Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Bartholow Crawford Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1909-1945
Creator: Crawford, Bartholow (1888-1968)
Extent: .75 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0055
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor in English Department 1921-1956. Taught American literature and American drama courses.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives in February 1973.

Preferred Citation: Bartholow Crawford Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Bartholow Vincent Crawford was born in Miles, Iowa, and attended high school and Cornell College in Mt. Vernon, Iowa. Following his graduation in 1910, Crawford began teaching English at Cornell College. He received his M.A. from Harvard University in 1913, and then taught in the Rhetoric Department at the University of Minnesota. He took his Ph.D. at Harvard in 1918, then moved to Houston to teach English at Rice Institute until 1921, when he joined the English Department faculty at the University of Iowa as assistant professor.

At the University of Iowa, Dr. Crawford became full professor in 1937. He taught courses in American literature and American drama, and for six years during his tenure he broadcast these classes on radio station WSUI. He also taught a course in American novel. Crawford married Phyllis Martin Jones in 1934, and the couple had two daughters, Elizabeth and Rachel. Bartholow Crawford retired from the University of Iowa in 1956, and died January 29, 1968.

[D. Anderson; 09/2007].

The Bartholow Crawford papers include three Cornell College yearbooks which he edited as a student or, as a member of the English faculty, advised, along with book reviews and articles.
Folder, "Crawford, Bartholow," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Papers of Clarence A. Andrews (RG99.0048)

Papers of William Leigh Sowers (RG99.0073)

Papers of Carrie E. Stanley (RG99.0074)

Records of the Dept. of English (RG06.0012.001)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Yearbook. Royal Purple '10 , Junior Yearbook of Cornell College - 1909
  • Yearbook. Royal Purple, Junior Yearbook of Cornell College - 1912
  • Yearbook. Royal Purple, Junior Yearbook of Cornell College - 1913
  • Photograph, Cornell College - 1910
  • Box 2:
  • Articles, bibliography, and book reviews by Mr. Crawford - 1930 -1945