Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Hecker Postcards and Photographs Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1910-1912
Creator: Hecker, Julius Robert
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG30.0001.034
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs throughout.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These photographs were given to the University of Iowa Libraries in August 1968 by Mrs. Agnes S. Hecker, wife of Julius Robert Hecker. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007 and revised April 2009.

Preferred Citation: Hecker Postcards and Photographs Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Julius Robert Hecker was born September 18, 1890, in Audubon, Iowa. His father, Theodore Hecker, made harnesses for a living. Julius was a University of Iowa student from 1908 until 1912. In order to earn money for his classes during 1910-1912, he was employed at Alva C. Townsend's Iowa City photography studio, where he made and sold postcards from his photographs of Iowa City. Many of his photographs were signed Hecker or JRH in the lower corner. Another student photographer, Frederick W. Kent, began producing photo postcards in fall 1911. (Fred Kent went on to found University Photo Service.) Hecker was enrolled in Military Drill classes, 1908-1909 and 1909-1910. Military drills are the subject of many of his photographs. Hecker received his B.A. in Economics on June 12, 1912.
 
Hecker married Agnes, and had four children, Jeanne (Burt), Dorothy (Lockwood), Marilyn (Schmitz), and Robert D. He and Agnes moved to Arizona in 1955. Julius Robert Hecker died in Phoenix on August 15, 1967.

One album, 100 images also 150 images individually-sleeved. Military Department, College of Liberal Arts. Also campus, Iowa City scenes. Athletics: track and field, football, baseball, pushball; Museum of Natural History, College of Law in Old Capitol; 1910-1912.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Military Dept., College of Liberal Arts. Also campus, Iowa City scenes. Athletics: track and field, football, baseball, pushball, Museum of Natural History, College of Law in Old Capitol - 1910-1912
    One album of 100 images, also 150 images individually-sleeved
  • Album: Old Capitol bell; University of Iowa President John G. Bowman at his desk in January 1912; and men waiting in line outside Whetsone's Drugstore to purchase football tickets
  • Sleeved images: a view of the glove factory engulfed in flames on June 7, 1911. Collection includes an image of two men wheeling Townsend's huge camera on the Old Capitol central walk, on their way to photograph freshman law students - 1911 June 7

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Audiovisual Materials