Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the College of Dentistry Photographs Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1883-1967
Creator: College of Dentistry Photographs (1883-1967)
Extent: 10.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG30.0001.025
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The College of Dentistry Photographs Collection was transferred from the College of Dentistry to the University Archives in February 2007. They were originally mounted on poster board but were removed for preservation and digitization purposes. Guide posted to the Internet in May 2009.

Preferred Citation: [Name of collection], The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The College of Dentistry Photographs Collection consists of individual portrait images of the College's graduates, arranged by year of graduation and, within each year, alphabetically by name of individual. Graduating class years represented in this collection are from 1883 to 1967. The photographs were originally mounted on large cardboard backing as composite images, with each composite grouping representing the members of a given graduating class. With the exception of the years 1893, 1894 and 1899, the photographs were separated from the cardboard backing by University Libraries conservation staff and placed in individual sleeves after undergoing digitization. Because of their unique artistic characteristics, the three composite boards for the above-noted years have been preserved intact and are housed at the University Archives.The online version of this collection is at http://digital.lib.uiowa.edu/dentistry.
Historical Sketch of Dentistry at Iowa. Iowa Alumnus 13, no. 8 (May 1916): 5-7, illus.

University of Iowa. College of Dentistry. A Proud Heritage, 1882-1982, the University of Iowa College of Dentistry. Iowa City, 1982. 44 pp., illus., bibliog.

Weidenbach, Amelia Rose. "History of the University of Iowa: The College of Dentistry." M.A. thesis, University of Iowa, 1944.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1883-1889
  • Box 2:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1890-1892
  • Box 3:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1892-1896
  • Box 4:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1898
  • Box 5:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1900, 1901
  • Box 6:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1902
  • Box 7:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1903
  • Box 8:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1904-1906
  • Box 9:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1907
  • Box 10:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1908
  • Box 11:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1909, 1910
  • Box 12:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1911
  • Box 13:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1912, 1913
  • Box 14:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1914
  • Box 15:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1915
  • Box 16:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1916
  • Box 17:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1917
  • Box 18:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1920, 1922, 1926, 1927
  • Box 19:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1928, 1929
  • Box 20:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1930, 1931
  • Box 21:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1932, 1933
  • Box 22:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1934, 1935
  • Box 23:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1936, 1937
  • Box 24:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1938, 1939
  • Box 25:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1940, 1941
  • Box 26:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1942, 1945
  • Box 27:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1946, 1948
  • Box 28:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1949, 1950
  • Box 29:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1951, 1952
  • Box 30:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1953, 1954
  • Box 31:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1955, 1956
  • Box 32:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1957, 1958
  • Box 33:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1959, 1960
  • Box 34:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1961, 1962
  • Box 35:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1963
  • Box 36:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1964, 1965
  • Box 37:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1966
  • Box 38:
  • Individual portrait images of graduates - 1967

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Audiovisual Materials