Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Class and Faculty Photograph Album Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1878-1895
Creator: Class and Faculty Photograph Album (1878-1895)
Extent: .00 .
Collection Number: RG30.0001.020
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The photograph albums were donated to the University Archives by numerous donors at various times. The 1895 album was a gift of J. Lyle Kinmonth. Guide posted to the Internet April 2005; updated January 2008.

Preferred Citation: [Name of collection], The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

"Most of the photograph albums that comprise this collection preceded the Hawkeye yearbook, which commenced publication in 1892. They were among the earliest attempts to document campus life at the University of Iowa. Generally the albums were produced commercially and were intended for the immediate University community, particularly graduating seniors and members of the faculty.

The photograph albums include portraits of University administrators, faculty, and students and cover most of the 1878-1895 period.
Yearbooks Collection (RG02.0010.001)

Frederick W. Kent Collection of Photographs (RG30.0001.001)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Class of 1878, mainly portraits of faculty and students - 1878
    One album; about 60 images
  • Box 2:
  • Class of 1889, faculty and graduating senior portraits - 1889
    Two copies of photo album; about 40 images each
  • Box 3:
  • Class of 1890, faculty and graduating seniors, collage format - 1890
    Two copies of photo album; about 12 images each
  • Box 4:
  • Class of 1891, faculty and graduating seniors, collage format - 1891
    Four copies of photo album; about 16 images each (SEE: Box 5 as well)
  • Box 5:
  • Class of 1891, faculty and graduating seniors, collage format - 1891
  • Box 6:
  • Class of 1892, faculty and graduating seniors, collage format - 1892
    Four copies of photo album; about 50 images each (SEE: Boxes 7-9 as well)
  • Box 7:
  • Class of 1892, faculty and graduating seniors, collage format - 1892
  • Box 8:
  • Class of 1892, faculty and graduating seniors, collage format - 1892
  • Box 9:
  • Class of 1892, faculty and graduating seniors, collage format - 1892
  • Box 10:
  • Class of 1895, faculty and graduating seniors, collage and portraits - 1895
    One album, about 50 images

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Audiovisual Materials