Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the George Willard Martin Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1925-1971
Creator: Martin, George Willard (1886-1971)
Extent: 5.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0035
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: University of Iowa professor of botany and editor of several scientific journals.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries from the Department of Botany in October 1973. Processed by Juliet Hauser April 1980. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated January 2008.

Preferred Citation: George Willard Martin Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

George Willard Martin was born in Brooklyn, New York, October 27, 1886, and died in Iowa City, September 13, 1971. His degrees were Litt.B., Rutgers, 1912; M.Sc., 1915; D.Sc. (hon.), 1963; Ph.D., Chicago, 1922. He joined the Department of Botany at Iowa in 1923, reaching the rank of Professor in 1929. Martin was Director of the Iowa Lakeside Laboratory, 1928-1934, and Head of the Department of Botany, 1953-1955, becoming Professor Emeritus in 1955. His specialty was mycology (fungi), especially Myxomycetes (slime molds). He was a co-author of two books on the Myxomycetes, 1934 and 1969, and was editor-in-chief of Mycologia and of the University of Iowa Studies in Natural History.

The correspondence includes determinations of specimen types, exchanges, botanical society business, critiquing of journal articles, recommendations for Martin's many students, and inquiries from the general public. Correspondents include botanical garden personnel, herbarium curators, professors at other universities, government agencies dealing with the study of fungi, foreign mycologists, and his former students. Significant correspondents include Constantine John Alexopoulos, Ruth McVaugh Allen, Gladys Elizabeth Baker, Robert Joseph Bandoni, Ernst Athearn Bessey, Henry Shoemaker Conard, William Bridge Cooke, Richard William George Dennis, Bernard Ogilvie Dodge, Marie Leonore Farr, Joseph Charles Gilman, William Dudley Gray, Clifford William Hesseltine, Herbert Spencer Jackson, Theodor Karl Just, Lorene Louise Kennedy, Donald T. Kowalski, Paul Lewis Lentz, David Hunt Linder, Marcel V. Locquin, Josiah Lincoln Lowe, Bernard Lowy, Thomas Huston Macbride (no letter from Macbride is in the Martin Papers), Donald Phillip Rogers, Fred Jay Seaver, William C. Sturgis, Kartar Singh Thind, Arthur Luna Welden, and Kenneth Wells.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • A-Ala
  • Alexopoulos, C. J. - 1950-1963
  • Alexopoulos, C. J. - 1964-1965
  • Alexopoulos, C. J. - 1966-1967
  • Alexopoulos, C. J.-Ali - 1968-1971
  • Allen, including Ruth Allen - 1961-1963
  • Allen, Ruth - 1964-1970
  • Alli-Am
  • Box 2:
  • An-Ay
  • B-Bal
  • Bandoni, Robert J. - 1952-1971
  • Ban-Bax
  • Be
  • Bh-Bo
  • Br-Bu
  • Ca-Cook
  • Box 3:
  • Cooke, William Bridge - 1941-1971
  • Cool-Curt
  • D-Dar
  • Dav-Den
  • Dep-Di
  • Do-Du
  • E
  • Fa-Farr, Marie L. - 1954-1961
  • Box 4:
  • Farr, Marie L. - 1962-1971
  • Farrow-Fid
  • Fin-Fur
  • Gai-Gilb
  • Gilk-Gran
  • Gray, William D. - 1935-1970
  • Grea-Guth
  • Ha
  • Box 5:
  • Hed-Hes
  • Hesseltine, C. W. - 1940-1963
  • Hey-Hox
  • Hu-Hy
  • I
  • Jackson, H. S. - 1932-1951
  • Jah-Jun
  • Just, Theodor - 1938-1956
  • Box 6:
  • K-Ken
  • Kennedy, Lorene L. - 1953-1970
  • Ken-Kor
  • Kowalski, Donald T. - 1958-1971
  • Kr-Leh
  • Lentz, Paul - 1942-1968
  • Lenz-Linder
  • Lindq-Lon
  • Box 7:
  • Lowe, Josiah L. - 1940-1970
  • Lowy, Bernard - 1949-1971
  • Lu-McA
  • Macbride, Thomas Huston - 1928-1937
  • McC-McG
  • Mack-McV
  • Mad-Mat
  • Max-Mey
  • Mi
  • Moh-Moo
  • Box 8:
  • Morgan-Morris, E. F.
  • Morrow-Morton
  • Mos-Mu
  • Mycologia
  • N-Nelson, R. R.
  • Nelson, T. C. - 1925-1955
  • Nes-Ny
  • O
  • P-Pe
  • Ph-Pu
  • Box 9:
  • Ra
  • Re-Rod
  • Rogers, Donald P. - 1933-1936
  • Rogers, Donald P. - 1937-1939
  • Rogers, Donald P. - 1940-1941
  • Rogers, Donald P. - 1942
  • Rogers, Donald P. - 1943
  • Rogers, Donald P. - 1944-1946
  • Rogers, Donald P. - 1947-1950
  • Box 10:
  • Rogers, Donald P. - 1951-1956
  • Rogers, Donald P. - 1957-1959
  • Rogers, Donald P. - 1960-1971
  • Rogers, T. E.-Ru
  • S-Seas
  • Seaver, Fred J. - 1936-1958
  • Seaverns-Sh
  • Si-Sm
  • Snell
  • Box 11:
  • So-Stanf
  • Stanl-Stev
  • Stew-Stou
  • Stov-Sy
  • Ta
  • Te
  • Thind, K. S. - 1958-1971
  • Thir-Tu
  • U-V
  • Box 12:
  • W-Welc
  • Welden, Arthur L. - 1951-1969
  • Wells, Kenneth - 1956-1971
  • Wen-Wes
  • Wh
  • Wi
  • Wo
  • Wr-Wy
  • Y-Z

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers