Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Dewey B. Stuit Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1909-1991
Creator: Stuit, Dewey B. (1909-2008)
Extent: 10.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0024
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: University of Iowa professor of psychology and dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Dewey B. Stuit in 2003. Processed by David McCartney in April 2006.

Preferred Citation: Dewey B. Stuit Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Dewey Bernard Stuit was born in Fulton, Illinois, on January 24, 1909, the son of Bernie and Grace (Temple) Stuit. He received his degrees from the University of Illinois: the bachelor of science in 1931, the master of science in 1932, and the Ph.D. in 1934. On September 5, 1934, he married Velma E. Pottorf (1911-1997).
 
In September 1934 Dewey Stuit was appointed instructor of psychology and education at Carleton College in Northfield, Minnesota. In 1936 he was appointed associate professor of educational psychology and measurement at the University of Nebraska, and in 1938 was named associate professor of psychology and director of personnel research at the University of Iowa. Following service in the U.S. Navy from 1943 to 1946, he was promoted to professor of psychology, focusing on educational psychology, a position he held from 1946 until his retirement in 1977. He was also director of the student counseling office (1946-49) and dean of student personnel services (1947-50).
 
It was in his role as the eighth dean of the College of Liberal Arts, however, where Mr. Stuit left his greatest impact on the University. Appointed acting dean in 1948, his appointment became permanent the following year. He held the position until his retirement in 1977. During his tenure he oversaw substantial curricular expansion within the College, establishment of an honors program, and the implementation of rules allowing greater flexibility in degree fulfillment requirements. During the student protest period of the late 1960's and early 1970's he defended the presence of ROTC on campus and criticized the tactics of Students for a Democratic Society (SDS) and other anti-war organizations.
 
UI President Willard (Sandy) Boyd honored Stuit upon his retirement in 1977: "In our programs, he has wanted better, not more. During the years of material growth he counselled against proliferation and concentrated on strengthening existing programs. As an academic spartan, he has been both a traditionalist and a nontraditionalist. ... Flexibility and high standards have been the hallmark of the College of Liberal Arts during Dean Stuit's tenure.

The papers of Dewey B. Stuit are arranged into seven series: Personal Papers, Publications and Professional Papers, Speeches and Presentations, Department of Psychology Teaching and Course Notes, Subject Files, Studies and Reports, and Iowa Qualifying Examinations.
Breaux, Richard. Both Kind and Forceful: Dewey B. Stuit's Leadership of the University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts, 1947-1977. Iowa City: The University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, 2003.

Folder, "Stuit, Dewey B.", Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG01.0015.003)

Oral History Collection (RG01.0006.001)

Records of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (RG06.0001.001)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PERSONAL PAPERS
Series 2: PUBLICATIONS AND PROFESSIONAL PAPERS
Series 3: SPEECHES AND PRESENTATIONS
Series 4: DEPARTMENT OF PSYCHOLOGY TEACHING AND COURSE NOTES
Series 5: SUBJECT FILES
Series 6: STUDIES AND REPORTS
Series 7: IOWA QUALIFYING EXAMINATIONS

  • Series 1: PERSONAL PAPERS
  • Box 1:
  • Scrapbooks and clippings - 1909-1927
  • Scrapbooks and clippings - 1927-1938
  • Scrapbooks and clippings - 1938-1956
  • Scrapbooks and clippings - 1957-1961
  • Scrapbooks and clippings - 1962-1964
  • Box 2:
  • Scrapbooks and clippings - 1964-1967
  • Scrapbooks and clippings - 1968-1969
  • Scrapbooks and clippings - 1970
  • Box 3:
  • Scrapbooks and clippings - 1971
  • Scrapbooks and clippings - 1972
  • Scrapbooks and clippings - 1973
  • Scrapbooks and clippings - 1974-1975
  • Scrapbooks and clippings - 1976-1991
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence and personal histories - 1931-1990
  • Series 2: PUBLICATIONS AND PROFESSIONAL PAPERS
  • Box 5:
  • Publications by Stuit
  • Box 6:
  • Publications by Stuit
  • Box 7:
  • Publications by Stuit
  • Publications citing Stuit
  • Publications by others
  • Series 3: SPEECHES AND PRESENTATIONS
  • Box 8:
  • Speeches and presentations
  • Box 9:
  • Speeches and presentations
  • Series 4: DEPARTMENT OF PSYCHOLOGY TEACHING AND COURSE NOTES
  • Box 10:
  • Psychology 109
  • Psychology 110
  • Psychology 119-120
  • Psychology 198
  • Box 11:
  • Psychology 198
  • Box 12:
  • Teaching: Other courses
  • Box 13:
  • Teaching: Other courses
  • Box 14:
  • Teaching: Other courses
  • Series 5: SUBJECT FILES
  • Box 15:
  • A-E
    Including general correspondence filed alphabetically by name of correspondent
  • Box 16:
  • F-H
  • Box 17:
  • I-O
  • Box 18:
  • P-R
  • Box 19:
  • S-Z
  • Series 6: STUDIES AND REPORTS
  • Box 20:
  • Studies and Reports
  • Series 7: IOWA QUALIFYING EXAMINATIONS
  • Box 20:
  • Iowa Qualifying Examinations

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers