Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Estella Boot Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1930
Creator: Boot, Estella (1930)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0051
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor of English, 1917-1949. Travel diaries.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Sven Armens in September 1987. Finding aid created by Denise Anderson, September 2007

Preferred Citation: Estella Boot Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

"Estella May Boot was born December 14, 1875, in Wilton Junction, Muscatine County, Iowa. She became a school teacher at age sixteen and graduated from the University of South Dakota in 1901, majoring in Latin, Greek, and Sanskrit. She took her M.A. from Northwestern University in 1909, in Latin and English. She taught at Kansas State University for eight years before joining the English Department faculty at the University of Iowa in 1917. She pursued graduate work in Science and English at Kansas State College, Columbia University, and the University of Chicago. Her work for a Ph.D. was complete, except for a dissertation. She retired as assistant professor from the University of Iowa in 1949 but continued tutoring foreign students in English for the next twenty years. The Estella Boot Fellowship was established on the occasion of her 92nd birthday in 1967, in honor of her long membership in American Association of University Women (AAUW). Estella Boot died August 29, 1969, at age 93.

The Estella Boot papers include her two travel diaries dated 1930.
Folder, "Boot, Estella," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Records of the Dept. of English (RG06.0012.001)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Diaries, June-September - 1930
  • Photograph of Estella Boot in a graduation gown. On mount of W. H. Lawton, Vermillion, S.D. - 1901
    Gift of Charlotte Wright, 2011

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Boot, Estella May, 1875-1969

Topics:
Women college teachers
Women in higher education

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Diaries

Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers