Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Robert B. Wylie Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1890-1956
Creator: Wylie, Robert B. (1870-1959)
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: RG99.0037
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: University of Iowa professor of botany, 1908-1940. Director of the Iowa Lakeside Laboratory, 1919-1923. Workshop and was instrumentalnd was instrumental in designing the first doctoral program in mass communication in the U.S.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries prior to 1970. Processed by Earl M. Rogers in April 1997. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated January 2008. Updated July 2009 to reflect accrual (Accession 2009-47).

Preferred Citation: Robert B. Wylie Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Robert Bradford Wylie was born in Maquoketa, Iowa, March 28, 1870, and died in Iowa City, June 9, 1959. His degrees were B.S., Upper Iowa University, Fayette, 1897; Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1904; and LL.D., Upper Iowa, 1924. Wylie taught botany at Morningside College, Sioux City, Iowa, 1897-1906, except when studying for his doctorate, and at the University of Iowa from 1906 onward. He served as department head, 1919-1940. Wylie?s professional activities include the Friday Harbor Marine Biological Laboratory, University of Washington; Iowa Academy of Science (president, 1922-1923); Iowa Lakeside Laboratory; and the University of Iowa Fiji-New Zealand expedition, 1922.

The papers concern research and teaching in botany at the University of Iowa and other institutions, including the Fiji-New Zealand expedition. Correspondents include Shirley A. Briggs (on Rachel Carson), Henry S. Conard, Thomas H. Macbride, Jane Philpott, George B. Rigg, Fred J. Seaver, Bohumil Shimek, Frank D. Venning, and other botanists and Iowa faculty. The Robert B. Wylie Papers consist of one document box of correspondence, notebooks, photographs, research papers, and speeches.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1907-1939
  • Correspondence - 1940-1956
  • Correspondence, Macbride - 1906-1934
  • Fiji Islands and New Zealand expedition notebooks
  • Fiji Islands and New Zealand expedition papers
  • Miscellaneous clippings and articles
  • Photographs of Wylie's mother
  • Research papers, A-F
  • Box 2:
  • Research papers, G-W
  • Research - bibliographies
  • Unpublished speeches, editorials, reviews
  • Promotional publication draft, photos and glass plate - 1953-1954
  • Lecture notes: Comparative Morphology of Plants - 1908-1909
  • Lecture notes - Undated
  • Sketches of specimens (2) - Undated