Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Frederick W. Kent Photograph Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1866-2000
Creator: Kent, Frederick W. (1894-1984)
Extent: 109.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG30.0001.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: The collection relates to most areas of the University of Iowa, including individuals, departments, and buildings.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Entire collection.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: A portion of the Frederick W. Kent Collection of Photographs was transferred from University Photo Service to University Archives prior to 1970, with many additional transfers during the 1980s and 1990s. Guide posted to the Internet February 2005; updated January 2008.

Preferred Citation: Frederick W. Kent Photograph Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Frederick Wallace Kent (February 3, 1894-July 17, 1984) was a lecturer and instructor in photography at the University from 1923 until 1925. He was the curator of photographic apparatus, and the consulting photographer, from 1936 until 1947. Mr. Kent founded University Photo Service, and was manager from 1947 until 1963. He served as a part-time photographer of special projects with Photo Service for the next twelve years, retiring in 1975.

The importance of Fred Kent's work goes beyond his many years of producing student's graduation photos and recording sporting events. His detailed photographs of the 1922 restoration of Old Capitol on the University of Iowa campus aided in subsequent restorations of the building.

Mr. Kent photographed everyday scenes and the extraordinary. The Daily Iowan newspaper reported on November 23, 1934, that Mr. Kent designed a new camera to quickly and inexpensively photograph material for screen projection, improving upon the Recordak machine. He pioneered the use of stereographs in medicine, producing three-dimensional pictures for doctors. In 1947, Eastman Kodak commissioned him to write the first manual for medical photography. Mr. Kent also holds the honor of first recipient of the Iowa City Historic Preservation Commission Award in 1984 for documenting the growth of the area through his photographs.

Of the tens of thousands of images he created, Mr. Kent considered his most famous to be the now ubiquitous pose of Nile Kinnick ready to pass the football, which Mr. Kent recorded in 1939, the year Kinnick was named All-American.
A portion of Mr. Kent's collection was transferred to University Archives from the Center for Media Production. Additional Kent images of Iowa and Iowa City are located at the State Historical Society of Iowa, Iowa City.

The Frederick W. Kent Collection of Photographs is comprised of about 50,000 prints and negatives. The collection relates to most areas of the University of Iowa, including individuals, departments, and buildings, and it visually documents nearly every decade of University life since classes commenced in 1855. The majority of the images are dated between 1880 and 1980. In addition to University images, the collection includes approximately 2,000 images of commercial and residential structures off-campus in Iowa City, Iowa.

Note: The following inventory lists, where available, categories under which prints and negatives in the Frederick W. Kent Collection may be found. The number of prints or negatives in each category will range from as few as one to as many as 100 or more. For two sub-series - Faculty and Staff, and Students - there are no categories; in each case, individual items are arranged alphabetically by name. For the Theatre sub-series, photographs are arranged chronologically by school year, 1936 to 1972.
Alumni and Former Students Vertical Files Collection (RG01.0015.001)

Bennett, Mary. "The Man behind the Camera: Fred W. Kent." Palimpsest 75 (fall 1994): 102-131, illus. (Main)

Brown, Janet. "Pairing the Past with the Present." Iowan 32, no. 3 (spring 1984): 35-39, illus. Includes Fred W. Kent photographs of Iowa City. (Main)

Bulletin of the State University of Iowa . Iowa City: The University Press, 1863-1938. illus.

Campus Buildings Vertical Files Collection (RG01.0015.002)

Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG01.0015.003)

Gerber, John C. A Pictorial History of the University of Iowa. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1988. 273 pp., illus.

Grady, Al. 25 Years with the Fighting Hawkeyes: Fourth Quarter, 1964-1988. Iowa City : University of Iowa Athletic Department, 1989. 196 pp., illus. Football.

Kent, Frederick W. "Oral History Interview." University of Iowa Oral History Project, 9. 34 pp. 1976. Archives.

Lamb, Dick, and Bert McGrane.75 Years with the Fighting Hawkeyes. Iowa City: University of Iowa Athletic Department, 1989. [3d printing] 284 pp., illus., tables.

Liffring-Zug, Joan. "Fred Kent's Iowa ." Iowan 23, no. 2 (winter 1974): 41-47, illus. (Main)

Mansheim, Gerald. Iowa City: an illustrated history. Norfolk, Va.: Donning Co., c1989. 224 pp., illus.

Luck, David J. Student Protest at Iowa. Iowa City: Typography Laboratory, University of Iowa School of Journalism, 1969. 10 pp., illus. Photographic essay.

"Photo by Kent : 60 Years of History on Film" University of Iowa Alumni Review 32, no. 6 (October-November 1979): 22-24, illus. (Main)

Zieglowsky, Debby J. "Pantatorium Summer." Palimpsest 68 (summer 1987): 72-83, illus. Fred W. Kent, UI student, and photography at Arnolds Park, Iowa, 1913-1914. (Main)

In addition to what is presented here, researchers should note that there are additional photographic collections in the RG30.0001 series, as well as small photographic collections throughout the various Archives holdings.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PRINTS
Series 2: POSTCARDS
Series 3: PHOTO ALBUMS
Series 4: SAFETY NEGATIVES
Series 5: NITRATE NEGATIVES

  • Series 1: PRINTS
  • Sub-Series: File Cabinet 3, Drawers 1-3
  • Theatre (5 lin. ft.) - before 1936; 1936-1943
  • Theatre - 1944-1962
  • Theatre - 1963-2008
  • Sub-Series: File Cabinet 4, Drawers 1-4: Buildings (10 lin.ft.)
  • Alumni House Annex
  • Armory (on Pentacrest)
  • Art Building
  • Barn (on Pentacrest)
  • Biology Building
  • Botanical Laboratory and Greenhouse
  • Bowen Science Building
  • Buildings, Temporary
  • Burge Hall
  • Calvin Hall
  • Chemistry-Botany Building
  • Clapp Recital Hall
  • Cline Implement Building (preceded Lindquist Center)
  • Close Hall
  • Communications Center
  • Currier Hall
  • Danforth Chapel
  • Daum Hall
  • Dental Building (Old)
  • Dental Science Building
  • Dey House
  • East Hall Annex
  • Eastlawn
  • Engineering Building
  • Engineering Shed
  • Engineering Shops
  • English-Philosophy Building
  • Field House
  • General Hospital
  • Gilmore Hall
  • Halsey Gymnasium
  • Hancher Auditorium
  • Hawkeye Court Apartments
  • Hawkeye Drive Apartments
  • Hawkeye Village
  • Health Sciences Library
  • Hillcrest
  • Homeopathic Hospital
  • Homeopathic Medical Building
  • Hospital School
  • Hutchinson-Kuhl House
  • Hydraulics Laboratory
  • Hydroelectric Plant
  • International Center
  • Iowa Field
  • Iowa Memorial Union
  • Jessup Hall
  • Kellogg Dormitory
  • Kinnick Stadium
  • Law Center
  • Law Commons
  • Lindquist Center for Measurement
  • Macbride Hall
  • MacLean Hall
  • Main Library
  • Married Housing (Quonsets and Barracks)
  • Mayflower
  • Mechanics' Academy
  • Medical Building (Old)
  • Medical Laboratories
  • Medical Research Center
  • Medical Shed ("The Sheep Shed")
  • Miscellaneous and Unidentified Buildings
  • Miscellaneous Student Housing
  • Museum of Art
  • Museum of Natural History and Museum Techniques Department
  • Music Building (Old)
  • Music Building
  • North Hall (on Pentacrest)
  • North Hall
  • Nursing Building
  • Oakdale Hospital
  • Observatories
  • Old Armory
  • Old Brick
  • Old Capitol
  • Parklawn Apartments
  • Pharmacy Building
  • Phillips Hall
  • Physical Plant
  • Power Plant (Old)
  • Power Plant
  • President's House
  • Psychiatric Hospital
  • Psychopathic Hospital
  • Quadrangle
  • Recreation Building
  • Rienow Hall
  • Schaeffer Hall
  • Seashore Hall
  • Shambaugh House
  • Sheep Shed
  • Slater Hall
  • South Hall
  • South Quadrangle
  • Stanley Hall
  • Steindler Building (Children's Hospital)
  • Theatre Building
  • Trowbridge Hall
  • Unitarian Church
  • Van Allen Hall
  • Water Closet
  • Wendell Johnson Speech and Hearing Center
  • Westlawn
  • Women's Resource and Action Center (WRAC)
  • Sub-Series: File Cabinet 5, Drawers 1-3: Colleges and Departments (8 lin. ft.)
  • Archaeology
  • Art
  • Astronomy
  • Biology
  • Botany
  • Chemistry
  • Child Welfare
  • Dentistry
  • Dramatic Arts
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • English
  • Geology
  • History
  • Home Economics
  • Homeopathic
  • Hydraulics
  • International Writing Program
  • Journalism
  • Lakeside Laboratory
  • Law
  • Liberal Arts
  • Library (People)
  • Library Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • Medicine
  • Military
  • Museum of Natural History
  • Music (General)
  • Music (Operas)
  • Music (Organizations)
  • Nursing
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Pharmacy
  • Philosophy
  • Physical Education
  • Physics
  • Psychology
  • Religion
  • School of Letters
  • Speech and Dramatic Arts
  • Speech Pathology
  • Theatre Arts
  • Writers' Workshop
  • Zoology
  • Sub-Series: File Cabinet 5, Drawer 4: Athletics: (3 lin. ft.), Men's
  • Individuals
  • Bands
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Coaches (men's and women's teams)
  • Field and Track
  • Football Crowds
  • Football Games
  • Football Players
  • Football Squads
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Miscellaneous
  • Physical Education
  • Pushball
  • Swimming
  • Wrestling
  • Sub-Series: File Cabinet 5, Drawer 4: Athletics: (3 lin. ft.), Women's
  • Basketball
  • Gymnastics
  • Miscellaneous
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Sub-Series: File Cabinet 6, Drawers 1-2: Events and Activities: A-Z (3 lin. ft.)
  • Art Exhibits
  • Camp Kellogg
  • Centennial Dinner - 1947 February 25
  • Class Day
  • Class Group Photographs
  • Commencement
  • Convocation
  • Corn Monuments
  • Documents and Letters
  • Fetes
  • Foreign Students
  • Freshman Week
  • Herky the Hawk
  • Homecoming
  • Inauguration Day
  • Induction
  • John F. Kennedy Service - 1963
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Service - 1968
  • Medallions
  • Media Events
  • Parades - Mecca Day
  • Parades - Miscellaneous and Unidentified
  • Parties (Dances)
  • Protest
  • Registration
  • Reunions
  • Senior Day
  • Senior Frolic
  • Television
  • Testing Programs
  • Windhover Press
  • World War II, Iowa at War
  • WSUI Radio
  • Sub-Series: File Cabinet 6, Drawers 1-2: Events and Activities: Rose Bowl
  • Rose Bowl - 1959
    1 lin. ft.
  • Sub-Series: File Cabinet 6, Drawer 3: Iowa City Scenes (3 lin. ft.)
  • Aerial Views
  • Airport
  • Ambulances
  • Bridges
  • Businesses and Houses
    2 folders
  • Churches
  • City Park
  • East of River
  • East and West of River
  • Lake Macbride
  • Landscape - Kent[?]
  • Maps and Plans
  • Public Buildings
  • River Scenes - before 1925
  • River Scenes - after 1925
  • Scenes (including postcards using photo archives)
  • Street Scenes - Business District
  • Street Scenes - Residential
  • Transportation
  • West of River
  • Sub-Series: File Cabinet 6, Drawer 3: University of Iowa Campus Scenes
  • East Campus Scenes
  • East and West Campus Scenes
  • Finkbine Golf Course
  • Macbride Field Campus
  • Maps and Plans
  • Panoramic Views
  • Pentacrest
  • West Campus Scenes
  • Sub-Series: File Cabinet 6, Drawer 3: State of Iowa Scenes
  • State of Iowa
  • Sub-Series: File Cabinet 6, Drawer 4: Scenes, Other
  • Aerial views of Iowa City and campus - 1930-1971
    1.0 lin. ft.
  • Lake Macbride and Lakeside Laboratory - 1940-1950
    0.5 lin. ft.
  • Sub-Series: File Cabinet 7, Drawers 1-3
  • Faculty and Staff
    12 lin. ft.
  • Sub-Series: File Cabinet 8, Drawers 1-2: Organizations: A-Z (2 lin. ft.)
  • Acacia
  • Board of Education
  • Board of Regents
  • Dolphin Club
  • Dramatic Club
  • Forensic Societies
  • Fraternities and Sororities
  • Glee Club
  • Greek Letter Society
  • Hindu Students
  • KRUI Radio
  • Literary Society
  • Scottish Highlanders
  • Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Speakers (SPCS)
  • Unidentified Organizations
  • Union Board Presidents
  • University Elementary School
  • University High School
  • Sub-Series: File Cabinet 8, Drawers 1-2: Organizations: Military-R.O.T.C.
  • Military-R.O.T.C. - 1888-1950
    1 lin. ft.
  • Sub-Series: File Cabinet 8, Drawers 3-4: Students (6 lin. ft.)
  • Students
  • Series 2: POSTCARDS
  • File Cabinet 3, Drawer 4
  • Two boxes of about 200 images. Campus and Iowa City scenes - 1912
    5 lin. in.
  • Series 3: PHOTO ALBUMS
  • File Cabinet 3, Drawer 5
  • One album; about 50 images. Campus and Iowa City scenes, mainly Pentacrest - 1920-1930
  • Series 4: SAFETY NEGATIVES
  • Sub-Series: Athletics (3 lin. ft.)
  • Box 1:
  • Individuals, all sports; A-K
  • Box 2:
  • Individuals, all sports; L-Z
  • Box 3:
  • Football (Teams, Action, Band, Crowds)
  • Box 4:
  • Football (Coaches, Publicity shots, other)
  • Box 5:
  • Basketball, Baseball, Track and Field
  • Box 6:
  • Wrestling, Gymnastics, Swimming, Tennis, Golf, Fencing, other men's sports
  • Women's sports
  • Sub-Series: Buildings (2.5 lin. ft.)
  • Box 7:
  • A-Gi
  • Box 8:
  • Go-Mec
  • Box 9:
  • Med-Q
  • Box 10:
  • S
  • Box 11:
  • T-Z
  • Sub-Series: Colleges and Departments (1.5 lin. ft.)
  • Box 12:
  • A-K
  • Box 13:
  • L-Mu
  • Box 14:
  • Mu-Z
  • Sub-Series: Events and Activities: A-H (1.5 lin. ft.)
  • Box 15:
  • Bowl Games - Rose Bowl - 1959
  • Centennial - 1947
  • Class group poses - 1866-1972
  • Commencement - 1918, 1920, 1947, 1950
  • Corn Monuments
  • Fetes - 1921, 1922, 1923
  • Field Day - 1955, 1958
  • Homecoming - 1917
  • Sub-Series: Events and Activities: I-P
  • Box 16:
  • Inauguration Day: Gilmore, Hancher, Bowen
  • Induction - 1953
  • Iowa at War, 1918, 1937 Hospital Library, 1942 War Art Workshop - 1918, 1937, 1942
  • Medallions, 1964 President's emblem - 1964
  • Miscellaneous - 1913-1981
  • Parades - Engineers' Mecca Day - 1912-1923, 1950
  • Sub-Series: Events and Activities: P-Z
  • Box 17:
  • Parties (Dances) - 1915-1958
  • Registration - 1925, 1949, 1950, 1953
  • Reunions - 1877-1951
    Incomplete
  • Senior Day - 1912, 1922
  • Sesquicentennial - 1997
  • Television - 1930s, 1934, 1941
  • WSUI - 1970
  • Sub-Series: Faculty and Staff (7.5 lin. ft.)
  • Box 18:
  • A-Bem (and groups)
  • Box 19:
  • Ben-Bun
  • Box 20:
  • Bum-Crn
  • Box 21:
  • Cro-Em
  • Box 22:
  • En-F
  • Box 23:
  • G-Hd
  • Box 24:
  • He-Jn
  • Box 25:
  • Jo-Lao
  • Box 26:
  • Lap-Mar
  • Box 27:
  • Mas-N
  • Box 28:
  • O-Rd
  • Box 29:
  • Re-Sg
  • Box 30:
  • Sh-Sz
  • Box 31:
  • T-Wd
  • Box 32:
  • We-Z
  • Sub-Series: Organizations (3.5 lin. ft.)
  • Box 33:
  • Board of Regents - 1952, 1957, 1959, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1965, 1983
  • Board in Control of Athletics - 1955
  • Board of Education - 1935, 1941, 1948, 1951
  • Campus Visitors: Iowa Supreme Court at Old Capitol - 1935
  • Campus Visitors: Bert McGrane - 1951
  • Campus Visitors: Bob Hope signing autographs - 1957
  • Campus Visitors: Eleanor Roosevelt - 1957
  • Campus Visitors: Van Cliburn - 1972
  • Campus Visitors: Preservation Jazz Band - 1972
  • Fraternities and Sororities - 1885-1969
    Incomplete
  • Miscellaneous - 1888, 1897, 1915, 1949, 1956, 1968
  • Mortar Board - 1966
  • Parent's Association - 1956
  • Scottish Highlanders - 1950
    Only one negative has a date
  • Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Speakers (S.P.C.S.) - Grant Wood and others - 1935, 1936
  • Student Council - 1952
    One negative of a meeting
  • Box 34:
  • University Elementary School and University High School
  • Box 35:
  • University Schools
  • Box 36:
  • University High School - 1959-1960
  • Box 37:
  • Scottish Highlanders - 1920-1956
  • Box 38:
  • Scottish Highlanders - 1956-1979
  • Box 39:
  • Military ROTC, Naval Pre-Flight School - World War II
  • Sub-Series: Scenes: Iowa City (2.5 lin. ft.)
  • Box 40:
  • Aerial Views
  • Airport
  • Ambulances
  • Bridges
  • Churches
  • Finkbine Golf Course
  • Lake Macbride
  • Maps and Plans
  • Radio
  • River Scenes
  • Schools
  • Street Scenes
  • Television
  • Transportation
  • Box 41:
  • Iowa City - Houses and Stores (arranged by address): A-C
  • Box 42:
  • Iowa City - Houses and Stores: D-I
  • Box 43:
  • Iowa City - Houses and Stores: J-Z
  • Sub-Series: Scenes: University of Iowa Campus
  • Box 44:
  • East and West Campus
  • East Campus
  • Finkbine Golf Course
  • Honors House
  • Maps and Plans
  • Pentacrest - 1840-1902
  • Pentacrest - 1902-1924
  • Pentacrest - 1924-1964
  • West Campus
  • Sub-Series: Students (0.25 lin. ft.)
  • Box 45:
  • Student images - 1940
    Includes image of Elizabeth Catlett Mora's 1940 MFA thesis artwork
  • Sub-Series: Theatre (10.5 lin. ft.)
  • Box 46:
  • Theatre - 1936
  • Box 47:
  • Theatre - 1936-1937
  • Box 48:
  • Theatre - 1937-1938
  • Box 49:
  • Theatre - 1938-1939
  • Box 50:
  • Theatre - 1939-1940
  • Box 51:
  • Theatre - 1940-1941
  • Box 52:
  • Theatre - 1941
  • Box 53:
  • Theatre - 1942-1943
  • Box 54:
  • Theatre - 1943-1946
  • Box 55:
  • Theatre - 1946-1948
  • Box 56:
  • Theatre - 1948-1949
  • Box 57:
  • Theatre - 1949-1951
  • Box 58:
  • Theatre - 1951-1953
  • Box 59:
  • Theatre - 1953-1955
  • Box 60:
  • Theatre - 1955-1957
  • Box 61:
  • Theatre - 1957-1959
  • Box 62:
  • Theatre - 1959-1961
  • Box 63:
  • Theatre - 1961-1963
  • Box 64:
  • Theatre - 1963-1965
  • Box 65:
  • Theatre - 1965-1967
  • Box 66:
  • Theatre - 1967-1972
  • Series 5: NITRATE NEGATIVES
  • Box 1:
  • Athletics (7 lin. ft.)
  • Box 2:
  • Athletics
  • Box 3:
  • Athletics
  • Box 4:
  • Athletics
  • Box 5:
  • Athletics
  • Box 6:
  • Athletics
  • Box 7:
  • Athletics
  • Box 8:
  • Athletics
  • Box 9:
  • Athletics
  • Box 10:
  • Athletics
  • Box 11:
  • Athletics
  • Box 12:
  • Athletics
  • Box 13:
  • Athletics
  • Box 14:
  • Athletics
  • Box 15:
  • Buildings (2 lin. ft.)
  • Box 16:
  • Buildings
  • Box 17:
  • Buildings
  • Box 18:
  • Buildings
  • Box 19:
  • Colleges and Departments (1.5 lin. ft.)
  • Box 20:
  • Colleges and Departments
  • Box 21:
  • Colleges and Departments
  • Box 22:
  • Events and Activities (0.75 lin. ft.)
  • Box 23:
  • Events and Activities
  • Box 24:
  • Faculty and Staff (1.5 lin. ft.)
  • Box 25:
  • Faculty and Staff
  • Box 26:
  • Faculty and Staff
  • Box 27:
  • Organizations (1 lin. ft.)
  • Box 28:
  • Organizations
  • Box 29:
  • Scenes (3.25 lin. ft.)
  • Box 30:
  • Scenes
  • Box 31:
  • Scenes
  • Box 32:
  • Scenes
  • Box 33:
  • Scenes
  • Box 34:
  • Scenes
  • Box 35:
  • Scenes
  • Box 36:
  • Theatre (3 lin. ft.)
  • Box 37:
  • Theatre
  • Box 38:
  • Theatre
  • Box 39:
  • Theatre
  • Box 40:
  • Theatre
  • Box 41:
  • Theatre