Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Howard N. Sokol Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1959-1979
Creator: Sokol, Howard N.
Extent: 14.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0017
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Attorney, legislator, and assistant to the Vice President for Academic Affairs during the 1970s. The title was later changed to Provost, with the same authority. Includes correspondence, University policies, reports.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Howard N. Sokol Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Howard Nisbet Sokol was born June 2, 1912, in Sibley, Iowa, where he graduated from Sibley High School in 1929. In 1934, Sokol received the B. S. degree in Archictectural Engineering at Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa. He married Ruth Hawley, also an ISU graduate. The couple had three children, Robert, Betsie and Sally. Sokol operated a Sibley lumber business and a cement business following graduation. He served as a flight instructor in the Iowa State Guard during World War II. In 1961 he worked as a real estate broker and securities broker with A. Wittenstein & Co. The following year he ran for office in the Iowa State Legislature and won. He served as director of Sibley State Bank from 1940 until 1964, when he made an unsuccessful bid for the Iowa congressional seat, sixth district. According to his campaign literature, he had served as a delegate to all Republican conventions from 1952 until the election. His platform was to work for a balanced federal budget, in order to protect pensions and Social Security benefts.

Sokol earned the JD degree at the University of Iowa College of Law on June 9, 1967. During a 1988 interview wth Lee Briggeman, Sokol stated he enjoyed drafting bank legislation during his student Research Assistant position, which led to his position as assistant to the Dean of Law, David Vernon, from 1967 to 1969. In this position, he helped students find jobs, loans, scolarships, an he also recruited students. In spring 1970, he was offered the position of assistant to President Willard L. Boyd to help with the campus riots and bomb threats.

Also during 1970, he was named assistant to the Vice President for Academic Affairs, a position he held until his retirement in 1977. President Boyd appointed Sokol as acting director of the Department of Transportation and Security in October 1975, replacing John Dooley.

The Iowa City Press-Citizen, dated June 29, 1979, announced Sokol was named full-time assistant county attorney in the Johnson County Criminal Division. During the 1969-1970 session of the Iowa legislature, Sokol was legal counsel to the Iowa Senate. He was also appointed by Governor Robert D. Ray as chair of the Legal Advisory Commission, and by the Iowa Supreme Court to the Continuing Legal Education Commission, 1981 to 1987.

Sokol was a member of the UCC-Congregational Church, Rotary Club, and frequently volunteered his services to a variety of organizations. Howard Sokol died January 2, 1999.

These papers are arranged alphabetically with subject file headings on a range of policies Sokol reviewed for administration through a legal perspective.
Briggeman, Lee. "Interview with Howard Sokol During Fall 1988." In Historical Papers (RG01.0001.003)

Sokol-Shuttleworth Family Papers (MsC 0395), boxes 8-11, include correspondence to Howard Sokol, as well as biographical information and political photgraphs. Also included are the photographs and records of Sokol's company, the Sibley Cement Company.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: SUBJECT FILES
Series 2: ADMINISTRATION
Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE

  • Series 1: SUBJECT FILES
  • Sub-Series: A
  • Box 1:
  • AAUP (American Association of University Professors) - 1973, 1976
  • Abortion - 1973
  • Admissions, professional policy - 1975
  • Admissions and credits - 1971
  • Affiliated organizations - 1975-1977
  • Affirmative Action - 1971-1975
  • Age of Majority Bill - 1971-1972
  • Alcohol, beer, liquor - 1972-1977
    3 folders
  • Appropriation - 1972
    President’s statements
  • Archeologist - 1974
    Report of the review committee
  • Art Museum exhibit of African works - 1974-1975
  • Athletics - 1974
  • Athletics - 1976
  • Athletics, women - 1974
  • Sub-Series: B
  • Box 1:
  • Basic Sciences Building - 1972-1973
  • Benefits - 1972-1974
  • Bodies, anatomical materials - 1973
  • Bomb threat policy - 1976-1977
  • Building code - 1973
  • Business - 1973-1977
  • Sub-Series: C
  • Box 1:
  • Calendar, University - 1976-1979
  • Campus Mail for Student Senate mailings - 1975-1976
  • CIC (Committee on Institutional Cooperation) - 1972-1973
  • Civil disorder - 1970-1975
    Including streaking, trespass
  • Capital projects procedures - 1971
  • Civil rights, Iowa - 1971-1973
  • Colleges of the University of Iowa, manuals - 1971-1975
  • Box 2:
  • Consumer protection - 1977
  • Credit Union - 1970-1975
    Correspondence, pamphlets
  • Credit Union - 1973-1975
    History, annual report
  • Sub-Series: D
  • Box 2:
  • Day care - 1970-1971
  • Dean selection - 1960, 1973-1974
  • Dentistry agreement with Broadlawns Polk County Hospital - 1975
  • Disability - 1972-1973
  • Dismissal of students - 1975
  • Dobson, Richard A., Jr. - 1975-1977
    Donor
  • Dogs allowed in University buildings - 1970-1971
  • Drug use, n.d.
  • Due process cases - 1977
  • Sub-Series: E
  • Box 2:
  • Education, Advanced Studies in - 1974
  • Educational Opportunities Program annual report - 1972-1973
  • Emergency Operations Board - 1972-1974
  • Emeritus, retirement - 1970-1974
  • Employee classification and compensation plan, Regents Merit System - 1972-1973
  • Energy - 1973-1977
  • Entertainment expense fund - 1960, 1970
  • Ethics and academic responsibility - 1970-1973
  • Sub-Series: F
  • Box 2:
  • Faculty Employment contracts - 1970, 1972
  • Faculty Handbook - 1975
  • Faculty Welfare - 1969
  • Falk, Pearl H. - 1975
    Trust
  • Finkbine dinner - 1974
  • First Amendment cases - 1974
  • Flood
  • Evaluation of Burlington Street Dam
  • U. S. Geological Survey graphs of Iowa River Flood Profiles
  • Peak stages and discharges from 1851 to 1974
  • Communication from UI Physical Plant and U. S. Army Corps of Engineers at Rock Island
  • Map of flood-prone areas in Iowa City - 1965
  • Copy of “A Study of Flood Problems and Flood Plain Regulation Iowa River and Local Tributaries at Iowa City, Iowa: Flood Plain Regulation Study No. FR-1,” prepared by the Iowa Natural Resources Council, June - 1960
  • Flood Protection Recommendations, with Memo on Fine Arts Campus written by George L. Horner, University Architect
  • Copy of “A Review of Reservoir Regulation: Coralville Reservoir,” M. S. thesis by George Edwin Johnson
  • Notes on Regents Involvement
  • Copy of “Proposed Iowa River Footbridge for the University of Iowa Music School – Auditorium Fine Arts Center,” from Ned L. Ashton, consulting engineer, July - 1967
  • Communication dated 1974 from Steven C. Flesher, Disaster Assistance Officer, Iowa Civil Defense Division
  • Flood - 1974
  • Flood control - 1959
    Macbride Field, maps of Coralville Reservoir Project
  • Foundation, University of Iowa - 1969, 1972
  • Sub-Series: G
  • Box 3:
  • Gambling - 1973-1975
  • Garnishment of state employees - 1968-1977
  • Gay student organizations - 1970-1973
  • Gelman, Webster B. and Gloria J., gift to Museum of Art - 1972-1976
  • Governance of the University - 1969-1972
  • Governance of the University - 1970-1973
  • Grievances - 1973-1974
  • Grievances - 1976-1977
  • Graduate student manual - 1973
  • Greek system - 1972-1973
  • Sub-Series: H
  • Box 3:
  • Handicapped, nondiscrimination - 1976-1977
  • Hearing examiner manual - 1971, 1974
  • Hospital - 1974-1975
  • Human Rights Law
  • Sub-Series: I
  • Box 3:
  • Immigration matters regarding faculty - 1975
  • Injunction - 1970
    3 folders, including opinions by Judge Garfield
  • Iowa Administrative Code - 1976-1977
  • Institutions, Regents - 1975
  • Iowa Student Agencies, Inc. - 1970-1974
  • ISPIRG (Iowa Student Interest Research Group) July-August - 1972
  • Sub-Series: L
  • Box 3:
  • Labor, strikes and picketing - 1975
  • Lasansky, Mauricio, “The Nazi Drawings” - 1972
  • Law, employees - 1974
  • Law suit - 1969-1972
  • Legal cases, miscellaneous - 1972-1976
  • Box 4:
  • Letterhead use - 1975
  • Litigation - 1973-1976
  • Sub-Series: M
  • Box 4:
  • Medical School - 1973-1976
  • Medical School admission plan - 1975
  • Medical Service Plan, College of Medicine - 1971
  • Medical student physician loan program - 1974
  • Merit System - 1972-1977
  • Midwest Art History Society - 1973, 1975
  • Motor pool - 1971, 1975
  • Museum of Art architectural fee - 1975
  • Sub-Series: N
  • Box 4:
  • Name changes, marriage - 1974-1977
  • NACUA (National Association of College and University Attorneys) conferences - 1972-1977
  • NACUA, correspondence - 1972-1973
  • NACUA, correspondence - 1974-1975
  • NACUA, correspondence - 1976-1977
  • NACUA, “The College Lawyer and the ABA Code of Professional Responsibility” - 1975
  • NACUA presentation, “The Employment Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,” by Frank H. Smith, Jr. - 1975
  • NACUA presentation, “The Internal Revenue Service as an Affirmative Action Enforcement Agency,” by Philip Burling - 1975
  • NACUA, President’s Newsletter, November-April - 1972-1977
  • NACUA, questionnaire on student unrest, May - 1968
  • NACUA, Special Report, October-January - 1974-1976
  • Sub-Series: O
  • Box 4:
  • Office furniture standards - 1967, 1974
  • Operations Manual - 1975
  • Sub-Series: P
  • Box 4:
  • Parson College bankruptcy - 1974-1976
  • Pentacrest as National Historic Site - 1974
  • Personal conduct, grievance procedure - 1976
    2 folders, drafts and correspondence
  • Personal Protective Equipment Policy - 1975
  • Policies - 1970-1971
  • Policies - 1972
    Includes Angela Davis Defense group March 10 and 13; Urban renewal; Large gatherings
  • Policies - 1973
  • Policies - 1974
    Including concerts; Gay Pride Conference; “The Red Detachment of Women,” a Chinese ballet; anti-Nixon rally
  • Political activities in the dorms, October - 1974
  • Political activity of UI employees, August - 1974
  • President Bowen to the faculty - 1966
  • Procedures, Departmental Rules Review Committee - 1973-1975
  • Professorships, special - 1949, 1962-1963, 1971
  • Proxy voting - 1977
  • Publication of the Daily Iowan - 1971-1972
  • Purchasing policies reference manual - 1975
  • Sub-Series: R
  • Box 5:
  • Radio KSUI and Regents network - 1973
  • Records management - 1965-1975
  • Records management - 1967-1971
  • Regents, Ad Hoc Committee on Campus Disorders - 1971
  • Regents, Administrative Procedures Act of 1975, drafts - 1971-1974
  • Regents, Administrative Procedures Act, drafts - 1975
  • Regents, Administrative Procedures Act, correspondence - 1971-1977
  • Regents, Administrative Procedures Act - 1975
  • Regents, docket policy - 1975
  • Regents, general - 1962-1975
  • Regents, insurance - 1970-1972
  • Regents, insurance, April-August - 1973
  • Regents, insurance, October-December - 1973
  • Regents, insurance - 1974-1975
  • Regents, liability - 1973
  • Regents, liability - 1974
  • Regents, Afro-American Studies M.A., security, docket, official calendar - 1977
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 6:
  • Religion - 1969-1972
  • Residence halls, bond resolutions - 1963-1976
  • Residence halls, burglary - 1976
  • Residence halls, contracts - 1971-1977
  • Residence halls, discipline - 1968
  • Residence halls, intervisitation - 1971-1974
  • Residence halls, parietal case - 1974-1975
    Campus regulations governing dorm visits between members of the opposite sexes
  • Residence halls, staff - 1970-1971, 1974
  • Residence halls - 1970-1977
  • Sub-Series: S
  • Box 6:
  • Safety - 1972-1977
  • Salary letters - 1974-1975
  • Scottish Highlanders - 1974-1975
  • Search and seizure room entry - 1971-1975
  • Security - 1968
    Correspondence; report from Phil Connell, assistant to the President; report from Director of Security, William Binney; recommendation
  • Security - 1968-1974
  • Security, May-September - 1970
  • Security - 1971
  • Security - 1971-1973
  • Security - 1971-1974
  • Security - 1971-1975
  • Security articles - 1970-1972
  • Security, campus unrest - 1972
  • Security, controversial speakers - 1972
  • Security Department reporting structure, September - 1967
  • Security Department activities - 1971-1972
    Director of Security, William Binney’s suggestions
  • Security, response to sex offenses - 1974
  • Security Committee requested faculty and staff to volunteer to assist with campus unrest - 1970
  • Security Committee correspondence, minutes, discussion draft - 1971
  • Security Committee documents, n.d.
  • Security Committee correspondence, minutes - 1973
  • Security and Parking Committee, final report - 1965-1966
  • Security and Parking Committee, minutes, January-March - 1968-1974
  • Security Committee report, “The Sex Offense Problem on Campus” - 1974-1975
  • Sewer construction - 1968
  • Box 7:
  • Smoking and Food Consumption Policy - 1973
  • Social Security Numbers and Tax Reform Act of 1976 - 1974-1977
  • Software, key word out of context, August - 1973
  • Staff Council - 1970-1971
  • Staff Council, n.d.
  • State Services for Crippled Children, narrative report - 1975
  • Student Handbook - 1972-1977
  • Student organization regulations - 1966-1972
  • Student Publications, Inc. (SPI) - 1971
  • Student Publications, Inc. - 1971-1976
  • Student Publications, Inc. articles - 1974, 1977
  • Student Publications, Inc. board - 1961-1974
  • Student records - 1973-1976
  • Student records, placement - 1974-1975
  • Student records, suspension cases - 1974
  • Student records, confidentiality - 1971-1977
    5 folders
  • Box 8:
  • Student rights - 1977
  • Summer Athletic Camps - 1975
  • Supremacy, Iowa City Human Relations Commission on discrimination - 1973-1977
  • Sub-Series: T
  • Box 8:
  • Temple University faculty exchange - 1974-1975
  • Tenure - 1974-1975
  • TIAA-CREF, IPERS - 1969-1974
  • Tort Claims Act - 1973-1974
  • Tort Claims sovereign immunity - 1972-1976
  • Tort - 1975-1976
  • Trade name - 1974
  • Traffic - 1970-1977
    Includes campus maps and regulations
  • Triangle Club lease - 1973-1974
  • Transcript withholding - 1975
  • Tuition cases - 1972-1975
  • Tuition collection - 1973-1974
  • Sub-Series: U
  • Box 8:
  • University of Iowa Research Foundation - 1975-1976
  • University Services - 1971-1973
  • Sub-Series: W
  • Box 8:
  • Withholding of union dues - 1971-1972, 1977
  • Series 2: ADMINISTRATION
  • Box 9:
  • Boyd, Willard L., President - 1971-1977
    2 folders on a variety of topics
  • Brodbeck, May - 1974-1977
    Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculties
  • Chambers, George A., Vice-Provost - 1971-1976
    Correspondence, including to Dr. Christine Grant on travel insurance
  • Gibson, Richard E. - 1972-1975
    Director of Facilities Planning and Utilization
  • Hubbard, Philip G., Vice-Provost - 1970-1977
    Correspondence
  • Spriestersbach, Duane C. - 1974-1977
    Vice President for Educational Development and Research and Dean of the Graduate College
  • Stanhouse, William M. - 1974-1975, 1977
    Vice President for Administrative Services . Includes Old Capitol restoration and Art Museum addition
  • Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 10:
  • Correspondence - 1970
  • Correspondence - 1971
  • Correspondence - 1972
  • Box 11:
  • Correspondence - 1973
  • Correspondence - 1974
  • Correspondence - 1975

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers