Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Samuel Calvin Photograph Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Samuel Calvin
Extent: 8.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG30.0001.036
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.

Preferred Citation: [Name of collection], The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

About 4,000 images, primarily of Iowa geological formations but also of Iowa City and points of interest across Iowa. Limited indexing is available in the Dept. of Special Collections. Part of this collection is also maintained online by the UI Department of Geoscience.
Moon, Steven Elliott. "The Photographic Work of Samuel Calvin: Geological Field Studies Reinterpreted as High Art and Assimilated in the Process of Continued Examination of the Iowa Landscape with a Camera in the 1980's." University of Iowa master's thesis, 1987. T1987.M819.

Link to online collection: http://www.uiowa.edu/~calvin/gallery_intro.htm

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • About 4,000 images, primarily of Iowa geological formations but also of Iowa City and points of interest across Iowa
    Limited indexing is available in the Dept. of Special Collections

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Audiovisual Materials