.0001.002)

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Ernest Kuhl in 1977, 1978, and after his death in 1981. Processed by Earl Rogers, Daniel Farber, and Robert Franciosi, 1977-1978. Guide posted to Internet December 2004; updated January 2008.

Preferred Citation: Ernest P. Kuhl Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Ernest Peter Kuhl was born in Milan, Ohio, October 10, 1881 of German immigrants. He attended Sandusky Business School, Valparaiso University, received a BA from Indiana University (1907) and his MA from Harvard (1908).

On September 9, 1909 he married Lucy Van Dyke Leech whom he met at Valparaiso University and with whom he had two children, Robert Wolfe Kuhl and Lucy Elizabeth Kuhl Belting.

Kuhl taught English and rhetoric at the University of Michigan for four years (1908--1912), then returned to Harvard for his Ph.D (1913). He taught at Radcliffe, Dartmouth (1914--1916), University of Minnesota (1916--1918), Goucher College (1918--1926) and in the extensions department of Johns Hopkins (1919--1926), before coming to Iowa in 1926. He taught summers at Maine, Michigan, Stanford, Radcliffe, and Washington.

He was a lifetime member of the Modern Language Association and the University of Iowa Research Club.

Kuhl retired from the University of Iowa in 1952. He continued to research works of William Shakespeare well into his 90s. Kuhl died at the age of 99 in Iowa City on April 26, 1981.

The Kuhl Paers comprehensively document the life of a university professor, involved in teaching and research, confronting the changing academic atmoshere and the bureaucratic problems of institutions of higher education. A large part of the collection consists of correspondence to Kuhl from fellow scholars and students, including most of the important Chaucer and Shakespeare scholars who, with Kuhl, laid the groundwork for 20th century Medieval and Renaissance studies. The collection also includes a book length manuscript concerning the historical context of Shakespearean drama and the role of Shakespeare within his own epoch. Kuhl's letters to his family (1960--1974) disclose the alert, sensitive erudition cultivated during eight decades of academic activity.
Folder, "Kuhl, Ernest P.", in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG01.0015.003)

E.P. Kuhl Collection of Photographs (RG30.0001.002)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: MANUSCRIPT AND KUHL HOUSE REMODELING
Series 3: MISCELLANEOUS NOTEBOOKS AND BOOKS

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Kuhl-Weichel family correspondence and account book - circa 1855
  • Correspondence - 1903-1918
  • Correspondence - 1923
  • Correspondence - 1924
  • Correspondence - 1925
  • Correspondence - 1926 January-August
  • Correspondence - 1926 September-December
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1927 January-September
  • Correspondence - 1927 October-December, 1928
  • Correspondence - 1929
  • Correspondence - 1930
  • Correspondence - 1931 January-July
  • Correspondence - 1931 August-December
  • Correspondence - 1932 January-June
  • Correspondence - 1932 July-December
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence - 1933 January-June
  • Correspondence - 1933 July-december
  • Correspondence - 1934
  • Correspondence - 1935 January-May
  • Correspondence - 1935 June-December
  • Correspondence - 1936 January-October
  • Correspondence - 1936 November-December
  • Correspondence - 1937 January-June
  • Correspondence - 1937 July-December
  • Correspondence - 1938
  • Correspondence - 1939
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence - 1940
  • Correspondence - 1941
  • Correspondence - 1942
  • Correspondence - 1943
  • Correspondence - 1944
  • Correspondence - 1945
  • Correspondence - 1946
  • Correspondence - 1947
  • Correspondence - 1948
  • Correspondence - 1949
  • Box 5:
  • Correspondence - 1950
  • M. E. Branham - 1950
  • Correspondence - 1951
  • M. E. Branham - 1951
  • Correspondence - 1952
  • M. E. Branham - 1952
  • Correspondence - 1953-1954
  • Correspondence - 1955-1959
  • Correspondence - 1960-1963
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence - 1964
  • Correspondence - 1965
  • Correspondence - 1966
  • Correspondence - 1967
  • Correspondence - 1968-1969
  • Correspondence - 1970 January-July
  • Correspondence - 1970 August-December
  • Correspondence - 1971
  • Correspondence - 1972-1978
  • Series 2: MANUSCRIPT AND KUHL HOUSE REMODELING
  • Box 7:
  • Shakespeare: Soul of the Age. Manuscript
    9 folders
  • Remodeling of Kuhl house, architect's agreement and invoices - 1927-1928
  • Series 3: MISCELLANEOUS NOTEBOOKS AND BOOKS
  • Box 8:
  • "Diary on trip to England"/ E.P.Kuhl - 1909 July 3
  • "Outlines of Tom Jones" / E.P. Kuhl, Ann Arbor, Michigan - 1908 October 21
  • "Briefs and impressions of reading" / E.P. Kuhl, Ann Arbor, Michigan - 1908 October
  • William Hand Browne / by J.W. Bright - 1913 February
  • "Lecture notes, English 2-8" - circa 1921
  • "Diary-Oropesa" / E.P. Kuhl - 1922 June 10
  • L'Heur Passe by Carol Wight - circa 1928
  • Chaucer in Tennessee / E.P. Kuhl - 1938 January 23
  • "Consumer's research" / E.P. Kuhl - circa 1941
  • No entries - 1950 December
  • "Travel notes, Mexico" / E.P. Kuhl - circa 1951
  • "Diary, Chaucer & Shakespeare" / E.P. Kuhl - 1952 June 1
  • "Dublin" / E.P. Kuhl - 1952 June 26
  • "Oxford" / E.P. Kuhl - 1952 August
  • "Oxford" / E.P. Kuhl - 1952 October 20
  • "Britain-address book" / E.P. Kuhl - circa 1952
  • "Canal, Florida" / E.P. Kuhl - 1954 August
  • "Travel notes" / E.P. Kuhl - 1956 August 1
  • "Notes" / E.P. Kuhl - circa 1958
  • "Notes" / E.P. Kuhl - Undated

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers