Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Mauricio Lasansky Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1934-1945
Creator: Lasansky, Mauricio (1914-2012)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0030
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor, University of Iowa School of Art and Art History, from 1945 until 1986. Well-known for intaglio printmaking. Biography and photographs of his prints.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from Professor Gustave von Groschwitz, School of Art and Art History. Guide created by Denise Anderson, June 2007.

Preferred Citation: [Name of collection], The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Mauricio Lasansky was born October 12, 1914 in Buenos Aires, Argentina, to parents of Lithuanian ancestry. His interest in printing was stirred at a young age, because his father made engravings for printing the currency of Argentina. Young Lasansky began his formal printmaking education at the Escuela Superior de Bellas Artes, and within three years was the director of the Free Fine Arts School in Argentina. In 1943 he studied at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York under a Guggenheim Fellowship. The grant was renewed the following year, allowing him to study intaglio printing, a printing process for which he became famous. In 1945 Lasansky joined the faculty at the University of Iowa School of Fine Arts, where he founded the Iowa Print Group. Mauricio Lasansky retired as full professor in 1986.

Folder, "Lasansky, Mauricio" in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Records of the University of Iowa Press (RG23.0007.003) contains photographs of Professor Lasansky's art

Records of the School of Fine Arts (RG11.0001.001)

Records of the Iowa Print Group (RG06.0007.002)

Newland, Randa Ann. "Twenty-Five Years and the Iowa Print Group." Master's thesis, University of Iowa, 1970.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Slides of prints - 1934-1940
  • Photographs of prints - 1935-1945
  • Biography by unknown author

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty and Staff Organizations