Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Iowa Memorial Union Construction Photograph Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1924-1980
Creator: Iowa Memorial Union Construction
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: RG30.0001.014
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Entire collection

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.

Preferred Citation: Iowa Memorial Union Construction Photograph Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Construction of IMU Units I and II; completed areas also featured following opening - 1924-1926
    About 200 images
  • Box 2:
  • Interior and exterior views of IMU - 1924-1980
    About 110 images ranging in size from 5x7 to 10x14
  • Ballroom and dance scenes, information desk, bowling, weddings, military ceremonies, sculptures and other artwork, Triangle Club lounge, dining services, construction, Silver Shadow social club - 1924-1980
  • Box 3:
  • Seven mounted images of IMU dining rooms - 1950s

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Audiovisual Materials