Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Board in Control of Athletics Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1902-
Creator: Board in Control of Athletics (-1902)
Extent: 8.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG28.0003.005
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Records of the Board in Control of Athletics have been transferred to the University Archives by the creating office at various times. Minutes and other records continue to accrue on a periodic basis. Guide posted to the Internet in July 2009.

Preferred Citation: Board in Control of Athletics Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

"The Board in Control of Athletics, later renamed the Presidential Committee on Athletics, was established in 1902 as a means to govern the University of Iowa's participation in intercollegiate athletics. According to its charter, itis the advisory committee for the University President and the Director of Athletics on policies governing the Department of Intercollegiate Athletics consistent with the rules of the Big Ten Conference and the National Collegiate Athletics Association and consistent with the policies of the University, the Board of Regents, and the State of Iowa. In addition to its duty to advise and recommend policies to the University President and Athletics Director, the Committee periodically apprises the faculty, staff, and student constituency organizations of the status of athletics at the University and nationally.

The Records of the Board in Control of Athletics consist of three series: Financial Records, Minutes, and Administrative. The Minutes series is the most complete portion of the collection, documenting the Board's activity nearly continuously since its inception in 1902. Historical Note=The Board in Control of Athletics, later renamed the Presidential Committee on Athletics, was established in 1902 as a means to govern the University of Iowa's participation in intercollegiate athletics. According to its charter, it is the advisory committee for the University President and the Director of Athletics on policies governing the Department of Intercollegiate Athletics consistent with the rules of the Big Ten Conference and the National Collegiate Athletics Association and consistent with the policies of the University, the Board of Regents, and the State of Iowa. In addition to its duty to advise and recommend policies to the University President and Athletics Director, the Committee periodically apprises the faculty, staff, and student constituency organizations of the status of athletics at the University and nationally.
Gilson, James Edward. "Changing Student Lifestyle at the University of Iowa, 1880-1900." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Iowa, 1980. 392 pp. Dissertation Abstracts International 41: 1664-A.

Gimbel, John. "A History of the State University of Iowa: Physical Education and Athletics for Men." M.A. thesis, University of Iowa, 1951. 458 pp. Discusses the 1920-1950 period.

Meinhard, Robert Wilson. "History of the State University of Iowa: Physical Education and Athletics for Men." M.A. thesis, University of Iowa, 1947. 194 pp. Discusses the 1860-1920 period.

Subject Vertical Files, Athletics category, "Board in Control of Athletics" folder. (RG01.0015.005)

Voltmer, Carl D. A Brief History of the Intercollegiate Conference of Faculty Representatives, with a Special Consideration of Athletic Problems. New York, 1935.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: FINANCIAL RECORDS
Series 2: MINUTES
Series 3: ADMINISTRATIVE

  • Series 1: FINANCIAL RECORDS
  • Oversize box - Financial records - 1907-1910; 1914-1917; 1922
  • Financial records - 1922 June 30-1959 June 30
  • Financial records - 1960 June 30-1976 June 30
  • Series 2: MINUTES
  • Box 1:
  • Minutes - 1902-1920
  • Box 2:
  • Minutes - 1920-1924; 1929-1941
  • Box 3:
  • Minutes - 1942-1958
  • Box 4:
  • Minutes - 1958-1969
  • Box 5:
  • Minutes - 1970-1978
  • Box 6:
  • Minutes - 1979-1981
  • Box 7:
  • Minutes - 1982-1988
  • Box 8:
  • Minutes - 1989-1993
  • Box 9:
  • Minutes - 1994-1999
  • Box 10:
  • Minutes - 2000-2005
  • Box 11:
  • Minutes - 2006-2009
  • Series 3: ADMINISTRATIVE
  • Box 1:
  • Annual reports - 1994-2009
    Incomplete
  • Articles of Incorporation, studies, and reports
  • Box 2:
  • Reports, policies, and member notes

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Administration
University of Iowa Related Services