Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Athletics Video Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1921-1987
Creator: Athletics Video
Extent: 5.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG30.0003.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Video only

Access: This collection is open for research. Reproduction of some of the titles listed below may be prohibited on the basis of copyright ownership.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.

Preferred Citation: Athletics Video Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Collection of VHS-format videotapes, DVDs and other formatted video recordings of football, basketball and other intercollegiate sports. Contact Special Collections staff about obtaining copies.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BASKETBALL
Series 2: FOOTBALL
Series 3: FOOTBALL BOWL
Series 4: BASKETBALL TOURNAMENT

  • Series 1: BASKETBALL
  • Box 1:
  • Iowa Basketball Season Highlights - 1947-1948
    Released Spring 1948. Silent, b/w. 32 min. (Image reversed in portions) VHS, DVD
  • Iowa Basketball Season Recap and Practice - 1954-1955
    Released Spring 1955. Narrated by Coach Bucky O'Connor. Sound, b/w. 21 min. 2 VHS, DVD
  • Iowa Basketball season: Iowa vs. Nebraska, December 3; Iowa vs. Minnesota, January 14 - 1955-1956
    Silent, b/w. Total time 63 min. VHS, DVD
  • Iowa Basketball season: Iowa vs. Purdue - 1955-1956
    Silent, b/w. 33 min. VHS, DVD
  • NCAA championship basketball game, Iowa vs. San Francisco Dons, March 23. Silent, b/w. (Dons' center was Bill Russell); Drake vs. Iowa, December 30 - 1956, 1977
    Silent, color. Total time 61 min. (Drake game film breaks up half-way through) VHS, 2 DVD, DVD master and DVD
  • Iowa Basketball Tribute, "The Hustlin' Hawks of 1960-61" - 1960-1961
    Released Spring 1961. Sound, b/w. 23 min. VHS, 2 DVD
  • Iowa Basketball Tribute to Don Nelson - 1961-1962
    Released Spring 1962. 1961-1962 season. Sound, b/w. 20 min. VHS, 3 DVD
  • Iowa Basketball season: Iowa vs. Arizona - 1962-1963
    Silent, b/w. 33 min. VHS, DVD
  • Iowa Basketball Recruiting Film - 1967-1968
    Sound, b/w. 24 min. VHS & DVD
  • Box 2:
  • Iowa Basketball Tribute "Basketball Ralph Miller Style" - 1966-1967
    Released Spring 1967. Includes campus, classroom scenes at beginning (Old Capitol, College of Pharmacy, Iowa Memorial Union). Silent, b/w. 21 min. VHS, DVD
  • Iowa Basketball season: Iowa vs. Drake; Iowa vs. Purdue; Iowa vs. Indiana (first halves only) - 1969-1970
    Silent, b/w. Total time 92 min. VHS, DVD
  • Iowa Basketball season: Iowa vs. Minnesota; Iowa vs. Wisconsin; Iowa vs. Michigan State; Iowa vs. Northwestern (first halves only) - 1969-1970
    Silent, b/w. Total time 90 min. VHS, DVD
  • Iowa Basketball Season Highlights - 1969-1970
    Released Spring 1970. Silent, color. 18 min. VHS, DVD
  • Iowa Basketball Highlights - 1974-1975
    Released March 11, 1975. Includes Iowa City and campus scenes. Silent, color. 35 min. VHS, DVD
  • Iowa Basketball Highlights, including NCAA Final Four, Fieldhouse celebration, and Ronnie Lester - 1979-1980
    Sound, color. 9 min. VHS
  • Series 2: FOOTBALL
  • Box 2:
  • "Fame of the Black and Gold" - Historical football game footage, including: 1921 (vs. Indiana; Duke Slater), 1948 (vs. Wisconsin, Minnesota), 1923, 1933 (vs. Northwestern), 1934 (vs. Northwestern; Ozzie Simmons), 1935 (vs. Illinois), 1939 (vs. Indiana, Notre Dame; Nile Kinnick), 1940 (vs. Notre Dame), 1942, 1945 (vs. Minnesota), 1946 (vs. Purdue), 1947 (vs. Indiana), 1949 (practice; Coach Eddie Anderson talking with visitors near Field House) - 1921-1949
    Released 149. Sound, b/w. 11 min. VHS, 2 DVD. Also available in Media Services, UI Libraries, as DVD
  • Iowa at Nebraska; Purdue at Iowa - 1934 October 14; 1946 September 28
    Nebraska: Silent, b/w. Purdue: Silent, color. 54 min. VHS
  • Minnesota at Iowa - 1938 November 5
    Silent, b/w. 10 min. DVD
  • "Iowa's Nile Kinnick" - 1939
    Released 1944. Sound, color. 12 min. Includes footage of victory rally at Old Capitol after 1939 Minnesota game; President Eugene Gilmore, Coach Eddie Anderson. VHS, DVD
  • Minnesota at Iowa; Iowa at Notre Dame - 1939 November 18; 1940 November 16
    Silent, b/w. 66 min. VHS, DVD
  • Minnesota at Iowa (including views of UI campus); Wisconsin at Iowa; Indiana at Iowa - 1939 November 18; 1939 October 28; 1939 October 7
    2 DVD
  • Notre Dame at Iowa; South Dakota at Iowa - 1939 November 11; 1939 September 30
    DVD
  • Purdue at Iowa - 1940 November 2
    Silent, b/w. 25 min. DVD
  • Illinois at Iowa - 1940 November 23
    Silent, b/w. 23 min. DVD
  • Indiana at Iowa - 1941 November 1
    Silent, b/w. 26 min. DVD
  • Wisconsin at Iowa - 1942 November 7
    Silent, b/w. 23 min. DVD
  • Iowa at Michigan - 1954 October 9
    Silent, b/w. 41 min. DVD
  • Purdue at Iowa; Iowa at UCLA - 1954 November 6; 1973 September 22
    Footage is out of sequence. Silent, b/w. 67 min. VHS, DVD
  • Box 3:
  • Oregon State at Iowa; Rose Bowl, vs. Oregon State, - 1956 October 6; 1957 January 1
    Silent, color. 78 min. Includes campus scenes, fans in stands, marching band, Scottish Highlanders. VHS, DVD
  • Iowa Football Highlights - 1960
    27 min. b/w. VHS, 2 DVD
  • Ohio State at Iowa - 1962 November 3
    DVD
  • Penn State at Iowa; Iowa at Penn State - 1971 September 25; 1972 September 30
    Silent, b/w. 74 min. VHS, DVD
  • Wisconsin at Iowa - 1978 November 18
    DVD
  • Iowa vs. Minnesota - 1963 November 9
    42 min. Betacam SP, DVD
  • Series 3: FOOTBALL BOWL
  • Box 3:
  • "The Miracle of Melrose Avenue," Peach Bowl - circa 1982
    U-matic
  • Local TV Peach Bowl specials - 1982
    On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. U-matic
  • KGAN-TV: "Georgia On My Mind"
  • KCRG-TV: "We Accept With Honor"
  • "The 1982 Peach Bowl, Atlanta, Georgia: Iowa Hawkeyes vs Tennessee Volunteers." New York, N.Y.: CBS Television Network, Audio/Visual Services - 1982
    On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. U-matic
  • Peach Bowl post-game. KCRG-TV - 1982
    On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. U-matic; set of four tapes
  • Peachbowl Parade - 1982
    Atlanta, Georgia: Video Duplications, Inc. On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. U-matic
  • Box 4:
  • Rose Bowl - 1982 January 2
    Produced by NBC. On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. U-matic; set of four tapes
  • Tournament of Roses Parade - 1982 January 1
    Produced by NBC. On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. U-matic; set of three tapes
  • Series 4: BASKETBALL TOURNAMENT
  • Box 4:
  • NCAA tournament: Iowa vs. UNLV (University of Nevada-Las Vegas) - 1987
    On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. VHS
  • NCAA tournament: Iowa vs. University of Oklahoma - 1987
    On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. VHS
  • NCAA tournament: Final Four. Iowa vs. University of Louisville - 1980
    On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. VHS
  • NCAA tournament: Final Four: Iowa vs. Georgetown - 1980
    On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. VHS

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Audiovisual Materials