Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Oakdale Sanatorium Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1920-2001
Creator: Oakdale Sanatorium (1920-2001)
Extent: 20.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG27.0020.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The records were transferred from Oakdale Hall to the University Archives in 2001. Finding aid released May 2010.

Preferred Citation: Oakdale Sanatorium Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The Oakdale Sanatorium was established in 1907 by the State of Iowa in response to a growing tuberculosis epidemic. Over the next 70 years the facility was used to house patients in need of a variety of treatments.

The Records of Oakdale Sanatorium include photographs, newsletters, and patient council meeting minutes. The collection does not include patient records  these are maintained by University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.
Edwards, J.A. and Sadie Seagrave. "A Brief History of the State Sanatorium at Oakdale, Iowa." Unpublished typescript, n.d. 18 pp. Archives, in Historical Papers Collection (RG01.0001.003)

Spear, Mrs. William and Basil Waddington. "A Brief History of Oakdale." Unpublished typescript. 7 pp., addenda. Oakdale Sanatorium. Archives, in Historical Papers Collection (RG01.0001.003)

Spear, William. "Early History of State Sanatorium of Iowa." Unpublished typescript, n.d. 2 pp. Oakdale Sanatorium. Archives, in Historical Papers Collection (RG01.0001.003)

Swaim, Ginalie. "Tuberculosis: The White Plague in Iowa." Iowa Heritage Illustrated 86, no. 2 (summer 2005): 72-73, illus. Notes Oakdale Sanatorium.

Walsh, Tom. "Community Health." Iowa Alumni Quarterly 50, no. 1 (spring 1997): 34-37, illus. Oakdale tuberculosis sanitarium.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics