Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Charles D. Cuttler Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1935-1988
Creator: Cuttler, Charles D. (1935-1988)
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG99.0001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Professor of art and art history. Consultant to National Endowment for the Humanities. Correspondence, administrative records.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Mr. Cuttler in December 2005. Finding aid created January 2008.

Preferred Citation: Charles D. Cuttler Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Charles David Cuttler was born April 8, 1913, in Cleveland, Ohio. He received his B.F.A. degree in 1935 and M.A. in 1937, both from Ohio State University. In 1952 he received his Ph.D. from the Institute of Fine Arts, New York University.
 
Cuttler was an assistant art instructor at Ohio State University from 1935 to 1937. During the summer in 1938 he was an instructor in art history at the University of Colorado. He worked in Detroit as an engineering designer from 1940 to 1947. He served as assistant professor of art at Michigan State University from 1947 to 1957. Dr. Cuttler was assistant professor of art history at Indiana University during the summer in 1952 and 1953.
 
He joined the faculty of the State University of Iowa in 1957 as associate professor of art history and became full professor in 1965. He was a co-founder of the Midwest Art History Society in 1973. He was chairman of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) Art History subcommittee from 1968 through 1977. He was appointed as consultant to the National Endowment for the Humanities in November 1973 through 1980. Dr. Cuttler retired in 1983.
 
Charles D. Cuttler married Mary Cecilia Fuller in December 1941 and had one daughter, Judith Ann.

The Charles D. Cuttler papers relate to his professional career as professor of art and art history. This material includes correspondence, seminar information, department administration records, and material about his work as a consultant to the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Folder, "Cuttler, Charles D. ," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Papers of Lester D. Longman (RG 99.0031)

Records of the School of Art and Art History (RG 06.07)

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.