Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the John Gerber Pictorial History Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1839-1988
Creator: John Gerber Pictorial History Collection
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG30.0001.043
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: The John Gerber Pictorial History Collection relates to most areas of the University of Iowa, including individuals, departments, and buildings.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Entire collection

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The photographs found in this book that were contributed from University Archives are from various collections and were acquired at different times. Many are from the Frederick W. Kent Collection of Photographs.

Preferred Citation: John C. Gerber Pictorial History Collection of Photographs, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

This collection houses 330 photographic prints which were used in John C. Gerber's book, A Pictorial History of the University of Iowa, University of Iowa Press: Iowa City (1988). These photographic prints are housed in vertical files. This book includes the following statement on page 263 regarding citation of sources: All photographs are courtesy of the University Archives, with the following exceptions. Exceptions are then noted by page number and institutional name. These exceptions are provided in the box list below, along with partial photo captions that were used in the book. Photographs which lack a named source are from the University Archives. The page numbers noted in the box list correspond to the pages in the 1988 edition of Gerber's book. The image number indicates the chapter, followed by the numerical order within that chapter.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PHOTOGRAPHIC PRINTS

  • Series 1: PHOTOGRAPHIC PRINTS
  • Sub-Series: Chapter 1: Johnson County High School, 1847-1959
  • Box 1:
  • Sketch by George H. Yewell of the Mechanics' Academy, first home of the University of Iowa. Page 1, Image 1.1 - 1854
  • First Plat of Iowa City, including an early design for the capitol. Page 4, image 1.2 - 1839
  • Daguerreotype by Isaac A. Wetherby, earliest known photograph of Old Capitol. Page 5, image 1.3 - 1853
  • Act that established the University, passed by the First General Assembly on February 25. Page 7, image 1.4 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa] - 1847
  • Board of Trustees minutes, showing lands belonging to the University. Page 9, image 1.5 - 1856
  • Iowa Medical Journal, showing Keokuk Medical College. Page 9, image 1.6 - 1853
  • Amos Dean, first president of the University, served 1855 to 1859. Page 11, image 1.7 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa]
  • Daguerreotype by Isaac A. Wetherby of Clinton Street. Page 12, image 1.8 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa] - 1854
  • Terrell's Dam and Mill, 1844 or later. Page 13, image 1.9
  • Isaac A. Wetherby's Gallery on south Clinton Street. Page 13, image 1.10 - 1860-1869
  • Hutchinson-Kuhl house, oldest house in Iowa City, built in 1840. Page 14, image 1.11 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa]
  • Abel Beach, member of first faculty. Page 14, image 1.12 - 1855
  • Dexter Edson Smith, first graduate of the University in 1858. Page 14, image 1.13
  • First circular of the Normal Department lists text books. Page 15, image 1.14 - 1855
  • First circular of the Normal Department lists text books, facing page. Page 15, image 1.15 - 1855
  • Mechanic's Academy, site of first classes. Page 16, image 1.16 - 1855
  • Sub-Series: Chapter 2: The College Years, 1859-1878
  • Box 1:
  • Old Capitol east entrance with fence. Page 17, image 2.1 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa] - 1875
  • Silas Totten, second president, served 1859 to 1862. Page 20, image 2.2
  • Oliver M. Spencer, third president, served 1862 to 1867. Page 20, image 2.3
  • Nathan R. Leonard, acting president, served 1867-1868 and 1870-1871. Page 20, image 2.4
  • James Black, fourth president, served 1868 to 1870. Page 20, image 2.5
  • George Thacher, fifth president, served 1871 to 1877. Page 21, image 2.6
  • Christian W. Slagle, acting president, served 1877 to 1878. Page 21, image 2.7
  • Engraving of the campus buildings. Page 24, image 2.8 - 1869
  • Gustavus Hinrichs and his laboratory class on the steps of North Hall. Page 27, image 2.9 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa] - 1874
  • Anatomy students in the basement of South Hall. Page 29, image 2.10 - 1880-1889
  • John P. Irish, served on Board of Trustees 1868 to 1870. Page 29, image 2.11 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa]
  • Announcement of a benefit for soldiers' families. Page 31, image 2.12 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa] - 1863
  • Crowd gathered at Old Capitol for April 19th memorial service for President Lincoln. Page 31, image 2.13 - 1865
  • Members of the Erodelphian [literary] Society. Page 34, image 2.14 - 1883
  • Zetagathian Society program. Page 34, image 2.15 - 1865
  • Meeting room of the Erodelphian Society and the Irving Institute, South Hall. Page 34, image 2.16 - 1890
  • Campus in winter. Page 35, image 2.17 - 1870
  • South Hall, with broken windows from a hailstorm. Page 36, image 2.18 - 1890
  • Library and chapel, North Hall. Page 36, image 2.19 - 1870-1879
  • Collegiate Department faculty. Page 37, image 2.20 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa] - 1874
  • Ticket to Professor Louis Agassiz's lecture in Iowa City. Page 37, image 2.21 - 1864
  • Theodore S. Parvin. Page 38, image 2.22 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa]
  • Phoebe Sudlow, first female professor. Page 38, image 2.23 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa] - 1878
  • Gustavus D. Hinrichs. Page 39, image 2.24
  • Advertisement for Iowa City Commercial College and Spencerian Writing Academy. Page 40, image 2.25 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa] - 1867
  • First observatory, Clinton Street, from photo album of John M. Lindsey. Page 40, image 2.26 - 1899
  • Law class on steps of Old Capitol, includes Alexander Clark, Jr. Page 41, image 2.27 - 1879
  • Law Library in Old Capitol. Page 42, image 2.28 - 1900
  • Mary Humphrey Haddock, law graduate. Page 42, image 2.29 - 1875
  • Medical faculty. Page 43, image 2.30 - 1871
  • Medical Department course schedule. Page 43, image 2.31 - 1875-1876
  • Male students. Page 44, image 2.32 - 1866
  • Female students. Page 44, image 2.33 - 1866
  • Exterior of St. James Hotel. Page 45, image 2.34 - 1880-1889
  • Campus invitation to an event at the St. James Hotel. Page 45, image 2.35 - 1870-1879
  • Bill of fare, first alumni banquet, St. James Hotel. Page 45, image 2.36 [MISSING]
  • Stereograph of Clinton Street businesses by T. W. Townsend. Page 46, image 2.37 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa]
  • Sub-Series: Chapter 3: The Emerging University, 1878-1916
  • Box 1:
  • Ladies' gymnasium, Schaeffer Hall basement. Page 47, image 3.1 - 1904
  • Josiah L. Pickard, sixth president, served 1878 to 1887. Page 50, image 3.2
  • Old Capitol, before west portico was added. Page 50, image 3.3 - 1895
  • Pamphlet circulated by Gustavus Hinrichs. Page 50, image 3.4 - 1892
  • Faculty on east steps of Old Capitol. Page 53, image 3.5 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa] - 1894
  • Charles A. Schaeffer, seventh president, served 1887 to 1898. Page 53, image 3.6 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa]
  • Seasick participant of the Bahamas expedition. Page 54, image 3.7 - 1893
  • Group on ship, Bahamas expedition. Page 54, image 3.8 - 1893
  • Amos N. Currier, acting president, served 1898 to 1899. Page 56, image 3.9
  • George E. MacLean, eighth president, served 1899 to 1911. Page 59, image 3.10 [MISSING]
  • Operating theater, University Hospital. Page 59, image 3.11 - 1905
  • John G. Bowman, ninth president, served 1911 to 1914. Page 60, image 3.12 [MISSING]
  • Thomas H. Macbride, tenth president, served 1914 to 1916. Page 61, image 3.13 [photo, Iowa Lakeside Laboratory][MISSING]
  • Removal of an old Oak tree to make way for a new Liberal Arts building. Page 63, image 3.14 - 1897
  • Commencement dance. Page 64, image 3.15 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa] - 1896
  • Engineers on Iowa Field. Page 66, image 3.16 - 1901
  • First issue of the Daily Iowan, September 21. Page 67, image 3.17 - 1901
  • Campus buildings north of Old Capitol. Page 68, image 3.18 - 1900
  • Board of Regents Executive Committee members. Page 68, image 3.19 - 1892
  • William J. Haddock, secretary of the Board of Trustees. Page 69, image 3.20
  • Absence excuse for student, B. Apple. Page 69, image 3.21 - 1893
  • Portrait of student, B. Apple. Page 69, image 3.22 - 1893
  • Ladies Band. Page 70, image 3.23 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa] - 1895
  • Close hall, home of the YMCA and YWCA. Page 70, image 3.24 - 1900
  • Class portrait. Page 71, image 3.25 - 1906
  • Faculty production of Hamlet. Page 72, image 3.26 - 1894
  • Engineering students. Page 72, image 3.27 - 1883
  • Waiting for the battalion review. Page 72, image 3.28 [MISSING] - 1896
  • SUI Batttalion Band on the steps of Old Capitol. Page 73, image 3.29 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa] - 1890-1899
  • Medical students. Page 74, image 3.30 - 1897
  • Old Medical Building. Page 75, image 3.31 - 1890-1899
  • William (Billy) green, janitor for Medical Department. Page 75, image 3.32 - 1890-1899
  • First graduating class of the School of Nursing. Page 76, image 3.33 - 1900
  • Dental Clinic in new building. Page 76, image 3.34 - 1895
  • Homeopathic Hospital. Page 77, image 3.35 - 1900
  • Pharmaceutical manufacturing laboratory, East Hall Annex. Page 77, image 3.36 - 1910
  • Exterior of East Hall Annex. Page 78, image 3.37 - 1905
  • Geology classroom in Calvin Hall. Page 78, image 3.38 - 1895
  • Samuel Calvin at a quarry with a geology class. Page 79, image 3.39 - 1899
  • Frank Russell dressed in Arctic gear. Page 80, image 3.40 [photo, University of Iowa Museum of Natural History]
  • Laysan Expedition group. Page 80, image 3.41 [photo, University of Iowa Museum of Natural History] - 1911
  • Bohumil Shimek. Page 81, image 3.42
  • Iowa Lakeside Laboratory. Page 81, image 3.43 [photo, Iowa Lakeside Laboratory] - 1915
  • Academic procession on Iowa Avenue. Page 82, image 3.44 - 1899
  • Architectural drawing of Schaeffer Hall, east elevation. Page 83, image 3.45 - 1898
  • Architectural drawing of Schaeffer Hall, east section. Page 83, image 3.46 - 1897
  • Librarian J. W. Rich after North Hall library fire. Page 84, image 3.47 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa] - 1897
  • Remains of the Medical Building and South Hall after fire. Page 84, image 3.48 - 1901
  • Moving Calvin Hall across Jefferson Street. Page 85, image 3.49 - 1905
  • Laying of the cornerstone of the new Physics Building. Page 86, image 3.50 - 1908
  • View of campus from the west bank of the Iowa River. Page 87, image 3.51 - 1908
  • Postcard of the President's House. Page 88, image 3.52 - 1910
  • Steam Laboratory. Page 88, image 3.53 - 1910
  • Engineers' parade, Washington Street. Page 89, image 3.54 - 1919
  • Law library in Gilmore Hall. Page 90, image 3.55 - 1910
  • Home Economics class. Page 90, image 3.56 - 1915
  • Procession during Senior Frolic. Page 90, image 3.57 - 1912
  • Students in drawing class, Physics Building [now MacLean Hall]. Page 91, image 3.58 - 1915
  • Students perform during May Fete in City Park. Page 92, image 3.59 - 1916
  • Interior of billiards parlor on Iowa Avenue. Page 92, image 3.60 - 1915
  • People skating on the Iowa River. Page 93, image 3.61 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa] - 1890
  • Exterior of University Book Store. Page 93, image 3.62 - 1915
  • Interurban rail car crossing the Iowa River. Page 94, image 3.63 - 1904
  • Exterior of Svendi Hall, which served as hotel, seminary, women's dormitory, and apartments. Page 94, image 3.64 - 1890
  • Members of the Currier Orchestra seated in Currier Hall dorm room. Page 95, image 3.65 - 1918
  • Sigma Chi initiation of rolling barrels down Clinton Street. Page 95, image 3.66 - 1910
  • Baseball game on Iowa Field. Page 96, image 3.67 - 1896
  • T. P. Findley, a top Iowa sprinter from 1888 to 1890, prepares to race at the fair grounds track. Page 97, image 3.68 - 1889
  • Track and field meet. Page 97, image 3.69 - 1894
  • John van Fleet Crum, track star. Page 97, image 3.70 - 1895
  • Basketball team. Page 98, image 3.71 - 1893-1894
  • Women's fencing. Page 98, image 3.72 - 1890
  • Women's field hockey on Iowa Field. Page 98, image 3.73 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa] - 1910
  • Football team portrait. Page 99, image 3.74 - 1898
  • Cross-country runners on Centennial Bridge, Iowa Avenue. Page 100, image 3.75 - 1911
  • Sub-Series: Chapter 4: A One-Man Operation, 1916-1934
  • Box 1:
  • Walter A. Jessup with the Campus Planning Committee. Page 101, image 4.1 - 1930
  • Walter A. Jessup, fourteenth president, served 1916 to 1934. Page 104, image 4.2 [MISSING]
  • Student Army Training Corps (SATC) units march on Clinton Street. Page 105, image 4.3 - 1918
  • Aerial view of Quadrangle and Armory. Page 105, image 4.4 - 1921
  • Rifle drill in Old Armory. Page 105, image 4.5 - 1920
  • Students in Journalism calss taught by George Gallup, Daily Iowan editorial room. Page 109, image 4.6 - 1924
  • Department of Religion faculty. Page 111, image 4.7 - 1929
  • Students in Painting class, MacLean Hall. Page 111, image 4.8 - 1925
  • Nurse weighing a baby at the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station. Page 114, image 4.9 - 1928
  • Benjamin Franklin Shambaugh walking on the Pentacrest. Page 115, image 4.10
  • Steam shovel hitched to horses digging the foundation of the Chemistry Building. Page 117, image 4.11 - 1921
  • Exterior of Iowa Memorial Union. Page 118, image 4.12 - 1929
  • Friendly standoff between the State Bureau of Investigation and University officials over impounding of records after charges by Verne Marshall. Page 120, image 4.13 - 1931
  • Students on the Iowa Memorial Union sun porch during black tie event. Page 121, image 4.14 - 1934
  • Two male students in a Quadrangle dormitory room. Page 123, image 4.15 - 1930-1935
  • Chicago Sunday Tribune headline: Iowa Eleven Smashes Yale. Page 125, image 4.16 - 1922
  • Parade on Washington Street after victory over Yale on October 14. Page 125, image 4.17 - 1922
  • Induction parade on Iowa Avenue, October 1. Page 127, image 4.18 - 1924
  • Exterior of Old Capitol under renovation.Page 128, image 4.19 - 1921-1924
  • Old Capitol's spiral staircase under reconstruction. Page 128, image 4.20 - 1921-1924
  • View of Pentacrest and Iowa Avenue Bridge from Newton Road. Page 129, image 4.21 - 1925
  • Herbert Hoover standing on the Old Capitol steps. Page 130, image 4.22 - 1928
  • Students seated at a Chemistry lecture. Page 130, image 4.23 - 1925
  • Wilbur J. Teeters and his pharmacognosy class, with samples from the Herbarium. Page 131, image 4.24 - 1926
  • Students working in Museum Methods class. Page 131, image 4.25 - 1928
  • Stuphen Hayes Bush wearing the French Foreign Legion uniform. Page 131, image 4.26 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa]
  • Carl Emil Seashore and George D. Stoddard seated on the steps of Seashore Hall. Page 132, image 4.27 [MISSING]
  • Frank Luther Mott. Page 133, image 4.28 - 1921-1942
  • Frederick M. Pownall. Page 133, image 4.29 [photo, Dorothy Pownall]
  • John Towner Frederick. Page 134, image 4.30
  • Ernest Horn. Page 134, image 4.31
  • Cover of Midland literary magazine. Page 134, image 4.32 - 1930
  • Laurence C. Jones at Piney Woods School in Mississippi. Page 135, image 4.33 [photo, Piney Woods School] - 1921
  • Philip Greeley Clapp giving piano performance. Page 136, image 4.34 - 1930
  • Students hold moot court, Gilmore Hall. Page 136, image 4.35 - 1924
  • E. C. Mabie and students outside of Macbride Hall. Page 137, image 4.36
  • Carl Menzer in WSUI studio, surrounded by equipment. Page 138, image 4.37 - 1924
  • Students studying in physics library in MacLean Hall. Page 138, image 4.38 - 1920
  • Performers at the Speech broadcast studio stand around the microphone during a WSUI radio broadcast. Page 139, image 4.39 - 1931
  • W9XK television call letters broadcast on January 25. Page 139, image 4.40 - 1932
  • W9XK television broadcast identifies the University of Iowa. Page 139, image 4.41 - 1932
  • W9XK television broadcast of the image of President Jessup. Page 139, image 4.42 - 1932
  • View of Hydraulics Laboratory with Iowa River in foreground. Page 140, image 4.43 - 1934
  • Burton M. Fleming, Engineering Department, standing in the steam tunnel he designed to run under the Iowa River. Page 140, image 4.44
  • Student reading in a tent in Tent City. Page 141, image 4.45 - 1932
  • Students waiting at the Quadrangle postal substation. Page 141, image 4.46 - 1929
  • Patients seated in the Dental infirmary, Trowbridge Hall. Page 142, image 4.47 - 1919
  • Nurses inside Eastlawn on Iowa Avenue. Page 143, image 4.48 - 1919
  • Patients in Children's Hospital waiting room. Page 143, image 4.49 - 1919
  • Battery-operated hospital bus, used by doctors and staff to reach facilities on both sides of the Iowa River. Page 144, image 4.50 - 1920
  • Patient being removed from the new ambulance. Page 144, image 4.51 - 1925
  • University Hospital's Gothic tower under construction. Page 145, image 4.52 - 1928
  • Patients in a University Hospital ward. Page 146, image 4.53 - 1929
  • Arthur Steindler, head of Orthopedic Department, and advocate for the Children's Hospital. Page 146, image 4.54
  • Patients in beds on the patio of Children's Hospital. Page 147, image 4.55 - 1923
  • P. G. Mott with a patient in the Children's Hospital brace shop. Page 147, image 4.56 - 1920
  • Jefferson Hotel, corner of Washington and Dubuque streets. Page 148, image 4.57 - 1925
  • Iowana float carrying Alpha Chi Omega women in the May Carnival parade. Page 148, image 4.58 - 1921
  • Corn monument on the corner of Clinton Street and Iowa Avenue. Page 149, image 4.59 - 1935
  • Line of people waiting in the dark outside of Whetstone Drug to purchase football tickets. Page 150, image 4.60 - 1920
  • Male cheerleaders, or Yell leaders, at Iowa Field. Page 150, image 4.61 - 1920
  • Aubrey Devine football action shot against Minnesota. Page 150, image 4.62 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa] - 1921
  • Iowa vs. Wisconsin football game on snow-covered Iowa Field, November 7. Page 151, image 4.63 - 1925
  • Snow-covered crowd watching the Iowa vs. Wisconsin football game, November 7. Page 151, image 4.64 - 1925
  • Wrestling match in Old Armory. Page 152, image 4.65 - 1921
  • Women's exercise class, Halsey Gymnasium. Page 152, image 4.66 - 1924
  • Students with ski equipment and tobaggan on the Pentacrest. Page 152, image 4.67 - 1926
  • Baseball game on Iowa Field. Page 153, image 4.68 - 1925
  • Women's physical education dance performance during commencement week, President's House. Page 153, image 4.69 - 1923
  • Iowater Regatta, women's canoe race, Memorial Day. Page 154, image 4.70 - 1925
  • Exterior of Field House. Page 154, image 4.71 - 1927
  • Varsity football demonstration inside the Armory during dedication of the Field House. Page 155, image 4.72 - 1927
  • Male students on cots in the Field House dormitory. Page 156, image 4.73 - 1930
  • Sub-Series: Chapter 5: Cautious Change, 1934-1964
  • Box 1:
  • Student registration in the Field House. Page 157, image 5.1 - 1950
  • Eugene Gilmore, twelfth president, served 1934 to 1940. Page 160, image 5.2 [MISSING]
  • Cockroft-Walton atom smasher, MacLean Hall. Page 162, image 5.3 - 1938
  • Frank Lloyd Wright and Earl Harper on the Old Capitol spiral staircase. Page 162, image 5.4 - 1939
  • Chester A. Phillips, acting president in 1940. Page 162, image 5.5 [photo, Daily Iowan]
  • Virgil M. Hancher, thirteenth president, served 1940 to 1964. Page 164, image 5.6 - 1942
  • Pre-flight training with ropes near the Art Building. Page 167, image 5.7 - 1942
  • Man seated in the aviation simulator, Shelter House. Page 167, image 5.8 - 1941
  • All-women Daily Iowan staff. Page 167, image 5.9 - 1944-1945
  • Margaret Bourke-White, Life photographer, setting up her camera at Old Capitol. Page 167, image 5.10 - 1947
  • Hawkeye Trailer Village on the previous site of Iowa Field, the first temporary married student housing units. Page 170, image 5.11 - 1947
  • Dr. Willis Fowler making rounds. Page 171, image 5.12 [MISSING] - 1947
  • Dewey B. Stuit, Dean of Liberal Arts from 1949 to 1977. Page 173, image 5.13 [photo, Office of Public Information Photo Unit]
  • Grant Wood and Thomas Hart Benton, SPCS Club. Page 176, image 5.14 - 1935
  • Exterior of Main Library. Page 178, image 5.15 - 1950-1959
  • Interior of Reserve Library, Old Armory. Page 179, image 5.16 - 1938
  • James Van Allen explains Explorer IV data to a group of Soviet scientists. Page 181, image 5.17 [photo, Department of Physics and Astronomy] - 1959
  • Early Herky mascot on the sidelines at Kinnick Stadium. Page 183, image 5.18 - 1948
  • Nile Kinnick and coach Eddie Anderson before the Northwestern game. Page 184, image 5.19 - 1939
  • Nile Kinnick scoring the winning touchdown against Notre Dame, November 11. Page 185, image 5.20 - 1939
  • Crack-the-whip on Clinton Street, Homecoming. Page 185, image 5.21 [MISSING] - 1941
  • All-male Scottish Highlanders on the field at Kinnick Stadium. Page 186, image 5.22 - 1939
  • Phi Kappa Psi Homecoming float on Clinton Street. Page 186, image 5.23 - 1950
  • University of Iowa Band boarding the Santa Fe train for the Rose Bowl, December. Page 187, image 5.24 - 1958
  • Coach Forest Evashevski on the sidelines at the Rose Bowl, January 1. Page 187, image 5.25 - 1959
  • University Marching Band performing in downtown Los Angeles. Page 188, image 5.26 - 1957
  • Basketball team's Fabulous Five with coach Bucky O'Connor. Page 189, image 5.27 - 1956
  • Old Gold Days, sponsored by the Dolphin Club. Page 189, image 5.28 - 1958
  • Men dressed in grass skirts for the Dolphin Follies, October 31-November 2. Page 190, image 5.29 - 1941
  • Teeing off at Finkbine. Page 190, image 5.30 - 1932
  • Entrance to The Silver Shadow non-alcololic nightclub in the Iowa Memorial Union. Page 191, image 5.31 [photo, Department of Residence Services] - 1937
  • Students gather under the clock at Whetstone Drug. Page 191, image 5.32 - 1950
  • Exterior of Hillcrest men's dormitory. Page 192, image 5.33 - 1938
  • Men doing laundry at Hillcrest Dormitory. Page 192, image 5.34 [photo, Department of Residence Services] - 1956
  • Soda fountain in Currier Hall women's dormitory. Page 192, image 5.35 [photo, Department of Residence Services] - 1953
  • Burge Hall Students at a casual dance. Page 193, image 5.36 [photo, Department of Residence Services] - 1950-1959
  • Lobby of Burge Hall women's dormitory. Page 193, image 5.37 - 1963
  • Senior Nurses' Hayride. Page 193, image 5.38 - 1942
  • Dental students in front of Trowbridge Hall ride three men on one bicycle. Page 194, image 5.39 - 1944
  • Exterior of Iowa Memorial Union during a June flood. Page 194, image 5.40 - 1947
  • Exterior of Law Commons. Page 195, image 5.41
  • Exterior of Pharmacy Building. Page 195, image 5.42 - 1963
  • Patients in the Polio Clinic, Children's Hospital. Page 196, image 5.43 - 1950
  • Farmer talks to staff from the College of Medicine's Institute of Agricultural Medicine. Page 196, image 5.44 [photo, Institute of Agricultural Medicine] - 1957
  • Wendell Johnson. Page 197, image 5.45
  • Everet F. Lindquist with his test-scoring machine. Page 197, image 5.46
  • E. F. Lindquist and James Van Allen watch the installation of an IBM computer. Page 198, image 5.47 [photo, Daily Iowan] - 1961
  • View of the arts campus under construction. Page 199, image 5.48 - 1934
  • Painting studio. Page 200, image 5.49 - 1940
  • Grant Wood discussing a painting with a woman. Page 200, image 5.50 - 1940
  • Four painters experienced in modern art. Page 201, image 5.51
  • Humbert Albrizio talking with a sculpture student. Page 201, image 5.52 - 1960
  • Mauricio Lasansky with students in the printmaking studio. Page 202, image 5.53 - 1960
  • Students on the dance floor at the Beaux Arts Ball, Art Building. Page 202, image 5.54 - 1940
  • Arnold S. Gillette with a model of the new Theatre Building. Page 203, image 5.55
  • First play performed in the Theatre Building, Two Hundred Were Chosen. Page 203, image 5.56 - 1936
  • Backstage in the new Theatre Building. Page 203, image 5.57 - 1936
  • Actors on stage in Death of a Salesman, with Gene Wilder as Biff. Page 204, image 5.58 - 1952
  • The Marriage of Figaro, Macbride Auditorium. Page 204, image 5.59 - 1955
  • Symphony conductor James Dixon with Dimitri Mitropoulos at the piano. Page 205, image 5.60 - 1952
  • Iowa Writers' Workshop class, with Paul Engle and Vance Bourjaily. Page 206, image 5.61 - 1962
  • Offices of the Writers' Workshop in the temporary housing building. Page 206, image 5.62 - 1958
  • Sub-Series: Chapter 6: A Major Teaching and Research Institution, 1964-1987
  • Box 1:
  • College of Pharmacy lab technicians prepare a freeze-dried anticancer drug. Page 207, image 6.1 [photo, College of Pharmacy] - 1980
  • Howard R. Bowen, fourteenth president, served 1964 to 1969. Page 210, image 6.2 [photo, Daily Head] - 1964
  • Willard L. Boyd, fifteenth president, served 1969 to 1981. Page 213, image 6.3 [photo, Office of Public Information Photo Unit]
  • First five Carver professors, standing with donor Roy Carver. Page 213, image 6.4 [photo, University of Iowa Foundation]
  • Demonstrator being dragged away from the Union protest against Marine recruitment on campus in November. Page 215, image 6.5 [photo, David Luck] - 1967
  • Iowa students protest the deaths of four Kent State student protestors in May. Page 215, image 6.6 [photo, State Historical Society of Iowa] - 1970
  • Dean of Students M. L. Huit lights the cigarette of a student protesting Marine recruitment on campus in October. Page 215, image 6.7 [photo, David Luck] - 1968
  • NAACP representatives address the Board of Regents over the discriminatory hiring proctices of constructions firms in November. Page 218, image 6.8 [photo, David Luck] - 1968
  • Dramatic angles of the interior court of Bowen Science Building. Page 220, image 6.9 [photo, Warren Paris] - 1972
  • Speaker Margaret Keyes at planning meeting on restoration of Old Capitol. Page 221, image 6.10 [photo, Office of Public Information Photo Unit] - 1972
  • Duane C. Spriestersbach, acting president during 1981-1982. Page 221, image 6.11 [photo, Drake Hokanson] - 1982
  • James O. Freedman, sixteenth president, served 1982 to 1987. Page 222, image 6.12 [photo, Office of Public Information Photo Unit]
  • NCAA record crowd at Carver-Hawkeye Arena to watch the Iowa women's basketball team play Ohio State, February 3. Page 225, image 6.13 [photo, Joe Edens] - 1985
  • Wrestling coach Dan Gable puts a headlock on assistant J. Robinson during a match against Oklahoma State. Page 225, image 6.14 [photo, University Photo Services] - 1982
  • Donation of over 1,000 prints by Owen and Leone Elliott led to the Foundation's first fund drive and opening of the Museum of Art. Page 228, image 6.15 [photo, David Luck] - 1969
  • University Symphony premiere at Hancher Auditorium, October 30. Page 228, image 6.16 - 1972
  • William Stwalley in the Laser Laboratory. Page 231, image 6.17 [photo, John Danicic, Jr.]
  • Human Biology Research Facility under construction. Page 232, image 6.18 [photo, James Lindberg] - 1987
  • Face-painting at the Gentle Thursday happening. The first such event in 1967 featured poet Allen Ginsberg reading. Page 233, image 6.19 [photo, David Luck] - 1969
  • Thieves' Market along the Iowa River near the Union. Page 234, image 6.20 - 1970-1975
  • Muhammad Ali speaking at the Iowa Memorial Union. Page 234, image 6.21 [photo, David Luck] - 1969
  • Commencement graduates in June protested the war in Vietnam by carrying white crosses. Page 234, image 6.22 [photo, David Luck] - 1968
  • President Bowen address at services to honor Martin Luther King on April 9. Page 235, image 6.23 [photo, David Luck] - 1968
  • Football coaches at spring football practice after black team members protested discriminatory treatment. Page 235, image 6.24 [photo, David Luck] - 1969
  • Fred Brown shoots a basket during Iowa's win over Purdue in the Field House, January 3. Page 236, image 6.25 - 1970
  • Celebration in the Field House for the Fabulous Few, who put Iowa into the Final Four. Page 237, image 6.26 [photo, Drake Hokanson] - 1980
  • Quarterback Chuck Long and coach Hayden Fry confer on the sidelines, Iowa vs. Purdue, November. Page 237, image 6.27 [photo, University Photo Services] - 1985
  • Iowa scores at the Peach Bowl in Atlanta, December 31. Page 238, image 6.28 [photo, University Photo Services] - 1982
  • Michelle Murgatroyd attacks the goal against Northwestern during a field Hockey match at Kinnick Stadium, October. Page 238, image 6.29 [photo, University Photo Services] - 1985
  • Interior of the renovated Field House. Page 239, image 6.30 [photo, Tom Jorgensen] - 1985
  • Baseball player at the Indoor Practice Facility. Page 239, image 6.31 [photo, University Photo Services] - 1985
  • Donor Roy Carver discussing the retreading of a tire at his company, Bandag. Page 240, image 6.32
  • Governor Robert Ray stands next to performer Simon Estes singing at the rededication of Old Capitol on July 3. Page 241, image 6.33 [photo, Drake Hokanson] - 1976
  • Center for New Music rehearsal. Page 242, image 6.34 [photo, David Luck] - 1969
  • Opera theater director Beaumont Glass directing a student. Page 242, image 6.35 [photo, Winston Barclay] - 1981
  • Joffrey II dancers perform in front of Hancher Auditorium, July 4. Page 243, image 6.36 [photo, Tom Jorgensen] - 1985
  • Exterior of Theatre Building. Page 243, image 6.37 [photo, Tom Jorgensen] - 1985
  • Performers in the play, Nijinsky, April. Page 244, image 6.38 [photo, Jeff Myers] - 1987
  • Film studio, Communication Studies Building. Page 244, image 6.39 [photo, Tom Jorgensen] - 1986
  • Visitors to the International Writing Program tour the John Deere headquarters in Moline, Ill. Page 245, image 6.40 [photo, International Writing Program] - 1977
  • Kim K. Merker, founder of Windhover Press. Merker established a fund in the name of the Center for the Book, which began formally operating in 1986. Page 245, image 6.41 [photo, University of Iowa Foundation] - 1986
  • Raising Picasso's curtain from the play Le 14 Juillet, an exhibit loan exchange with Centre Pompidou in Paris for Jackson Pollock's Mural. Page 246, image 6.42 [photo, Drake Hokanson] - 1982
  • Drawing class seated on the ground. Page 246, image 6.43 - 1970-1979
  • The lights of Hancher Auditorium reflected at night on the Iowa River. Page 247, image 6.44 [photo, Office of Public Information Photo Unit]
  • Interior of the Afro-American Cultural Center. Page 248, image 6.45 [photo, Office of Public Information Photo Unit] - 1976
  • A room in the Quadrangle dormitory. Page 248, image 6.46 [photo, Office of Public Information Photo Unit] - 1975
  • Student orientation. Page 249, image 6.47 [photo, Office of Public Information Photo Unit] - 1982
  • Students surround the service window of the financial aid office in Old Dental. Page 249, image 6.48 [photo, Daily Iowan] - 1970
  • Exterior of Phillips Hall. Page 250, image 6.49 - 1965
  • A woman checks the research schedule at Spence Laboratories. Page 250, image 6.50 [photo, Daily Iowan] - 1970
  • Lindquist Center courtyard. Page 251, image 6.51 [photo, University of Iowa Foundation]
  • Religion professor George W. Forell and student. Page 251, image 6.52
  • Bill Sackter in his Wild Bill's Coffee Shop in North Hall, School of Social Work. Page 252, image 6.53 [photo, School of Social Work]
  • The giant sloth moves into Iowa Hall inside Macbride Hall. Page 253, image 6.53 [photo, Tom Jorgensen] - 1984
  • Marquette-Joliet diorama in Iowa Hall. Page 253, image 6.54 [photo, Office of Public Information Photo Unit] - 1985
  • Professor Dong H. Chyung surrounded by his robotics research in the College of Engineering. Page 253, image 6.55 [photo, D. R. Miller] - 1983
  • A. J. Odgaard of the Iowa Institute for Hydraulic Research leads a group of visiting experts on a tour of the Iowa Vane Project. Page 254, image 6.56 [photo, Omaha World Herald] - 1986
  • View of the Plasma Diagnostics Package extending from the spaceshuttle Columbia over earth. Page 254, image 6.57 [photo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration] - 1982
  • A worker is suited up for sterile lab work in the College of Pharmacy Pharmaceutical Service. Page 255, image 6.58 [photo, Office of Public Information Photo Unit] - 1985
  • Exterior view of the College of Dentistry Building. Page 255, image 6.59 [photo, James Lindberg] - 1980
  • College of Nursing Building. School of Nursing attained the status of a college in 1949, with Myrtle Kitchell Aydelotte the first dean. Page 256, image 6.60
  • Family and Community Health Nursing student caring for a patient in her home. Page 256, image 6.61 [photo, Office of Public Information Photo Unit] - 1974
  • Aerial view of University Hospitals and Clinics and the health sciences complex. Page 257, image 6.62 [photo, Warren Paris] - 1987
  • Graduating medical students learn where they will take residency training on Match Day at Bowen Science Building. Page 258, image 6.63 [photo, Office of Public Information Photo Unit] - 1981
  • Dr. Antonio Damasio and Dr. Hanna Damasio discuss their neurology research. Page 258, image 6.64 [photo, Office of Public Information Photo Unit] - 1986
  • Aerial view of Boyd Law Building. Page 259, image 6.65 [photo, UI Foundation] - 1986
  • Two students rest against the class of 1880 boulder on the Pentacrest. Page 260, image 6.66 [photo, Office of Public Information Photo Unit] - 1980-1988
  • University Photographer Frederick W. Kent with his camera. Page 262, image 6.67

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.