Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Department of Dance Video Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1977-2007
Creator: Department of Dance Video (1977-2007 1995-2007)
Extent: 9.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG30.0003.003
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The DVD recordings in this collection were transferred to the University Archives from the Department of Dance as Accession 2011-10. Guide posted to the Internet February 2011.

Preferred Citation: Department of Dance Video Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The Department of Dance Video Collection consists of audio-visual recordings of performances hosted or in some way coordinated by the University of Iowa Department of Dance. The collection is arranged alphabetically by name of recurring programs, such as Dance Gala and undergraduate concerts, and by name of specific events, such as the 1999 Tribute to Alicia Brown. All items described in the box list below are in DVD format. Recordings of performances dated from prior to about 1995 are re-formatted versions of earlier formats, such as VHS analog tape or Umatic tape.
Records of the Department of Dance (RG 06.24.02)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Advanced Choreographic Design Concert
    10 items
  • AfroCuban Drum and Dance Ensemble - 2005-2007
    8 items
  • Alan Sener "Passport” - 2005
    3 items
  • Box 2:
  • The Architects - 2006
    1 item
  • Audition Tape - Undated
    3 items
  • Breaking Bounds - 1996
    1 item
  • C-5 - Undated
    1 item
  • Children's Concert - 1980-1984
    2 items
  • Concerts - Before 1981
    1 item
  • Dance Gala - 1981-1986, 1988
    11 items
  • Box 3:
  • Dance Gala - 1994-1997
    20 items
  • Box 4:
  • Dance Gala - 1997-2000
    20 items
  • Box 5:
  • Dance Gala - 2000-2001, 2006
    13 items
  • Dance History II, III - Undated
    4 items
  • Dance of the Americas - 2000
    3 items
  • Box 6:
  • Dance of the Americas - 2000
    3 items
  • Dancers in Company - 1994-1998
    17 items
  • Box 7:
  • Dancers in Company - 1998-2002, 2006-2007
    20 items
  • Box 8:
  • Dancers in Company - 2007
    4 items
  • Dancers to Go - 1987
    2 items
  • Dances with the Maia - 2007
    2 items
  • Duarte Dance Works - 2005-2007
    10 items
  • Duke Ellington's Nutcracker - 1998
    1 item
  • Box 9:
  • Faculty/graduate concert; variously named: Graduate Dance Concert, Faculty dances, Faculty concert rehearsal - 1978, 1980, 1996, 1998-2001
    20 items
  • Box 10:
  • Faculty/graduate concert - 2001-2002, 2006-2007
    11 items
  • Festival Iowa - 1977
    1 item
  • Five - Collaboration - 1997
    2 items
  • 5Alive: A Dance Concert - 2006
    3 items
  • Floresta - 1997
    3 items
  • Box 11:
  • Floresta - 1997
    3 items
  • Groundwork - 1999
    1 item
  • "Iowa Endowment 2000" - 1987
    1 item
  • Jazz Concert - 1996
    3 items
  • Lost Minds/Found Bodies - 1995
    2 items
  • MFA theses - 1981-1996
    Incomplete, 9 items
  • Box 12:
  • MFA theses - 1997-1998
    20 items
  • Box 13:
  • MFA theses - 1998-2002
    20 items
  • Box 14:
  • MFA theses - 2002, 2005, 2007
    13 items
  • The Nutcracker - 2005-2007
    6 items
  • Project Art, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics - Undated
    2 items
  • Box 15:
  • Shorts - Undated
    1 item
  • Space/Place Concert - 1981-1996
    19 items
  • Box 16:
  • Space/Place Concert - 1997-2000
    19 items
  • Box 17:
  • Teknowledgey
    3 items
  • Tribute to Alicia Brown - 1999
    2 items
  • Undergraduate Concert; also as: Graduate/Undergraduate, Graduate Dance Event, Graduate/Undergraduate Concert5, Undergraduate Works - 2000-2001, 2005
    15 items
  • Box 18:
  • Undergraduate Concert - 2005-2007
    15 items
  • Unicorn - 1979
    1 item
  • World Dance Concert II - 2006
    3 items
  • Box 19:
  • [No title] - 2002 March-May
    8 items

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Audiovisual Materials