Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Hardin Craig Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1926-1947
Creator: Craig, Hardin (1875-1968)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0054
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor of English at the University of Iowa 1919-1928. Authority on Shakespeare and Milton. Typescripts.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970. Finding aid created by Denise Anderson, October 2007.

Preferred Citation: Harden Craig papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Hardin Craig was born June 29, 1875, in Owensboro, Kentucky. He was married to Gertrude Carr. Mr. Craig earned his A.B. from Centre College in Kentucky in 1897. He took his M.A. and Ph.D. from Princeton University in 1899 and 1901. In 1897, he served as principal for one year at Stanford Academy in Kentucky, then studied at Oxford from 1901 to 1903. From 1903 to 1905 he was an instructor in English at Princeton, and continued at Princeton as an Edgerstoune School preceptor (tutor) from 1905 to 1910. In May 1910 he left Princeton for the University of Minnesota, where he was professor of English until 1919. He was on military leave from the University of Minnesota for two years to serve in the Army.

In April 1919 Dr. Craig joined the English Department faculty at the University of Iowa, and was made head of the department the following year. At the University of Iowa, he taught courses in Shakespeare, Sixteenth Century Literature, and Liturgical Sources of Middle English Literature. In 1928 Dr. Craig left Iowa to teach at Stanford University. In March 1942 he resigned from Stanford to teach at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Professor Craig was considered to be an authority on Shakespeare and Milton. Hardin Craig died in 1968.

[D. Anderson; 10/2007].

The Hardin Craig papers include his typescripts.
Folder, "Craig, Hardin," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Records of the Dept. of English (RG06.0012.001)

Papers of Bartholow Crawford (RG99.0055)

Papers of Millington F. Carpenter (RG99.0052)

Papers of William Leigh Sowers (RG99.0073)

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Craig, Hardin, 1875-1968

Corporate Names:
University of Iowa. Dept. of English

Topics:
English literature

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Typescripts

Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers