Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Audiovisual Records of the College of Medicine Lecture Series

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1972-1998
Creator: College of Medicine
Extent: .00 .
Collection Number: RG30.0003.002
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Received as Accession 2003-29. Processed by Ashley De Gross, 2003. Guide posted to the Internet 2003; updated January 2008.

Preferred Citation: [Name of collection], The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The audio-visual records of the College of Medicine Lecture Series span 1972 to 1998 and measure 3.0 linear feet. They are arranged in two series: Audio, consisting of audio cassette tapes (Box 1), and Video, consisting of VHS and U-matic-formatted tapes (Box 2). Not all tapes are fully labeled and as a result the information below is incomplete.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: AUDIO
Series 2: VIDEO
Series 3: AUDIO/VIDEO

  • Series 1: AUDIO
  • Box 1:
  • D. Burkitt, speaker
  • 1-A: "The Suggested Etiology of Colon Cancer" - 1972 July 11
  • 1-B: "Diet and Disease in Africa and America" - 1972 July 12
  • 2: Kolstad, "Gynecologic Oncology" - 1972 September 13
  • 3: T. Chalmers, "Unscientific Basis of Medical Practice" - 1972 October 4
  • 4: J. Gross, "Collagen Biology: Tadpole Metamorphosis to Human Disease" - 1972 November 8
  • 5: L.B. Rowell, "Free Distribution of Blood Flow and Blood Volume in Thermal Stress" - 1972 December 7
  • 6: Brinckhous, "Hemophilia" - 1973 February 14
  • 7: P. Ghalioungui, "Contribution of Artistic Archeology to Historical Medicine" - 1973 April 4
  • 8: P.J. Kelly, "Infections of Bone and Muscle" - 1973 April 18
  • 9: (tape not found)
  • 10: S. Krugman, "Viral Hepatitis: Prospects for Prevention" - 1973 October 10
  • 11: G.P. Murphy, "Value of Adrenalectomy and Hypophysectomy in the Treatment of Advanced Prostatic Cancer" - 1973 November 2
  • 12: C.G. Zubrod, "Strategies for the Drug Control of Cancer" - 1973 November 7
  • 13: D.W. Seldin, "Conflicting Social and Academic Demands on the Medical School" - 1973 December 5
  • 14: D.E. Harken, "Heart Surgery From Whence to Where" - 1974 January 24
  • 15: G. Levy, "Kinetics of Drug Action in Man" - 1974 March 20
  • 16: U.S. von Euler, "Prostaglandins: Physiology and Pharmacology" - 1974 May 14
  • 17: J. Tepperman, "Insulin: A Microcourse in the History of Biology and Medicine" - 1974 June 5
  • 18: C.B. Anfinson, "Studies on the Antiviral Substance: Interferon" - 1974 September 17
  • 19: M. Finland, "Changing Etiology of Bacterial Infections" - 1974 October 23
  • 20: Dr. Edgar S. Gordon, "Participation of Hypothalamic Hormones in the Control of Metabolic Processes" - 1974 November 20
  • 21: T.E. Starzl, "Hepatotrophic Factors: A Century of Controversy" - 1974 December 12
  • 22: G.E. Vaillant, "Effects of Emotional Health on Physical Health in Midlife" - 1975 January 23
  • 23: J.K. Wagoner, "Toxicology and Epidemiology of Volatile Anesthetics" - 1975 February 12
  • 24: E.S. Anderson, "Epidemiology of Transferable Drug Resistance Factors" - 1975 March 5
  • 25: H.F. DeLuca, "Metabolites of Vitamin D and Their Potential Use in Diseases of Bone" - 1975 March 12
  • 26: J.L. Goldstein, "Lipoprotein Receptors, Cholesterol Metabolism and Atherosclerosis" - 1975 April 1
  • 27: J.B. Wyngaarden, "The Scientific Basis of Medical Practice" - 1975 April 23
  • 28: E.F. Neufeld, "Inherited Lysozomal Disorders Studied in Cell Culture" - 1975 April 24
  • 29: M.J. Glimcher, "Ultrastructural Organization of Bone and Other Mineralized Tissues and the Mechanisms of Calcification" - 1975 April 30
  • 30: S.J. Segal, "Evaluation of Population Control Programs World-Wide" - 1975 May 15
  • 31: N. Myant, "Some Thoughts on the Metabolic Lesion in Familial Hypercholesterolemia" - 1975 June 17
  • 32: R. Petersdorf, "Some Issues in Primary Care" - 1976 January 7
  • 33: J. Stamler, "Coronary Prevention-Scientific Foundation and Public Policy" - 1976 March 3
    2 tapes
  • 34: K. Melmon, "Drug Interactions in Perspective" - 1976 April 8
  • 35: V. Popovich, "Selective Hypothermia of the Brain" - 1976 May 7
  • 36: J. Kirklin, "Rationale and Results of Surgery for Coronary Artery Disease" - 1976 May 14
  • 37: S. Blumenthal, "Interface of the National Heart and Lung Institute with Academic Medicine" - 1976 June 21
  • 38: M. Roth, "Some Medical, Social, and Ethical Problems of Sexual Deviation" - 1976 October 27
  • 39: D. Walder, "Caisson's Disease of Bone in Compression Air Workers and Divers" - 1976 November 1
  • 40: (tape not found)
  • 41: P. Boyer, "Toward an Understanding of Oxidative Phosphorylation" - 1976 November 19
  • 42: Dr. John Rapp, "Genetic Control of Salt-Induced Hypertension in the Rat: Background Genetics and a Mutation of an Adrenal Cytochrome" - 1976 December 16
  • 43: K. Cooper, "Levels of Physical Fitness and Coronary Risk Factors" - 1977 March 9
  • 44: F. Sanger, "Complete Sequence (5375 Nucleotides) of Bacteriophage øx 174 DNA" - 1977 March 30
  • 45: Dr. William Holden, "National Issues Affecting Graduate Medical Education" - 1977 April 25
  • 46: Dr. William Ledger, "Serious Infections of Pregnancy" - 1977 April 29
  • 47: R.V. Andrews, "Influence of the Adrenal on Gonadal Function" - 1977 April 29
  • 48: A. Feinstein, "Basic Aspects of Care" - 1977 September 26
  • 49: Gouind H. Khorana, "Total Synthesis of a Biologically Functional Gene" - 1977 October 10
  • 50: Bernstein, "Role of Medical Library" - 1977 November 17
  • 51: Robert R. Kohn, "Human Aging" - 1978 January 26
  • 52: Robert R. Kohn, "Connective Tissue Aging and Diabetes" - 1978 January 27
  • 53: Alexander M. Schmidt, "FDA - Regulator of Medicines or Medicine?" - 1978 February 15
  • 54: Rene Dubos, "The Future of Infectious Diseases" - 1978 April 26
  • 55: Julius Axelrod, "Catecholamin and Clinical Implications" - 1978 May 3
  • 56: E. Dimond, "Chinese Health Care: The Neighborhood Advocate" - 1978 March 2
  • 57: Alastair B. Currie, "Apoptosis (Cell Death in Health and Disease)" - 1978 September 20
  • 58: Dr. Herbert Knabe, "Rural Primary Health Care in the German Democratic Republic" - 1978 September 25
  • 59: Dr. Norman Geschwind, "Anatomical Asymmetries of the Brain" - 1978 October 12
  • 60: Dr. John King, "The Concept of Disease in Psychiatry" - 1978 October 26
  • 61: Bengt Samuelson, "Biosynthesis, Metabolism, and Functional Roles of the Prostaglandins" - 1978 November 15
  • 62: Prof. Sam Shapiro, "Current Issues in Prevention: A Health Services Researcher's View" - 1979 January 17
  • 63: Arno G. Motulsky, "Medical Genetics - 1979" - 1979 February 22
  • 64: Isaiah Fidler, "Biological Variabilities of Metastatic Neoplasms"
  • 65: Wilbur Cohen, "National Health Insurance: Prospects for the Future" - 1979 September 25
  • 66: "Non-Hodkins Lymphoma" - 1979 October 4
  • 67: Dr. Heggsted, "Dietary Guidelines" - 1979 November 7
  • 68: M.C. McNoughton, "The Outlook of Birth Control" - 1979 November 14
  • 69: Phil Gilbert Deterane, "Opening Receptors in Animal and Human Disease State" - 1979 November 28
  • 70: Warren [?], speaker - 1980 March 5
  • 71: Mary Ellen Avery, M.D., " Pulmonary Hyaline Membrane Disease: Past, Present, and Future" - 1980 March 12
  • 72: David Michelovich, "Implementation Factors in Hospital Information Systems" - 1980 March 26
  • 73: Kenneth J. Ryan, "Ethics in Medicine and Research" - 1980 May 7
  • 74: James Sammons, M.D., "Am. Medical Association and Medical Education" - 1980 October 1
  • 75: Dr. Brownwell, "Coronary Artery Disease" - 1980 October 29
  • 76: Nathan, "Genetics" - 1980 November 12
  • 77: Rosenberg, speaker - 1981 February 25
  • 78: Alex Comfort, "A Model for Am. Geriatrics" - 1981 March 18
  • 79: Dr. Pellegrins, "Medical Humanism" - 1981 April 29
  • 80: Dr. A. Donabedian, "The Quality and Cost of Medical Care" - 1982 February 24
  • 81: Dr. A. Donabedian, "The Quality and Cost of Medical Care" - 1982 February 24
    Audience questions and answers to accompany #81
  • 82: Dr. Herbert Abrams, "Radiology: Window on the World of Disease" - 1982 March 8
  • 83: Dr. Ames, speaker - 1982 March 24
    Part I, 15 min. of bad tape
  • 84: Dr. Ames, speaker - 1982 March 24
    Part II of #83
  • 85: [no title or speaker name] - 1982 September 13
  • 86: [no title or speaker name] - 1982 September 29
    Recorded 4:00 p.m. at E331 GH
  • 87: [no title or speaker name] - 1982 October 5
  • 88: [no title or speaker name] - 1982 November 17
  • 89: Side 1: Intro and Lecture; Side 2: Q and A - 1983 March 15
    Recorded 4:05 p.m. at E331 GH
  • 90: Dr. T. Joseph Shean, "Moral Reasoning and Physician Performance" - 1983 June 14
    Recorded 3:30 p.m. at SE 301
  • 91: P.S. Goodman, "Vitamin A and Retinoids" - 1984 April 11
  • 92: [no title or speaker name] - 1984 September 26
    Recorded at 4:00 p.m. at E331 GH
  • 93: Claude Lenfant, M.D., speaker - 1984 October 3
    First 4 minutes of side 2 blank due to machine malfunction
  • 94: Thomas A. Waldmann, speaker - 1984 December 5
  • 95: A.R. Margulis, "Magnetic Resonance Imaging" - 1985 February 6
  • 96: John A.D. Cooper, "The Future of Medical Education" - 1985 September 23
  • 97: [no title or speaker name] - 1985 March 20
    Recorded 4:00-5:15 p.m. at E331 GH
  • 98: P. Leder, "Misplaced Genes" - 1985 March 27
  • 99: T. Asmundsson, "Farmer's Lung Disease in Iceland" - 1985 May 22
  • 100: Dr. Fahey, speaker - 1985 July 24
  • 101: Denise Abse, speaker - 1985 October 24
    Recorded 4-5 p.m. at E331 GH
  • 102: Leroy E. Hood, speaker - 1985 October 31
    Recorded 4-5 p.m.
  • 103: Steven M. Larson, speaker - 1985 November 6
  • 104: Russell Ross, speaker - 1985 December 4
  • 105: Kay E. Davies, speaker - 1985 December 11
  • 106: G. Kohler, "IG Production in Transgenic Mice" - 1986 January 30
  • 107: J.F. Crow, "Genetic Mutation in Man" - 1986 April 2
  • 108: N.W. Budde, "Medical Groups and Hospitals in the Future" - 1986 April 7
  • 109: N.W. Budde, "Medical Groups and Hospitals in the Future" - 1986 April 7
    Copy of #108
  • 110: [no title or speaker name] - 1986 May 9
  • 111: L. Romanucci-Ross, "Anthropology of Healing" - 1986 October 1
  • 112: B.S. Schweigert, "University-Industry Partnership" - 1986 October 6
  • 113: J.C. Waterlow, "Malnutrition: Science and Politics" - 1986 November 6
  • 114: [no title or speaker name] - 1986 November 12
  • 115: [no title or speaker name] - 1986 December 8
    Recorded in E331 GH
  • 116: E.R. Unauve, speaker - 1987 February 23
  • 117: V.R. Young, "Nutrition of the Elderly" - 1987 March 4
  • 118: A.V. Chobanian, "Influence of Hypertension and Its Therapy on the Anterior Wall" - 1987 March 18
  • 119: [no title or speaker name] - 1987 April 8
  • 120: David E. Rogers, M.D., "Some Thoughts on the Future of American Medicine" - 1987 September 23
  • 121: Samuel Hellman, M.D., "Treatment of Breast Cancer" - 1987 September 30
  • 122: William Blattner, M.D., "Epidemiology of AIDS" - 1987 October 28
  • 123: Mark Siegler, M.D., "Should Fluids and Nutrition be Withdrawn from Incompetent Patients Not Terminally Ill?" - 1987 October 29
  • 124: Desire Collen, M.D., "Basic and Applied Aspects of Thrombolysis" - 1987 November 5
  • 125: Dr. Michael Gimbrone, "Endothelial-Leukocyte Interactions" - 1988 January 19
  • 126: Dr. Peter Burns, "New and Future Directions in Ultrasound Imaging" - 1988 March 11
  • 127: Dr. Goran Sedvall - 1988 April 25
    Visitor from Stockholm, Sweden
  • 128: [no title or speaker name] - 1988 August 25
  • 129: S.O. Their - 1988 September 28
  • 130: D. Branton - 1988 October 27
  • 131: Bonica [or Bonich] - 1988 December 7
  • 132: L. Bailey - 1989 April 7
  • 133: W.R. Reynolds - 1989 April 21
  • 134: Ernst Knobil, "Homology of the Hypothalamus" - 1989 September 21
  • 135: [no title or speaker name] - 1989 September 25
  • 136: [no title or speaker name] - 1989 October 25
  • 137: [no title or speaker name] - 1990 February 22
  • 138: [no title or speaker name] - 1990 April 9
  • 139: [no title or speaker name] - 1990 May 10
  • 140: [no title or speaker name] - 1990 October 10
  • 141: [no title or speaker name] - 1990 November 15
  • 142: [no title or speaker name] - 1991 February 13
  • 143: N.W. Solomons - 1991 February 14
  • 144: Phelps, "PET" - 1991 April 10
  • 145: Breslow - 1991 May 22
  • 146: [no title or speaker name] - 1991 June 19
  • 147: J.F. Kraus - 1991 October 14
  • 148: Allan Bloom - 1991 October 31
  • 149: P.A. Sharp - 1991 November 13
  • 150: D. Morris - 1992 March 18
  • 151: E. Barrett-Connor - 1992 March 25
  • 152: G.H. Anderson - 1992 April 29
  • 153: J. Cox - 1992 May 7
  • 154: L. Mentagmer - 1992 August 5
  • 155: [no title or speaker name] - 1992 October 21
  • 156: Charles Bosk, "How Law and Medicine View Medical Mistakes" - 1992 October 27
  • 157: [no title or speaker name] - 1992 October 29
  • 158: Paul Berg - 1992 November 9
  • 159: Peter D. Kramer, M.D., "Self-Esteem as a Social Value and Quasi-Biological Trait" - 1994 October 13
  • 160: Dannie Abse, M.D., "White Coat, Purple Coat: Colors of a Medical Poet" - 1994 October 25
  • 161: Carol A. Aschenbrener, "Academic Medicine in the 21st Century" - 1995 February 3
  • 162: Francis S. Collins, M.D. PhD, "The Human Genome Project and the Future of Medicine" - 1995 March 8
  • 163: Susan S. Ellenberg, "Science, Politics, and AIDS Clinical Trials" - 1995 April 3
  • 164: Howard K. Schachman, "Maintaining Integrity in Science: Whose Responsibility?" - 1995 April 12
  • 165: Stanley H. Zlotkin, M.D., PhD, "Prevention of Iron Deficiency in Preterm and Fullterm Infants" - 1995 May 19
  • 166: Ellen S. Vitetta, PhD, "Immunotoxins: From Bench to Bedside and Back" - 1995 June 1
  • 167: Dr. Melvin Konner - 1995 October 5
  • 168: Bulger, "Reforming Health Professions Education in a Dynamic Environment" - 1995 November 30
  • 169: Mary Sue Coleman, PhD, "In Pursuit of Function: An Enzyme" - 1996 March 14
    2 copies, Recorded at E331 GH
  • 170: M.C. Ming? - 1996 April 3
    Recorded at E331 GH
  • 171: J.M. Friedman - 1996 September 19
  • 172: K.L. Knight - 1996 September 26
  • 173: S.B. Prusiner - 1996 October 10
  • 174: Richard Caselli, "Second Annual Joe L. Parkin Memorial Lecture on Aging" - 1997 May 1
  • 175: Robt. S. Sikorski, M.D., PhD, "Digital Medicine: Linking Scientists, Patients, and Clinicians" - 1998 February 17
  • 176: [no title or speaker name] - 1998 April 14
  • 177: [no title or speaker name] - 1998 May 13
  • Series 2: VIDEO
  • Box 2:
  • 178: Hunter R. Rawlings III, "Hippocrates 2000: A President’s Perspective on Trends in Academic Healthcare"
    2 copies, 53 minutes
  • 179: [no title or speaker name] - 1992 October 27
  • 180: [no title or speaker name] - 1993 November 19
  • 181: Dr. Henri Manasse, Jr., "Academic Health Sciences Centers: Challenges and Opportunities in the 1990's" - 1994 February 1
    Symposium in Review-The University of Iowa Health Sciences Center Imperative; 1 Hour 4 Minutes; COPY 03-01-1994
  • 182: Former President Willard "Sandy" Boyd - 1994 April 5
  • 183: [no title or speaker name] - 1994 April 18
  • 184: Donna Shalala - 1994 August 30
    2 copies, IMU, 60 minutes
  • 185: "The University of Iowa Telemedicine Project" - 1995 July
  • 186: "First J.L. Parkin Memorial Lecture on Aging" - 1996 January 23
    1 Hour COPY
  • 187: Mary Sue Coleman, PhD, "In Pursuit of Function: An Enzyme Comes of Age" - 1996 March 14
    2 copies, Recorded at E331 GH
  • 188: David Irby - 1997 April 17
  • 189: Paul Armstrong - 1997 April 24
  • 190: [no title or speaker name] - 1997 May 1
  • 191: [no title or speaker name] - 1997 October 9
    Recorded at E331 GH
  • 192: Ruth A. Lawrence, M.D. - 1997 October 16
  • 193: Robt. S. Sikorski, M.D., PhD, "Digital Medicine: Linking Scientists, Patients and Clinicians" - 1998 February 17
  • 194: [no title or speaker name] - 1998 April 13
  • 195: [no title or speaker name] - 1998 April 14
  • Series 3: AUDIO/VIDEO
  • Box 2:
  • 196: [no title or speaker name] - 1998 November 11
    One copy of eaach, Recorded at E331 GH
  • 197: [no title or speaker name] - 1998 September 29
    One copy of each
  • 198: Burton V. Reifler, M.D. - 1998 October 27
    One copy of each, Recorded at E331 GH
  • 199: [no title or speaker name] - 1998 October 7
    One copy of each, Recorded at E331 GH
  • 200: [no title or speaker name] - 1998 November 30
    One copy of each, Recorded at E331 GH
  • 201: John C. Cambier, PhD, "Holding the Immune System in Check" - 1998 September 9
    One copy of each

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Audiovisual Materials