Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Marshall McKusick Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1959-1979
Creator: McKusick, Marshall (1930-)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0028
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor, University of Iowa Department of Sociology and Anthropology, from 1960 until 1996. State Archeologist from 1960 until 1975. Researched prehistoric Native American Indian cultures. Publications.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Marshall McKusick in November 1979. Guide created and posted to the Internet by Denise Anderson, April 2007.

Preferred Citation: Marshall McKusick Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Marshall Bassford McKusick was born January 13, 1930, in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Dr. McKusick earned his B.A. (1952) and M.A. (1954) at the University of Minnesota and his Ph.D. at Yale University in 1960. He was a lecturer and researcher in anthropology and archaeology at the University of California, Los Angeles, from 1958 to 1960.

Dr. McKusick joined the faculty of the University of Iowa Department of Sociology and Anthropology in 1960 as assistant professor, and was the second State Archaeologist for Iowa, serving 1960 to 1975, succeeding Dr. Reynold J. Rupp, who held that position from 1959 to 1960. McKusick was promoted to associate professor in 1964. His area of research was prehistoric Native American Indian cultures, in particular the Woodland, Oneota, and Mill Creek cultures. McKusick retired from the University of Iowa in 1996. He married Charity Koeper in 1954 and later married Joye Davis in January 1982. Their children are Blaine, Lucy, Martin, Karen, and Debra. Marshall McKusick died May 2, 2013.

This collection consists of the numerous publications by Marshall McKusick during his career as State Archaeologist, and University of Iowa professor of Sociology and Anthropology.
Biographical folder, "McKusick, Marshall," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)
 
Records of the Department of Geoscience (RG 06.15)
 
Records of the Department of Anthropology and Archaeology (RG 06.06.01)
 
Papers of June Helm (RG99.0018)
 
The following visual resources, VHS format, were produced by Marshall McKusick, and are available through the Circulation Department, University of Iowa Libraries.
 
---. "Earth Lodge People"
 
---. "Late Woodland Village"
 
---. "Oneota Longhouse People"
 
---. "Fort Madison Archaeology"
 
---. "Mill Creek Village People"
 
---. "Visiting the Indians with George Catlin"
 
---. "Fort Atkinson"
 
The following books by Marshall McKusick are available at the University of Iowa Libraries or the State Historical Society of Iowa.
 
---. The Benton Street Bridge : a Preliminary Assessment of its Engineering Significance
 
---. Ashton House and the Engineer Who Built it
 
---. The Davenport Conspiracy
 
---. The Davenport Conspiracy Revisited
 
---. "The Davenport Stone: a Hoax Unraveled" [pamphlet]
 
---. A Perspective of Iowa Prehistory 1841-1928
 
---. The Iowa Northern Border Brigade
 
---. Archaeological Explorations Along Iowa Highways
 
---. The Grant Oneota Village
 
---. Oneota Longhouses
 
---. Reconstructing the Longhouse Village Settlement Patterns
 
---. Prehistoric Investigations
 
---. Reminiscences of a Pioneer Boy
 
---. The Sioux Quartzite Formation in Gitchie Manitou State Preserve
 
---. Men of Ancient Iowa, as Revealed by Archeological Discoveries
 
---. Archeological Resources of Rathbun Reservoir Drainage, Iowa
 
---. Conserving Iowa

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.