Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Joan Mannheimer Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1974-1984
Creator: Mannheimer, Joan (1927-2007)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0032
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Drake University graduate and instructor in sociology. Co-founder of the Friends Development Council, University of Iowa Museum of Art. Correspondence and unpublished manuscripts.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Joan Mannheimer in October 1997. Guide created in August 2008.

Preferred Citation: Joan Mannheimer Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Joan (Eisenberg) Mannheimer was born January 12, 1927. She received her B.A. and M.A. degrees from Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa, in 1948 and 1966. She married Robert E. Mannheimer in June 1947 and they had three sons, David, Steven and Robert A. Her husband, a University of Iowa alumnus, died in February 2007.
 
In 1964 Ms. Mannheimer worked in community relations for the Children and Families of Iowa organization. She was an instructor in sociology at Drake University from 1967-1969. She contributed articles to Child Welfare, the journal of the Child Welfare League of America. Ms. Mannheimer developed a program for the Iowa Department of Human Resources designed to utilize volunteer workers and was an active volunteer herself.
 
Ms. Mannheimer collected contemporary American ceramics, and donated many pieces to the University of Iowa Museum of Art. Her collection was exhibited there in 1981, titled "Centering on Contemporary Clay: American Ceramics from the Joan Mannheimer Collection." She is the recipient of the 1993 Elliott/Stanley Award for Acquisitions for her outstanding contributions to the permanent UIMA ceramics collections. Her extensive cultural volunteer work included co-founding the Friends Development Council of the University of Iowa Museum of Art and serving on the museum's advisory committee.

The Joan Mannheimer papers include correspondence and other research material used in the writing of two enclosed unpublished manuscripts, River Rebels in the Barracks: Ceramic Education at the University of Iowa, 1952-1969, and Glenn C. Nelson. Nelson was an instructor in the University of Iowa Department of Art during 1954-1955.Three color photographs regarding potter Tom Mason are enclosed with correspondence to Mannheimer from James McKinnell, who was assistant professor in the UI Department of Art 1963-1968. Black and white photographs are included of Glenn C. Nelson.
Papers of Lester D. Longman (RG99.0031)

Records of the School of Art and Art History (RG06.0007.001)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Manuscript, "River Rebels in the Barracks: Ceramic Education at the University of Iowa, 1952-1969"
  • Manuscript, "Glenn C. Nelson"
  • Photographs of Glenn C. Nelson
  • Correspondence with Glenn C. Nelson
  • Correspondence with ceramics artists
  • Vitae of Glenn C. Nelson and other artists
  • List of graduate students in ceramics

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers