Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Sven Armens Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1990
Creator: Armens, Sven
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: RG99.0050
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor of English and published poet. Manuscripts.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Mr. Armens in October 1994.

Preferred Citation: Sven Armens Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Sven M. Armens was born August 11, 1921, in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Mr. Armens received his A.M. degree from Tufts College (now Tufts University) in Medford, Massachusetts, in 1943. He took the M.A. and Ph.D. in English at Harvard University in 1947 and 1951.
 
Dr. Armens received a teaching fellowship at Harvard during 1949-1950. He joined the State University of Iowa English faculty as an instructor in 1950. He was promoted to assistant professor in 1954, associate professor in 1961, and was made full professor in 1966. He taught courses in American poetry, Shakespeare, and ancient and modern literature. In addition to publishing several books of poetry, he contributed to the University of Kansas City Review and other publications. Dr. Armens retired from the University in 1988.
 
He married Kathleen Vera Danahy on May 31, 1942, and they had two children, Karl and Sharon.

The Sven M. Armens papers include his manuscript drafts of poetry.
Folder, "Armens, Sven," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the Dept. of English (RG 06.12.01)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Manuscript, In the Vernacular - 1990
    publish date
  • In the Vernacular, typed working copy
  • "The Carnal Mass (Miss Pro Defunctis)"
  • "The Prodigal Samaritan (An Intermezzo)"
  • "The Forms of Salvation"
  • "Coda: The Last Word"
  • Box 2:
  • In the Vernacular, Second movement
  • In the Vernacular, Third movement
  • In the Vernacular, Fourth movement
  • Box 3:
  • "Coda: The Last Word," typed working copy

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty and Staff Organizations