Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Medical and Hospital Lantern Slides Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1892-1925
Creator: Medical and Hospital Lantern Slides (1892-1925)
Extent: 1.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG30.0002.002
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Glass slides of medical faculty and graduates, as well as medical buildings, 1892-1925.

Alternate Extent Statement: Glass Slides: entire collection

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Medical and Hospital Lantern Slides Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Collection of glass lantern slides of medical and hospital buildings, individual medical faculty, and groups of faculty and medical graduates. Slides are listed in alphabetical order. Photographer unknown.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BUILDINGS
Series 2: FACULTY PORTRAITS
Series 3: GROUPS OF PEOPLE

  • Series 1: BUILDINGS
  • Box 1:
  • General Hospital. Floor plan
  • General Hospital. Surgery Recovery Room floor plan
  • Medical Building. First SUI building distinctly for medical purposes - 1882-1901
    Constructed in 1882 and destroyed by fire in 1901
  • Medical Building on the Pentacrest. View of east facade
  • Medical Education Building
  • Medical Laboratories Building. Floor plan of first floor
  • Medical Laboratories Building. Floor plan of fourth floor
  • Medical Laboratory Building. Located on west side of river
  • Old Chemistry Building
  • Old South Hall
  • Pentacrest buildings. Physical Lab, Dental Building, Natural Science Building
  • University Hospital. Later named Seashore Hall - 1898
  • Series 2: FACULTY PORTRAITS
  • Box 1:
  • Andrews, Lancelot W. Professor of Chemistry
  • Bierring, Walter L., M.D. Professor of Histology, Bacteriology, and Pathology
  • Boerner, Emil Louis. Professor and dean of Pharmacy
  • Calvin, Samuel. Professor of Zoology, Botany, and Natural Science; First head of Geology Department
  • Chase, Charles S. Professor of Materia Medica and Therapeutics
  • Dalbey, James William, M.D. Professor of Ophthalmology and Otology
  • Guthrie, James Renwick, M.D. Professor of physiology and Microscopic Anatomy
  • Harriman, John W., M.D. Demonstrator of Anatomy; Secretary of medical faculty
  • Hill, Gershom Hyde, M.D. Lecturer on Insanity
  • Hutchinson, Woods, M.D. Professor of Anatomy
  • Littig, Lawrence W., M.D. Professor of Theory and Practice of Medicine and Clinical Medicine
  • Middleton, William D., M.D. Professor of Surgery
  • Peters, Alfred Charles, M.D. Lecturer on Laryngology and Rhinology
  • Rockwood, Elbert William. Professor of Chemistry and Toxicology
  • Shrader, John Clinton, M.D. Professor of Obstetrics and Diseases of Women; Dean of medical faculty
  • Whiteis, William R., M.D. Demonstrator of Pathological Histology
  • Unidentified men. Portraits of ten individuals
  • Series 3: GROUPS OF PEOPLE
  • Box 1:
  • College of Medicine graduating class - 1925
  • Graduation procession
  • Medical faculty
  • Hill, McLean, Parker, Calvin, Peters, Harriman, Dalbey, Rockwood - 1892
    Images appear in 1893 Hawkeye yearbook
  • Farnsworth, Middleton, Shrader, Schaeffer, Peck, Littig, Guthrie, Hutchinson - 1892
    Images appear in 1893 Hawkeye yearbook
  • Medical Department group
    2 slides

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Audiovisual Materials