Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Edward Bartow Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1905-1943
Creator: Bartow, Edward (1870-1958)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0038
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor and head of Chemistry Department 1920-1940. Research in area of water treatment. Includes articles.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970. Finding aid created by Denise Anderson, October 2007.

Preferred Citation: Edward Bartow Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Edward Bartow was born in Glenham, New York, on January 12, 1870. He graduated from Williams College in Massachusetts in 1892, and took his Ph.D. in 1895 from the University of Göttingen, Germany. Upon returning to the United States, he married Alice Abbott on September 3, 1895. Dr. Bartow first taught at Williams College, then at the University of Kansas from 1897 to 1905, followed by the University of Illinois 1905 to 1920. He served in the American Expeditionary Forces in France during World War I, providing sanitary drinking water and waste treatment for troops.
 
At the University of Iowa, Dr. Bartow was head of the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering from 1920 to 1940. The work he accomplished during World War I led to his area of research at Iowa -- the chemical treatment of water while protecting the environment. Edward Bartow died April 12, 1958.

The Edward Bartow papers include his articles.
Folder, "Bartow, Edward," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Bartow, Edward. "Memoirs of Edward Bartow." Iowa City, manuscript, 1958 [?]

Records of the Chemistry Dept. (RG06.09)

Folder, "Bond, Perry A.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Gibson, Robert Banks," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Olin, Hubert," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Pearce, James Newton," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Raiford, Lemuel Charles," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Rockwood, Elbert," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Topics:
Veterans
World War, 1914-1918

Occupations:
Chemical engineers
Chemistry teachers

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Articles
Reprints

Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers