Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Printing Department Photographs and Graphic Arts Files Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1970-1995
Creator: Printing Department
Extent: 6.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG30.0001.040
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs throughout.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The collection was transferred to the University Archives from the University Printing Department in December 2010.

Preferred Citation: Printing Department Photographs and Graphic Arts Files Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The collection consists of photographs and graphic arts files used by the University Printing Department in the course of its production of publications, including brochures, newsletters and other materials. The files are sorted by subject.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • University seal
    3 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Women's Athletics
  • Men's Athletics
  • Archaeology
  • Alumni Association
  • Afro-American Studies
  • Sports Information and Sports School (Hawk in flight logo)
  • Box 3:
  • School of Music
  • Campus buildings sketches
  • Hospitals and Clinics, including Nursing
    2 folders
  • Psychiatric Hospital
  • College of Pharmacy
  • Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Box 4:
  • Printing Department
  • President's Office
  • Rape Crisis Line
  • Walt Whitman Quarterly Review
  • School of Social Work and Department of Sociology
  • Department of Theatre
  • Transportation and Security
  • Student organizations
  • Old woodcuts and novel drawings
  • WSUI
  • "Iowa"
  • Box 5:
  • Project Assist - 1974
  • Wendell Johnson Speech and Hearing Clinic
  • Department of Zoology
  • Presidential medallion
  • President's Home and president photos
  • Department of Psychology (Spence Lab)
  • Recreation Services and Facilities
  • Residence halls
  • Scenes (general), including computer terminal - circa 1980
  • Scenes (special), Hoover, Plum Grove
  • Department of Sociology
  • College of Nursing
  • Department of Pediatrics
  • College of Pharmacy
  • Department of Physical Education and Dance
  • Box 6:
  • Old Capitol
  • Physics and Astronomy
  • Nostalgia - reproduced images from archives - 1900-1960
  • Museum of Natural History
  • Box 7:
  • Miscellaneous, including move into new College of Law building, circa 1982; campus scenes - 1975-1990
  • Museum of Art
  • Hospital School for Severely Handicapped
  • Hospital Information Services
  • Continuing Medical Education

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Audiovisual Materials