Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the June Helm Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1941-2002
Creator: Helm, June (1924-2004)
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0018
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: University of Iowa professor in Sociology and Anthropology, 1960-1999. Correspondence, speeches, manuscript, awards.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Pierce King in July 2004.

Preferred Citation: June Helm Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

June Helm was born in Twin Falls, Idaho, September 13, 1924. Her family moved to Kansas when she was six years old. She attended the University of Kansas City, and transferred to the University of Chicago, earning her Ph.B. in 1944, M.A. in 1949, and Ph.D. in 1958. Helm married Richard MacNeish in 1945, and the couple moved to Ottawa, Canada in 1949. Her research there along the Mackenzie River became the basis of her Ph.D. thesis at the University of Chicago.
 
According to the University of Iowa Press, Dr. Helm served as president of the American Anthropological Association and adviser to the Indian Brotherhood. She served as consultant to Canada's Mackenzie Valley Pipeline Inquiry.
 
Helm joined the faculty at the University of Iowa in 1960 as assistant professor of Sociology and Anthropology, and was promoted to full professor in 1966. Helm worked to establish the Department of Anthropology at the University of Iowa in 1969. She married Pierce King in 1968. She was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in March 1994. At the time of this award, Dr. Helm was head of American Indian and Native Studies at the University of Iowa. She retired in 1999. June Helm died February 5, 2004.

These papers relate to the professional research and teaching of professor June Helm while on the faculty of the University of Iowa between 1960 and 1999. Series include professional correspondence, speeches, biographical material, awards, drafts, an unpublished manuscript, manuscript notes, reviews, and committee work. These papers are not organized within series. A collection inventory in box one, folder one, provides additional detail.
Folder, "Helm, June," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the Department of Anthropology and Archaeology (RG06.06.01)

Records of the Department of Geoscience (RG06.15)

Papers of Marshall B. McKusick (RG99.028)

Papers of Vilhjalmur Stefansson (RG99.0013)

Helm, June. The People of Denendeh: Ethnohistory of the Indians of Canada's Northwest Territories. Iowa City, Iowa: University of Iowa Press, 2000.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.