Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Jerry Kollros Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1935-2007
Creator: Kollros, Jerry (1917-2007)
Extent: 6.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0008
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor and head of Zoology Department, 1946-1988. Research on nerve cell death. Correspondence, Committe work, research grants, departmental reports.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 7, 11.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Jerry Kollros Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Jerry John Kollros was born December 29, 1917, in Vienna, Austria, to Czechoslovakian parents. His father died during the 1919 influenza epidemic. The next year, Jerry and his mother immigrated to Dolton, Illinois. Kollros received his B. S. and Ph. D. degrees in zoology at the University of Chicago in 1938 and 1942. After graduation, he continued at the University of Chicago, serving concurrently as instructor in zoology and as research assistant in the Toxicity Laboratory.
 
Dr. Kollros joined the faculty of the State University of Iowa Department of Zoology as assistant professor in September 1946. He was promoted to full professor in September 1950 and served as head of that department from February 1955 through August 1977. During his tenure, he served on numerous committees, including the 1963 Presidential Search Committee and several years on the Faculty Senate and Council. Kollros was among the faculty who pressed to establish a Faculty Senate and he served as the first chair.
 
Kollros was expert in the knowledge of nerve cell death and conducted research in Neuroembryology, head injury, and the action of DDT on nerve cells. During his teaching career, Kollros served as adviser to 25 Ph.D. candidates, before retiring in June 1988. The auditorium in the Biology Building East was named for him in fall 2000.
 
In 1944, Jerry Kollros married Catharine Z. Lutherman (1917-2004), who also received her Ph. D. in zoology at the University of Chicago in 1944. The couple had two sons, James and Peter. Jerry Kollros died on June 8, 2007.

The Jerry Kollros papers are primarily the work of the numerous committees on which he served.  Also included are his research and course notes at the University of Chicago and the State University of Iowa. There are small correspondence, grants and departmental series.
Folder, "Kollros, Jerry," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Michael Solursh Papers (RG99.0195)

Faculty Senate and Council Records (RG03.0001.001)

Address at the fifth annual science lecture and discussion series presented by Jerry Kollros on February 5, 1965. "Hormones as co-ordinating factors in development," is an audio tape housed at Ball State University, Muncie, Indiana.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: COMMITTEES
Series 3: DEPARTMENTAL
Series 4: RESEARCH
Series 5: GRANTS
Series 6: WRITINGS
Series 7: LECTURES
Series 8: AWARDS
Series 9: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Departmental positions - 1955-1957
  • Porter to Provost Davis, General EducationTen Years Later, August - 1955
  • Dean Dewey B. Stuit - 1955-1960
  • Salaries - 1959
  • President Virgil M. Hancher - 1961-1962
  • John C. Weaver correspondence and presentation - 1962
  • Biennial departmental reports, February 1962; June 1968 - 1962, 1968
  • Willard (Sandy) Boyd - 1964-1971
  • Zoology building remodeling plans - 1961-1962
  • Kollros to Boyd regarding the promotion process, January - 1966
  • Kollros to Spriestersback on hiring Solursh, January - 1969
  • Questionnaires resulted in retaining Kollros as chair of zoology, February - 1969
  • Nominations to Commission on Undergraduate Education in the Biological Sciences (CUEBS), August - 1970
  • Annual review of program project, January - 1980
  • Chairmanship of Biology, October - 1987
  • Chairmanship of Biology - 1958-1989
  • Chairmanship of Biology - 1955-2000
  • Chairmanship of Biology - 1959-2007
  • Box 2:
  • General - 1957-1962
  • Box 3:
  • General - 1963-1968
  • Box 4:
  • General - 1969-1973
  • Box 5:
  • General - 1974-1978
  • Box 6:
  • General - 1952-1980
  • Series 2: COMMITTEES
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 2:
  • Presidential selection - 1963-1964
  • Box 3:
  • Presidential selection - 1963
  • Presidential search, February - 1969
  • Box 4:
  • Manual of Procedures Committee regarding the College of Liberal Arts - 1949
  • Old Gold Development Fund Council - 1957
  • Educational Policy Committee - 1963
  • Science Development Program minutes - 1964
  • Committee on Administrative Structure, College of Liberal Arts - 1966
  • University Human Rights Committee report to President Bowen, April 8 - 1968
  • Recreational Facilities Committee report, December - 1968
  • Committee on Selection of Central Academic Officials, February - 1969
  • Recreation Advisory Committee, June - 1969
  • Ethics Committee - 1960-1969
  • The Committee of Three, concerning the case of Professor Howard Ehrlich - 1970
  • Revised Policy concerning use of the Pentacrest - 1970
  • Provosts ad hoc committee for salary recommendation for Dr. Stephen Fox - 1971
  • Board of Regents Ad Hoc Committee on Campus Disorder Relative to Policy on Admission Procedures Relating to Unrest. May-November - 1971
  • Environmental Studies Executive Committee proposal and correspondence - 1971-1972
  • Report of the ad hoc committee on womens recreation, May 1 - 1972
  • Environmental Studies Planning Project Committee. October 1971, November 1972 - 1971, 1972
  • Committee on University Educational Directions - 1978
  • Rhetoric program ad hoc committee - 1981
  • Presidential Candidate Screening Committee - 1981
  • County Contact outreach visits - 1982
  • Curriculum Committee report, April - 1986
  • Committee of Emeritus Professors, December - 2002
  • Sub-Series: Faculty Senate
  • Box 5:
  • State Board of Regents minutes, budget for 1968-1969. June - 1968
  • Faculty Senate members, constitution - 1968-1969
  • Faculty Senate committees:
  • Faculty Senate committees: Elections, February - 1969
  • Faculty Senate committees: Promotion policy - 1970
  • Faculty Senate committees: List of deans and directors - 1970
  • Faculty Senate committees: Academic Review, March 1971
  • Faculty Senate committees: Faculty promotions - 1971-1973
  • Faculty Senate committees: Faculty Welfare Committee questionnaire - 1972-1973
  • Budgetary Planning & Review Committee: Minutes - 1970
  • Budgetary Planning & Review Committee: Study on promotion policies - 1970-1971
  • Budgetary Planning & Review Committee: Correspondence - 1971-1973
  • Budgetary Planning & Review Committee: President Howard R. Bowen speech on finances, October 19 - 1972
  • Budgetary Planning & Review Committee: Minutes - 1972-1973
  • Budgetary Planning & Review Committee: Neff presentation regarding the University Computer Center, January - 1972
  • Budgetary Planning & Review Committee: Questionnaire, October-November - 1972
  • Budgetary Planning & Review Committee: Budgetary Justification Review - 1973-1975
  • Correspondence: Henry Hamilton to Kollros. First act of Senate, Campus Security Problem. July 1967-May 1968 - 1967-1968
  • Correspondence: Henry Hamilton to Kollros. First act of Senate, Campus Security Problem - 1971
  • Correspondence: Kollros to chair regarding Robert Engels Daily Iowan interview. February 29-March 7 - 1972
  • Correspondence - 1972-1973
  • Correspondence: Kollros note about exchange with the dean regarding faculty salaries, June 13 - 1973
  • Correspondence: Budget correspondence - 1973
  • Box 6:
  • Committee A - 1971-1973
  • Reports - 1972
  • Reports - 1973
  • Proceedings - 1968-1970
  • Proceedings - 1971
  • Proceedings - 1972
  • Proceedings - 1973
  • Sub-Series: Faculty Council
  • Box 6:
  • Establishment of University [Faculty] Council - 1949
  • University Summer School Committee, February - 1951
  • Committee on Academic Programs, May - 1951
  • Policy regarding electoral groups, January - 1952
  • Report on faculty salaries, July - 1952
  • Faculty Council call to establish a Faculty Senate, November - 1962
  • Faculty Council - 1966
  • Establishing a Faculty Senate, January 1967-January 1968 - 1967-1968
  • Proceedings - 1967-1968
  • Minutes and correspondence - 1968
  • Questionnaire distributed by Charles E. Grassley - 1970
  • Correspondence regarding D. M. Blakes critical editorial of President Boyd, June - 1971
  • Minutes - 1971
  • Executive Order 11246 on Civil Rights, October - 1972
  • Faculty Council members - 1970-1973
  • Box 7:
  • Mississippi Valley Historical Association - 1960-1963
  • American Quarterly - 1958-1966
  • Library Planning Committee - 1966
  • Executive Committee - 1961-1964
  • Educational Policy Committee - 1955-1958
  • Educational Policy Committee - 1964-1967
  • Box 8:
  • Educational Policy Committee - 1975-1978
  • Liberal Arts Committee - 1965-1966
  • Box 9:
  • Council meeting minutes - 1953-1968
  • Box 10:
  • Faculty Council and Senate - 1967-1972
  • Box 11:
  • Faculty Senate - 1972-1973
  • Box 12:
  • Department of History meeting minutes - 1955-1973
  • Box 13:
  • Department of History meeting minutes - 1973-1981
  • American Studies/American Civilization - 1975-1981
  • Box 14:
  • Collective Bargaining - 1975-1977
  • Leave of Absence - 1965
  • Botany Department review - 1974
  • Faculty tenure - 1977-1980
  • Student protest, Jim Sutton - 1969-1972
  • Stephen S. Fox salary panel - 1971
  • Ethnicity in the Revolutionary Era - 1975
  • Dean candidates and selection, two folders - 1976
  • Box 15:
  • Library Committee - 1950-1963
  • Honorary Degree Committee - 1958-1964
  • Liberal Arts Committee minutes - 1967-1981
  • Friends of the Library - 1969-1974
  • Box 16:
  • Old Gold Development Fund Council - 1963-1966
  • History Department appointments for the Colonial History position - 1964-1965
  • Committee on National Humanities Foundation - 1964-1965
  • Series 3: DEPARTMENTAL
  • Box 7:
  • Minutes - 1954-1960
  • Minutes - 1988
  • Newsletter, September - 1988
  • Salaries - 1959-1974
  • Policies governing graduate students - 1968, 1970
  • Self-study, August - 1986
  • Reports: Commission on The Daily Iowan, May - 1971
  • Reports: Campus transportation plan - 1972
  • Reports: Neurobilology, April 10-11 - 1986
  • Initiative, Science Development application to establish a Biology Center of Excellence - 1965-1966
  • Lab equipment brochures - 1960-1997
  • Kollros presentations: Address on WSUI , Faculty Senate established Committee A - 1971
  • Kollros presentations: Address on WSUI, grading, September - 1974
  • Kollros presentations: Control of motor cell number in spinal cord development, May 31 - 1979
  • Kollros presentations: McMullen Lectures, tenth annual. April 20-21 - 1982
  • Kollros presentations: To Task Force on Women, Minorities and the Handicapped in Science and Technology, December 1 - 1987
  • Kollros presentations: Course lectures - 1970-1971
  • Kollros book reviews - 1986
  • Faculty Research Training Programs - 1968-1969
  • Faculty Research Training Programs - 1932-1974
  • Biographical material, includes photographs - 1947-1986
  • Subject Files: President Virgil M. Hancher radio address and letter to the Board of Education - 1950-1951
  • Subject Files: Articles - 1976-1993
  • Subject Files: Colleagues - 1956-2001
  • Subject Files: Emil Witschi (1929-1971), n.d.
  • Subject Files: Iowa Lakeside Lab. Exterior photographs of buildings, September - 1947
  • Clippings - 1965, 1971
  • Box 16:
  • Graduate students advised - 1957-1963
  • Series 4: RESEARCH
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 8:
  • University of Chicago research
  • Course notes: Zoology - 1939-1940
  • Course notes: Zoology, Anatomy and Embryology - 1941
  • Research notes - 1939
  • Box 9:
  • Card file of course work - 1942
  • Sub-Series: State University of Iowa research
  • Box 10:
  • Enucleation Series - 1980-1981
  • Research data, seven folders
  • Box 11:
  • Iowa Conservation Commission, Artificial Key to Some Common Iowa Fishes, by W. W. Aitken, State Biologist. Name and description of 66 fish - 1935
  • Research papers:
  • Research papers: The function of the nervous system in the invertebrates. - 1941
  • Research papers: Stages in the normal development of Rana pipiens larvae - 1946
  • Research papers: The convulsive effect of penicillin on an amphibian nervous system - 1947
  • Research papers: On thyroid hormone interchange between tadpole and environment
  • Research papers: Growth and death of cells 1979
  • Research papers: Limb regeneration in anuran tadpoles following repeated amputations - 1984
  • Photographs of two zoology labs, n.d.
  • Research photographs, three folders, n.d.
  • Cell division notes - 1998
  • Miscellaneous research notes, n.d.
  • Developmental Neurobiology course 37:189, Spring - 1981
  • Box 12:
  • University of Iowa research notebooks, Anne Fry - 1948-1949
  • Box 17:
  • American Studies Association - 1948-1959
  • American Historical Association - 1961-1962
  • Series 5: GRANTS
  • Box 13:
  • NIH grant - 1949-1963
  • Grant progress report - 1951
  • NIH grant application - 1953
  • NSF grant letter - 1955
  • NSF grant extension request - 1962
  • NSF grant report, American Society of Zoologists, January - 1963
  • NSF grant report - 1963
  • NIH grants, Barbara Ann Stay - 1976-1996
  • Box 17:
  • University documents, minutes - 1952-1961
  • Series 6: WRITINGS
  • Box 17:
  • Correspondence regarding Persons book, Social Darwinism: Selected Essays of William Graham Sumner - 1962-1963
  • Persons paper, Progress and the Organic Cycle on Eighteenth Century America, delivered at the Newberry Library Conference on American Studies in October - 1951
  • Box 18:
  • Reviews and publications - 1943-1958
  • Reviews of Persons book Free Religion
  • Reviews of book Persons edited, Evolutionary Thought in America
  • Correspondence with publishers - 1950-1966
  • Thirty Years at the University of Iowa: A Memoir April - 1982
  • The Culture-Epoch Curriculum at the University of Iowa received August 6 - 1998
  • Education and the Liberal Arts at the University of Iowa received August 6 - 1998
  • The Intellectual History of an Intellectual Historian March - 1996
  • History at Iowa. Part I: The First Century. Part II: The Modern Era March - 1996
  • Education for the Middle Class received August 6 - 1998
  • The College of Business Administration received August 6 - 1998
  • Creating a Research University - 1998
  • The Triangle Club: The First Century October - 1999
  • The Great Awakening: Parties and Issues - 1996
  • 50 Years at the University of Iowa: An Academic Memoir summer 2000. Received August 30 - 2000
  • Box 19:
  • Correspondence with publishers - 1999-2005
  • Strategic Planning at the University of Iowa - 1987
  • Correspondence regarding Persons book, History of the University of Iowa. Correspondents include Robert E. Engle about the Herrnstein controversial speaker event.
  • Thirty Years at the University of Iowa memoir - 1982
  • Creating a Research University - 1998
  • The College of Engineering - 1997
  • On Coming into the Country, Or the Rocky Road to Iowa
  • 50 Years at the University of Iowa summer - 2000
  • History at Iowa, 1855-1981," two folders
  • The Decline of Homeopathy The University of Iowa, 1876-1919 - 1991
  • Series 7: LECTURES
  • Box 19:
  • General - 1999
  • Series 8: AWARDS
  • Box 19:
  • Plaque awarded to Stow Persons for Distinguished Service as Chairman of the Faculty Senate - 1969-1970
  • Two pins for fifty-year memberships in the American Historical Association and the Mississippi Valley Historical Association
  • Series 9: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 19:
  • Two groups of historians, n.d.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty, Staff, Alumni and Associates' Papers