Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Facilities and Grounds Services Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1890-1960
Creator: Facilities and Grounds Services
Extent: 42.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG26.0006.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Blueprints, Box 1.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Guide posted to Internet 2000; updated January 2008.

Preferred Citation: Facilities and Grounds Services Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The administrative records of University Facilities Services are described in the box contents list below, followed by an inventory of campus building plans and drawings. Together, the two series comprise the Records of University Facilities and Grounds. Building plans and drawings are described in numerical order, with some cross-indexing by name of building. The bulk of these building plans were produced from 1910-1950. Following this index is a list of blueprints received from the Facilities Services Group, housed separately in two boxes as noted below.
Campus Buildings and Grounds Vertical Files Collection (RG01.0015.002)

Records of the Campus Planning Committee (RG05.0003.024)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BOOKLETS AND MEMOS
Series 2: ADMINISTRATIVE RECORDS
Series 3: BLUEPRINTS
Series 4: HANGING BUILDING PLANS

  • Series 1: BOOKLETS AND MEMOS
  • Box 1:
  • The Report of Olmsted Brothers Outlining Plans for the Future Arrangement of the Grounds and Buildings of the State University of Iowa - 1905
    2 copies
  • A Proposal for a Pedestrian Oriented Campus, June - 1973
    4 copies
  • “Study of Architectural Barriers at the University of Iowa,” February - 1975
    Pedestrian accessibility study
  • Memo, need for additional custodial service on medical campus, May - 1974
    Including the new Health Sciences Library
  • Series 2: ADMINISTRATIVE RECORDS
  • Box 2:
  • Campus buildings, remodeling and renovation projects
  • Box 3:
  • Campus buildings, remodeling and renovation projects
  • Box 4:
  • Social Science Research
  • Swimming pool
  • Ice rink proposals
  • College of Engineering
  • Speech and Dramatic Art
  • Old Capitol
  • Box 5:
  • Family Practice
  • Addition
  • Oakdale
  • Box 6:
  • Power Plant
  • Supplement
  • Series 3: BLUEPRINTS
  • Box 7:
  • Burge Hall
  • Campus map, and large format film of it, undated
  • Chemistry Building
  • Communications Building
  • Currier Hall
  • Danforth Chapel
  • Dean House
  • English and Philosophy Building
  • Field House, photographs
  • Gilmore Hall
  • Gymnasium and Armory
  • Jessup Hall, drawing of President's doors
  • Law Commons
  • Library Annex roof
  • Little Miller's Bay
  • Melrose Towers , buildings and soil test results
  • Music Building Auditorium
  • Pharmacy Building
  • Phillips Hall
  • Women's dorm, proposed
  • Women's Physical Education
  • Box 8:
  • Arch Bridge
  • Campus map and photos of campus model, undated
  • Campus map of central buildings - 1958
  • Communications/Journalism
  • Dorms, proposed - 1960-1969
  • Law Library, lighting
  • Libraries (all branches), lighting - 1942
  • Library Annex
  • Music Building
  • Physical Plant
  • Sculpture photos, undated
  • Steam Jet Refrigeration unit
  • University Theatre, air conditioning
  • Women's Dorm
  • Series 4: HANGING BUILDING PLANS
  • Box 9:
  • Botany Laboratory, August 2 - 1948
    Architect: UI Buildings & Grounds; Sheets: 2-4 (no #1): Plat plans; 5-10: 1-6, 5 sheets with revised duplicates; 11-13: 1-3 and 3 lab equipment. 2-12 are linen and paper copies, 25x36"
  • Botany Laboratory Greenhouse, September 22 - 1937
    Architect: Lord & Burnham, Des Plaines, Illinois; Construction #: 26062, folio 810; Sheets: 14v3, 15.2, 16, 16B2. Copies on paper 22x32"
  • Chemistry Building, Botany Additions, August 2 - 1948
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds; Sheets: 17-18, 20-34, various sizes, linen and paper
  • Chemistry Building, First Section, October - 1922
    Architect: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson, Bldg. 1465; Sheets: 19-13: 1 to 20 of 30 sheets and 13A in mixed order; 40-58: 101-114 of 114 plus 106 and 109; 59-62: 201-207 of 7; 63-69: 301-328, interior furniture. 19 to 89 on linen 32.5x42"
  • College of Pharmacy Addition and Alternatives, June - 1925
    Architect: Proudfoot, Rawson & Souers - Bldg. 1559; Sheets: 90-106; 101-105 of 5; 201-204 of 4; 1-8 equipment only; 1-11 of 11 building to 117. 90 to 117 on linen 25x36"
  • College of Pharmacy, Equipment
    Architect: ?; Sheets: P1 to P18, hung two per hanger; 118-126; 12x18.5 linen, 2 per hanger
  • Biology Department, Equipment
    Architect: ?; Sheet: B1; 127 on linen 13x19"
  • Chemical Building [never built?]
    Architect: Proudfoot & Bird; Sheets: no numbers; very gothic. Probably first design for addition but not used. 128-135 on linen 17.5x22.5"
  • Chemistry Building [?], October 26 - 1925
    Architect: Proudfoot, Rawson & Souers, Bldg. 1559; Sheets: 101A, alterations and additions. 136 on linen 24x36"
  • Children's Hospital, August 22 - 1917
    Architect: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson, Bldg. 1284; Sheets: 201-206 of 6 sheets; 1-17 of 18 sheets. 136 to 159 on linen 25x41"
  • Children's Hospital Addition, August - 1923
    Architect: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson, UI; Project #151; UI – nd; Sheets: 101-104 of 4; 201-204 of 4; 1-12 of 12; 1-3 of 6; 101 of 6; 201-202 of 6; 1 unnumbered. 160 to 187 on linen 25x41"
  • Currier Hall [sheets labeled as Women's Building] - 1927
    Architect: ?; Sheets: 4 misc. 188 to 190 (with two 189s) on linen
  • Currier Hall, original part [sheets labeled as Women's Building], April - 1912
    Architect: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson; Sheets: 1-14 and no number. 191 to 205, linen on 24x26", 26x26" or 26x31"
  • Currier Hall Addition, March 16 - 1927
    Architect: UI Buildings & Grounds; Sheets: no number (206); 103, 103, 105, 105; 1, 101, 2 - 13 of 13 sheets. 206 to 223 on linen
  • Currier Hall Addition P.W.A., November 9 - 1938
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds; P.W.A. project IA 1458F; Sheets: 1-17 of 17 (sheet 14 on paper); 101-112 of 12; 201-212 of 12. 224-254 on linen 24x35"
  • Dentistry Building (Trowbridge Hall), September - 1915
    Architect: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson, Bldg. 1166; Sheets: 101-107 of 7 + 2 unnumbered sheets added 265 & 256B; 1-17 of 17 + second copy of 14 on paper; 201-208 of 8. 265-296 on linen 26x37" + variants
  • Engineering
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds; Date: various remodelings; Sheets: 372 to 374 on paper
  • Engineering Hall - Original Section, May 1 - 1905
    Architect: Proudfoot & Bird; Sheets: 1-9, 12, 13 [10211 #399 & 400]. 376-386 on linen 14x25"
  • Engineering Hall
    Architect: UI Buildings & Grounds; Date: various remodelings in the 1940s; Sheets: Dean Dawson's office tower, transmitter room and studies for radio station WSUI; 387 to 398 various sizes on paper and linen
  • Engineering – Original, May 1 - 1905
    Architect: Proudfoot and Bird; Sheets: numbered 10 & 11: 10 elevation - alternative design for pressed brick; 11 elevation - alternative design for Bedford stone. 399-400 on linen
  • Engineering Addition - 1905
    Architect: Proudfoot & Bird; Sheets: 1-15 (lacking #13), 101-106; 1 - foundation plan; 2 - subbasement plan; 3 - basement plan; 4 - ground floor plan; 5 - first floor plan; 6 - 2nd floor plan; 7 - roof plan; 8 - North elevation; 9 - South elevation; 10 - West elevation; 11 - longitudinal section; 12 - detail sheet; 14 - columns & beam plan, 1st and 2nd; 15 - columns & beam plan for 2nd and 3rd; 101-105 - basement and each floor framing; 106 - steel beams and columns for roof. 401-320 on linen
  • Engineering Improvement & Additions
    Architect ?; Sheets: intermixed - some originals of old Chemistry (Electrical Lab); Engineering Addition and transmitter house, Mechanical Lab. 421-525
  • Transmittal Buildings, July - 1948
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds; Sheets: site and other plans. 421-424 on various papers, 1 on linen
  • Engineering Addition, August 19 - 1938
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds; Sheets: Plans and sections; 1-4 of 4 sheets. 425-428 on linen 25x36"
  • Transmitter House, October 10 - 1939
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds; Sheets: 1-3 of 3 sheets. 429-431 on linen 24x35"
  • Engineering Building Addition, August 19 - 1928
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds; Sheets: WSUI radio broadcasting area, 101-103, 201-204.432-438 on linen 24.5x35.5"
  • Engineering Group, May 29 - 1940
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds; Sheets: site plans, existing and proposed; WPA project, 439-440 on paper 24x35"
  • Electrical Engineering Building and Engineering Building
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds; Sheets: Old Chemistry and other roofs. 441 on linen, 2 small attached to holder
  • Mechanical Engineering - 1931-1932
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds; Sheets: elevations and interior plans; 442 dated 6-6-31, interior fixtures. 442-462 on paper of various sizes.
  • Chemical Lab (Old Chemistry), East Hall Annex, Electrical Engineering
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds; Date: ? – remodeling; Sheets: 463 - roof truss; 464 - 2 small drawings of interior details; 465-466 - floor plans. 463-466 on paper of various sizes
  • Mechanical Engineering Lab - 1931
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds; [Geo. Horner?]; Sheets: 467-498 various unlabeled, some seem duplicate; 449-515, 1-14, 21-23. 467-515 on paper 22x35" and variations.
  • Chemical Laboratories (destroyed) [East Hall Annex on Electrical Building] - 1890
    Architect: Charles D. Jameson; Sheets no numbers, double sheets, plans and elevations only, no specs. 516-525 on linen 36x46"
  • Seashore Hall (University Hospital and East Hall) - 1913-1940
    Architect: various - Proudfoot, Bird; Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson; UI Buildings and Grounds; Sheets: 1-13, 15 P, B & R Bldg. 1082, July 1913, NW wing and kitchen; 311-312 P, B & R Bldg. 1067, 1914; 313-323 P & B, Extension SE wing of Hospital, 1-11 sheets; 324-342, P, B & R, 1910, sheets 1-16 and others, Extension; 343-348 Heating SW Wing; 349-356 5-15/1929, alterations and additions by Buildings and Grounds; 357-369 various remodeling about 1940s. 297-369 on linen 24x36" and various sizes. See also 371.
  • Hospital (in Seashore Hall)
    #310, 322, 340, 341, 343, 357, 358, 370; Located in Special Collections map drawer 39.
  • Eastlawn (Nurses Home), June - 1914
    Architect: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson Job 1083; Sheets: 107, 101, 201, 202m no number. 360-370 on linen 24x35"
  • Seashore Hall (East Hall), February 28 - 1929
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds; Sheets: proposed future arrangement of Old Hospital (first floor plan). 271 on paper.
  • Football Stadium (Kinnick), February 9, November 25 - 1929, 1940
    Architect (1929): Proudfoot, Rawson, Souers & Thomas; Architect (1940): UI Buildings and Grounds; WPA addition of storage; Sheets 526-533 WPA 1940 addition of storage; 1- 7 of 10 sheets, 1671, 2 sheets numbered 5; 534 seating chart; 535-551, 1-16, 22; 552 grading and site plan. 526 to 552 on linen 25x37"
  • Athletic Field (baseball)
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds; Sheets: 1-2 of 2, plot plan, baseball diamond. 553 to 554.
  • Field House, December 26 - 1933
    Architect: Proudfoot, Rawson & Souers; Includes copies of 1919 originals; Sheets: misc. - pool filter room, field house expansion. See also sheets 580-622. 535 to 564 on linen various sizes.
  • Armory (attached to Field House), December - 1919
    Architect: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson; Sheets: 565, copy of original, 3 hinge arch truss; 1-7 of 7, 201-202 of 2, 101, 102, 102A, 103, 104. 565 to 579 on linen most 25x36"
  • Field House (without Armory) - 1926
    Architect: Proudfoot, Rawson & Souers, project 1586; later remodeling of pool and roof, undated, UI Architect's Office; Sheets 5809-589 - roof and pool remodeling; 1-12 of 132; 590-622, P, R & Souers, April 1926 1, 1A, 1B, 2, 2A, 2B, 3 3B, 4 4B, 5, 5B, 6-15. 101-109 of 9 + 101A, 102A. 560 to 622 on linen 24x34 to 37"
  • Art Building, October 24 - 1933
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds (George Horner); Sheets: 1-15 of 15; 201-207 of 7; 645-647, auditorium; 648&9 - 201-203 of 2 ; 650-660 with 301 of 2; 101-108 of 8, steel framing; 161-164 misc., undated, 663 &664 on paper. 623-664 on linen 24x35"
  • Service Bridge (Union Footbridge), April 3 - 1934
    Architect: UI Buildings & Grounds; Sheets: 655-671, #2, 4, 5, 6, and 3 of no number; 672, 673, on paper, no number. 665 to 673 on linen, some on paper, 24x35"; 665 to 673 linen (and paper), most 24x35".
  • Burlington Street Bridge
    Undated Sheets 674-679, lost - no originals, Burlington St. Bridge.
  • Geology Building Additions (Calvin Hall) - 1928-1935
    Architect UI Buildings & Grounds; Date: 5/10/1935; dug. 1926, 6/7/1929, 6/6/1928, various dates; Sheets: 680 1 of 1; 681 1927;682 no number; 683-685, 101-103 job 7123; 686-695 Bldg. 726, addition to Geology August 1926, 1-10 of ten; 696-699 1-4; 700-728 6/7/1929 job 7123 101, 103A, 104-117, 117A, 118-124, 126x, 127x, 111, 2 no number; 729-741 various numbers, details; 680-741 on paper and linen of varied sizes.
  • Hydraulic Laboratory, July - 1927
    Architect: Proudfoot, Rawson & Sauers, Bldg. 1643; Sheets: 1-4 of 4 (742 to 745); 746-755 (1-10), 756 no number; 742-756 on paper 18x26" and 18x30"
  • Law Building (Gilmore Hall)
    Architect: Proudfoot & Bird, undated; Sheets: 1-15 design; 1H, 2H & no number about heating; 101-105; 17; 781-183 no numbers. 757 to 783 on linen of various sizes.
  • Law Dormitory (Law Commons)
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds (George Horner), undated; Sheets: 784-793, 1-10 of 10; 794-795, 3401-402 dated 3/39/1934; 796-802, 1A-7A, 7 sheets; 803 no number; 84 1 of 1; 805-812, 101-108 of 8; 813 no number small 11" wide; 814-817 on paper, no number dated 7/2/1934. 784 to 817 on linen and a few on paper, 24x35"
  • Men's Gym Addition (Old Armory Annex), July - 1914
    Architect: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson; Bldg. 1093; Sheets 1-8, 201-203. 818-828 on linen.
  • Gymnasium & Armory (Old Armory) - 1904
    Architect: ?; initials "GHE" on drawings; Sheets: 3, 7, 9, 4, 11" wide and length varies; 829 & 830; 831-832 no numbers 15x26"; 833 1D 21x34"; 829-833 on linen.
  • Isolation Hospital (Art Studio Bldg. on Jefferson), January - 1916
    Architect: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson, Bldg. 1187; Sheets: 201-202 of 2; 1-7 of 7; 834 to 842 on linen 24.4x35"
  • Classroom Annex (Rehearsal Bldg. on Gilbert), February 12 - 1932
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds; Sheets: 1-9. 843-851 on paper 31x19.5"
  • Natural Sciences (Macbride Hall)
    Architect: Proudfoot & Bird, undated; Sheets 1-4, 4a, 5-10 (852-862); 863 facade details; 864-867 details of millwork interior; 868 details entrance portico. See also 871-889 for remainder of drawings and 1135-1137. 852 to 868 on line 23x33.5"
  • Collegiate Building (Schaeffer Hall)
    Architect: Proudfoot & Bird, undated; Sheets: 9, 11 north & south facades, sections. 869-870 on linen 15x35". See also 1110-1134.
  • Natural Sciences (Macbride Hall)
    Architect: Proudfoot & Bird; UI Buildings and Grounds, undated; Sheets: H1-H9, 101-106; 1-2 of 2 4/2/1937 alterations; 888-889 foundation, plumbing and heating. 871-888 on linen 21x32.5" or smaller. See also 852-868 for design drawings, 1135-1137.
  • Nurse's Home (Westlawn) - 1917, 1919, 1927
    Architect: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson (1917, 1919); Proudfoot, Rawson and Souers (1927); UI Buildings and Grounds; Sheets: 890-903 - 1927: 1-8 of 8, 201-204 of 4, 101-102 of 2; 904 site plan; 905-907 1927 PR & S addition, 9-11; 908-920: PB & R 1919, 109 of 9, 101-104 of 4; 921-922 1-2 of 2; 923-925 PB & R 201-203 of 2; 926-936 newer addition 2-12 of 12. 890 to 926 on linen 24x35" and 33.5x55"
  • Old Capitol [restoration], February-May - 1921-1940
    Architect: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson #1466; Sheets: restoration of Old Capitol; west approach construction. 937-941 general plans; 942-948, 1-4 lacking 2; 949-958 on paper, fragile, details of dome and cupola; [959-961 missing]; 962-971 West approach, 1925-1926; 972-973 Buildings and grounds restoration 5/30/1940. 937 to 973 linen and paper 24x36"
  • Physics Building (MacLean Hall)
    Architect: Proudfoot & Bird, undated; Sheets: 974-990, 1-5, 17; 991-996, H3, H3, H4-H7 heating; 997-1001, 54-57, 59 structural; 1002-1016, 1-15 of 15 furniture; 1017-1021, 1-5 of 5 repairs and improvements. 1017-1021 date to 1936 UI Buildings and Grounds, 24x36". 974 to 1021 on linen 17x34.5" and 24x36"
  • President's House
    Architect: Proudfoot & Bird, undated; Sheets: 1-10 of 10 plans, elevations, one section, site plan. 1022 to 1032 on linen 21x31"
  • Recitation Building (Jessup Hall), June - 1923
    Architect: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson, Bldg. 1512; Sheets: 1033-1047, 1-15 of 15 plans, elevation and sections, details; 1048-1052, 201-205 of 5 mechanical; 1053-1059, 101-107 of 7 structural; 1060-1066 miscellaneous details. 1033 to 1066 on linen 24x36"
  • North Hall (Elementary and High School), June-September - 1924
    Architect: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson, #1538; Sheets: 1067-1082, 1-16 of 16 site plan, plans, elevations, sections and details; 1083-1096, 101-114 of 14 framing, joist and beam schedules, plans and sections; 1097 (201) sub-basement and foundation, symbols and identification table; 1098 (202) basement; 1099 (203) 1st floor, electric feeder diagram; 1100 (204) 2nd floor; 1101 (205) 3rd floor; 1102 (206) 4th floor; 1103 (207) attic plan, riser diagram; 1104 (100) footing and sub-basement, North and West elevations showing ground level and basement footings; 1105 (100A) basement floor framing, basement floor beam and joist schedules; 1106 (100B) section through stair #1, column schedule for sub-basement story; 1107 (dated 9-27-1934), 4th floor addition; 1108 (2 sheets, 12x22.5" and 12x24.5") gymnasium floor markings, sidewalk and steps on North side of Davenport street; 1109 (UI Buildings and Grounds, 7-31-1939) offices and roof decks, elevations and plans. 1067 to 1109 on linen 24x36" and other sizes.
  • Schaeffer Hall Architect: Proudfoot & Bird
    Undated; Sheets: 1110, foundation and basement wall below grade, 1/8" = 1'; 1111 basement plan; 1112 1st floor; 1113 2nd floor; 1114 3rd floor; 1115 half plan of roof framing, 3rd floor columns; 1116 front (East) elevation; 1117 rear (West) elevation; 1118 section AA (through length); 1119 drains, steam mains and water pipes; 1120 basement floor beams and sub-basement columns; 1121 1st story floor beams and basement columns; 1122 2nd story floor beams and first story columns; 1123 3rd floor beam plan and 2nd floor columns; 1124 ironwork details, trusses, schedule for cast base for columns; 1125 foundation and basement wall below grade; 1126 basement above grade, elevations of basement; 1127 stair details; 1128 basement plans, radiation; 1129 1st floor plan; 1130 2nd floor plan; 1131 3rd floor plan; 1132 attic floor plan; 1133-1134 (UI Buildings and Grounds) additions and alterations to Liberal Arts Bldg., electrical and ventilation. 1110 to 1134 on linen, various sizes.
  • Collegiate Building
    See also 869-870
  • Macbride Hall, August 14 - 1935
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds; Sheets: 1135 general library extension; 1136 stack addition University Library; 1137 10/19/1937 general Library stack extension. 1135 to 1137 on linen. See also 852-868 and 871-889.
  • South Quadrangle (United States Naval Aviation Pre-Flight School), April 23-28 - 1942
    Architect: UI Architect's Office; Sheets: 1138 plat plan; 1139 basement, door and room schedule, details; 1140 1st floor, elevation details; 1141 2nd floor, stair, elevation, details; 1142 South elevation, roof plan, section; 1143 East, North, West elevations, ½ scale details of elevations; 1144 1st and 2nd floor electrical and heating; 1145 heating system; 1146 (7/17/1942 sidewalk and paving details, plat plan. 1138 to 1146 on linen, various sizes.
  • South Quadrangle, May 6 - 1947
    Architect: UI Physical Plant Division of Planning & Construction; Sheets: 1147 alterations, 1st floor plan - new work; 1148 2nd floor plan - new work; 1149 alterations, basement; 1150 alterations 1st floor, plumbing, heating and ventilation; 1151 alterations 2nd floor, plumbing, heating and ventilation; 1152 alterations 1st floor electrical; 1153 alterations 2nd floor electrical. 1147 to 1153 on paper.
  • University Theatre, September 19 - 1934
    Architect: UI Buildings and Grounds, some reissued 7/1941; Sheets: 1154 plat plan; 1155 ground floor, toilet details; 1156 arch plans, 1st floor plan, entrance level, East elevation details; 1157 auditorium floor plan, construction details; 1158 roof plans; 1159 South and North elevations, alternate North elevation of stage wing; 1160 East elevation, exit light and entrance doors detail; 1161 West elevations, sections; 1162 sections, ventilation details; 1163 sections of stair corridor, lounge and foyer; 1164 door, opening and room schedules; 1165 (101) footing plan; 1166 (102) framing plans of girderless ribbed slabs, auditorium floor framing, schedule of bands and bars, schedules of shear panel stirrups; 1167 (103) girderless ribbed slabs, stage floor framing, schedule of bands, ribs and bars; 1168 (104) girderless ribbed slabs, stage storage room, stair landing, schedule of bands, ribs and bars; 1169 (105) girderless ribbed slabs, schedule of reinforced concrete columns, stage shop floor; 1170 (106) girderless ribbed slabs; 1171 (107) bar list; 1172 (108) auditorium floor framing; 1173 (109) framing plans for auditorium floor joist, beam, bar and solid slabs schedules; 1174 (110) Part elevation and section pile schedule, detail of concrete support from for revolving stage; 1175 (111) framing plans for main truss, revolving stage framing; 1176 (112) detail of revolving stage, driver and brake, revolving stage catch; 1177 (113) framing plans; 1178 (114) steel framing plans; 1179 (201) mechanical plans; 1180 (202) mechanical plans details; 1181 (203) mechanical table of symbols; 1182 (204) mechanical floor plans; 1183 (205) mechanical switch schedule for stage manager's panel; 1184 (206) mechanical stage and auditorium outlet schedule; 1185 (201A) 3/2/1935 revised plumbing layout; 1186(301) 2/2/1935 revised footing plan showing column and piling spacing and revised pile schedule; 1187 2/3/1937 special wheels of thrust rollers for revolving stage; 1188-1192 (1T, 3-6T) 12/14/1938 air conditioning system; 1193 (201) 7/16/1941 mechanical plans. 1154 to 1193 on linen and paper, various sizes.
  • Barracks (Quadrangle), October - 1918
    Architect: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson, Bldg. 1322; Sheets: 1194 (1 of 11, etc.) plat plan; 1195 foundation plan; 1196 1st floor; 1197 2nd floor; 1198 1/16" elevations; 1199 West entrance details (sections and plans); 1200 West entrance tower elevation and details, 3rd floor plan. Section through tower, ½ roof plan; 1201 East entrance details, ½ 1st and 2nd floor plans; 1202 South entrance details; 1203 East elevations, section on central line (front part only); 1204 exterior typical bay and buttress, elevations, corner elevation; 1205 floor framing, joist and beam schedule; 1206 (202 of 2) alteration to Barracks, 1st floor plan; 1207 (202 of 2) mechanical details. 1194 to 1207 small drawings.
  • Men's Dormitory (Quadrangle), June - 1919
    Architect: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson, Bldg. 1340; Sheets: 1208 (1 of 3) alterations to Barracks, 1st floor, basement kitchen, elevation of kitchen area exterior; 1209 (of 3) 2nd floor plan; 1210 (3 of 3) corner room plan, details; 1211 (201 of 3) basement; 1212 (203 of 3) 2nd floor. 1208 to 1212 small drawings.
  • Men's Dormitory (Quadrangle), May - 1925
    Architect: Proudfoot, Rawson & Souers, Bldg. 1564; Sheets: alterations and additions,1213 (1 of 9 etc.) foundation, footing details; 1214 1st floor, room schedule, small detail elevations; 1215 2nd floor, door and room schedules; 1216 3rd floor, room schedule; 1217 tower details; 1218 joist schedule, toilet and shower room plan and elevation, double and single rooms; 1219 elevations, basement and cafeteria windows details; 1220 exterior tower details; 1221 exterior details, interior doors; 1222 (9A) lounge plan, paneling details; 1223 (201 of 4 etc.) foundation; 1224 1st floor, heating and plumbing symbols; 1225 2nd floor; 1226 3rd floor; 1227 room paneling of soda grill room, entrance lobby plan; 1228 (2 of 3) improvements details, stairs and doors; 1229 (3 of 3) improvements, plan and sections, basement stairs, wall paneling; 1230 (UI Buildings & Grounds) roof plan; 1231 (12/15/1933, 3 of 3, file Q) improvement details, North entrance, stair details; 1232 (3 of 3, file Q) mechanical improvements, plumbing, heating and electrical layouts. 1212 to 1232 small drawings.
  • Biology Building (Old Zoology)
    Architect: Proudfoot & Bird, undated; Sheets: 1233 - 2 foundation plan, 3 - 1st floor; 4 - 2nd floor; 1234 - 5 3rd floor; 6 - attic, trusses detail, 7 - roof; 1235 8 - North elevation, 9 - East & West elevations, 10 - South elevation; 1236 - 11 sections AB & CD, section on line EF, 1st story floor beams; 1238 - 17 roof supports, 18 - alternative drawing for South elevation, 23 - alternative drawing for North elevation; 1235 [i.e., 1239] - 50 foundation showing heating, 51 - 1st floor, 53 - 2nd floor; 1240 - 53 - 3rd floor heating, 54 - attic plan showing steam mains and vent ducts, 55 - riser diagram; 1241 - 101 1st floor showing plumbing, furniture and fixtures, 100 foundation plan showing drainage and water pipes, 56 - fan and heater details; 1242 102 - 2nd floor plumbing, furniture and fixtures, 103 - 3rd floor plumbing, furniture and fixtures; 1243 (6/1927) 1 - 1st floor alterations, 3 - 3rd floor, 4 - 4th floor. 1233 to 1243 small oblong drawings in groups of three.
  • Biology Building (Zoology Building - Medical Laboratory), May - 1913
    Architect: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson, Bldg. 1016; Sheets: 1244 reconstruction of Medical Laboratory roof . 1244 small sheet drawing.
  • Biology Building (Zoology Building), July 25 - 1941
    Architect: UI Buildings & Grounds, Bldg. 5341; Sheets: 1245 ventilating lecture rooms. 1245 small sheet drawing.
  • Biology Annex (Anatomy Building)
    Architect: Proudfoot & Bird, undated; Sheets: 1246 2- foundation, 3 - 1st floor, 4 - 2nd floor, 4 - 2nd floor second sheet, 5 - 3rd floor, 6 - attic; 1247 7 - roof, 8 - south elevation (original design), 9 - West elevation, 10 - North elevation, 11 - East elevation, 12 - section on AB; 1248 13 - section, 14 - 1st floor beams, 15 - 2nd floor beams, 16 - floor beams room 202, 17 - 3rd floor beams, 18 - 3rd story ceiling; 1249 19 - roof support, 20 trusses detail, 27 - south elevation revised, pilasters added, 57 - basement heating, 58 - 1st floor heating, 59 - 2nd floor heating. 1246 to 1249 small drawings in groups of six.
  • Medical Laboratories, January - 1925
    Architect: Proudfoot, Rawson & Souers; C.G. Parnall, MD, medical consultant, Bldg. 1550; Sheets: 1251 (1 of 17 etc.) ground floor, door schedule; 1252 1st floor, door schedule; 1253 2nd floor, door schedule; 1254 3rd floor, door schedule, 1255 4th floor, door schedule; 1256 roof plan; 1257 East and West elevations; 1258 North and South elevations; 1259 sections, window schedule and details showing lecture rooms and amphitheater; 1260 exterior details front entrance; 1261 ½" scale details stair towers, vestibules, etc.; 1262 general lecture amphitheater; 1263 anatomy amphitheaters, room 35 and 263, one above the other each 2 floors); 1264 autopsy amphitheater; 1265 stair schedules; 1266 details toilets, skylights, etc.; 1267 details of doors, windows, etc.; 1268 18 revised 8/19/1925 miscellaneous details; 1269 (20 7/1925) ground floor plan showing the new location of partitions caused by chamfering of columns; 1270 (21) 1st floor plan as preceding; 1271 (22) 2nd floor plan as preceding; 1272 (23) 3rd floor as preceding; 1273 (24) 4th floor as preceding; 1274 (25) typical window details; 1275 26 (8/1925) main entrance vestibule details; 1276 (27) main entrance details, plan, elevation and section; 1277 (28 10/6/1925 and 4/17/1926) detail area North of machine shop, blackboard trim and chalk rail; 1278 (29 11/5/1925 and 1/15/1926) typical ventilation and skylight curb, detail metal flashing; 1279 (30 2/17/1926) revised elevator layout; 1280 (101 of 11) footing plan; 1281 (101A 1/1925) revised footing plan marked "void"; 1282 (102) footing details, column footing schedule; 1282(1023) column schedule and details; 1284 (104) 1st floor framing; 1285 (105) 2nd floor framing; 1286 (106) 3rd floor framing; 1287 (107) 4th floor and roof framing; 1288 (108) roof framing; 1289 (109) lecture room details and girders; 1290 (110) joist schedule; 1291 (111) beam schedule; 1292 (201) foundation plan; 1293 (202) ground floor; 1294 (203) 1st floor showing 3 halls (autopsy, general lecture, anatomy); 1295 (204) 2nd floor; 1296 (205) 3rd floor; 1297 (206) 4th floor; 1298 (207) riser diagram; 1299 (10/3/1925 1 of 5) ground floor (lower lecture halls); 1300 (2 of 5) 1st floor (upper lecture halls, 2 story; with 2 floor hall above as well); 1201 (3 of 5) 2nd floor (lower lecture halls); 1302 3rd floor (2 lecture rooms, one horseshoe amphitheater); 1303 (5 of 5) 4th floor; 1304 (1/1925 sheet A) footings, revised elevations; 1305 (5/1925 sheet 7-A) revised elevations and column schedule. 1251 to 1305 are double and single sheet drawings.
  • Women's Gymnasium, September - 1914
    Architect: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson, Bldg. 1108; Sheets: 1 - footing plan and sections, section vestibule steps, west entrance, swimming pool details; 2 - basement, 1st floor, door and lintel schedules; 3 - 2nd and 3rd floors; 4 - North, West and South elevations; 5 - East elevation, sections A-A and B-B; 6 - details of exteriors (doors, windows, brickwork); 7 - interior details; 8 - interior details, stairs, floors, corridor and vestibule, trusses; 201 (11/30/1914) footing plan, detail heating connections to swimming pool, exhaust room plan and section; 202 basement, 1st floor; 203 2nd and 3rd floors. All drawings.
  • Topographical Map - Folsom Tract
    Architect: [Proudfoot?], undated; Sheets: 1306 contour map with road and buildings marked out, Psychopathic Hospital, Children's Hospital and two houses. Double sheet drawing.
  • Psychopathic Hospital, October - 1919
    Architect: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson, Bldg. 1372; Sheets: 1307 (1 of 9) footing and structural details; 1308 basement, all wings; 1309 1st floor, central west wing; 1310 2nd floor, central wing; 1311 detail porch windows, roof plan central wing, interior details; 1312 elevations of all sides; 1313 exterior details for main entrance, east and west wings; 1314 exterior elevation details; 1315 interior details; 1316 structural details; 1317 (101 of 3) 1st floor framing, west wing details; 1318 roof framing of east and west wings, floor and framing plan central wing; 1319 roof framing; 1320 basement mechanical; 1321 1st floor mechanical; 1322 plat plan, 2nd floor mechanical; 1323 (10/1933) additions to Psychopathic Hospital, floor plans and details; 1324 (10/28/1933) addition section and details; 1325 (10/16/1933) new roof layout; 1326 (5/5/19334) main office alterations. 1307 to 1326 single and double sheet drawings.
  • General Hospital, March 30 - 1926
    Architect: Proudfoot, Rawson & Souers, Bldg. 1585; Date: approved by Building Committee, 3/30/1926; Sheets: 1328 footing plan, column and footing schedule; 1329 basement; 1330 1st floor, center section, room schedule; 1331 1st floor east and west sections, room schedule; 1332 2nd floor center section, room schedule; 1333 2nd floor east and west sections, room schedules; 1334 3rd floor center section, room schedule; 1335 3rd floor east and west sections, room schedule; 1336 4th floor center section, room schedule; 1337 4th floor east and west sections, room schedules; 1338 5th floor central section, room schedule; 1339 roof plan west and east sections, penthouse and room schedule; 1340 6th floor central section; 1341 7th floor center section, room schedule; 1342 details, tower roof, center section (upper amphitheater); 1343 over-all elevations; 1344 elevations: south, side wards, light courts, window schedule; 1345 elevations: center court and wings, plan, east and west courts; 1346 sections; 1347 tower details, ambulance entrance; 1348 tower details; [1349?] exterior details: ward wings ends and sides, operating room bay; 1350 exterior details, entrances and windows; 1351 exterior wing details: stairs, entrance and end elevation to 4-story wing; 1352 miscellaneous details: expansion joints, sky lights, walk, etc.; 1353 miscellaneous details: sound proof room, toilets, etc.; 1354 miscellaneous details: doors, windows, waiting room in Tower; 1355 stair details; 1356 details of lecture room #32; 1357 miscellaneous details: elevations, doors and windows, showers, etc.; 1358 (8/1926) d wing? "a building for General Hospital" marked void; 1359 (11-8-1926) revisions in basement; 1360 east wing revisions; 1361 revised 2nd floor framing, revised tunnel and footing plan; 1362 revised 1st floor, center section; 1363 revised roof plan, center section; 1364 board walks in attic, revised galvanometer room, revised part of south rear elevation; 1365 penthouse details, constructions details; 1366 (May 1927) revision of floors; 1367 (8-24-1927) kitchen details; 1368 6th floor layout, details on other floors; 1369 room details, revisions and alterations; 1370 (10/31/1927) x ray department revisions; 1371 (11/10/1927) closet detail, 3rd, 4th, 5th floor center sections; 1372 dumbwaiter detail, revised floor services rooms; 1373 communication system to Children's Hospital (tubes?); 1374 tube system?; 1375 (2-13-1928) 1st floor center; 1376 (2/14/1928) 1st floor center section and east wing; 1377 (3/30/1926) 1st floor framing, sections A, C, and D, typical details and schedules; 1378 2nd floor framing, sections A, B, C; 1379 2nd floor framing, section D; 1380 3rd floor framing, sections A, B, and C; 1381 3rd floor framing, section D; 1382 4th floor framing, sections A, B and C, beam and spandrel schedule; 1383 4th floor framing, section D; 1384 5th floor framing, sections A, B and C; 1385 5th floor (roof) framing, section D; 1386 6th floor framing, sections A, B & C; 1387 7th floor framing, sections A and B; 1388 8th floor framing, sections A and B; 1389 framing and details to Tower, amphitheater; 1390 7th floor plan, details of girders and struts, concrete joists; 1391 column schedules; 1392 basement center plumbing; 1393 basement wings plumbing; 1394 basement wings center heating and electrical; 1395 basement wings heating and electrical; 1396 1st floor center mechanical; 1397 1st floor wings mechanical; 1398 2nd floor center mechanical; 1399 2nd floor wings mechanical; 1400 3rd floor center mechanical; 1401 3rd floor wings mechanical; 1402 4th floor center mechanical; 1403 4th floor wings; 1404 5th floor center; 1405 6th floor center; 1406 7th floor center, amphitheater at 8th floor level; 1407 (revised 12/13/1926) riser diagram; 1408 (revised 2/5/1927) revised tunnel plan, heating, electrical and plumbing; 1409 (revised 12/5/1927) kitchen layout; 1410 (2/10/1927) framing revisions, 7th and 8th floors over elevators; 1411 1st floor; 1412 elevator layout; 1413 ambulance entrances and marquee, elevation, section, plan, steel framing. 1328 to 1413 double and single sheets.
  • Men's Dormitory – Hillcrest, October 2 - 1937
    Architect: Seth J. Temple, Davenport; B.E. Landes, Mechanical Engineer, R.C. Sandberg, Structural Engineer; Sheets: 1414 basement story plan, wall sections, plat plan; 1415 1st story sections; 1416 2nd and 3rd stories; 1417 4th story and roof; 1418 elevations from east, south, front, north, west, NW and SE sections; 1419 sections and elevations south, west, two corners; 1420 entrance sections, elevations and sections; 1421 wall sections and exterior details; 1422 lobby details; 1423 lounge details; 1424 dining room and kitchen details; 1425 stair details and room schedules; 1426 room (toilet details); 1427 door and window details; 1428 (3/25/1938) kitchen and dining room, store room refrigerator, detail of canopy over stove; 1429 plans, details and sections of dining room interiors, counters and walls; 1430 (10/4/1937) basement and piping plan, detail of equipment room piping connections; 1431 1st floor radiators, riser diagram, radiator connections schedule; 1432 (10/4/1937) 2nd, 3rd and 4th floor radiators, elevation of fan, penthouse fan section; 1433 basement plumbing, equipment room, detail of garbage can sterilizer; 1434 (10/6/1937) 1st story plumbing, toilet and shower room, typical lavatory connection; 1435 2nd story plumbing, toilet and shower room; 1436 3rd and 4th floor plumbing, toilet and shower room; 1437 (10/8/1937) basement electrical; 1438 1st floor electrical, lighting, wiring diagram, power wiring diagram; 1439 2nd floor electrical, telephone conduit diagram; 1440 3rd and 4th floor electrical; 1441 (10/11/1937) foundation plan and schedules; 1442 master sheet, details for girderless ribbed slab, structural details for reinforcing steel, tile and plastered construction. 1414 to 1442 are prints.
  • Hillcrest Dormitory Addition, October 15 - 1938
    Architect: Seth J. Temple; P.W.A. Project No. Iowa 1457-F; R.C. Sandberg, Structural Engineer; B.E. Landes, engineer; Sheets: 1443 1st floor and basement plans, room and door schedules; 1444 (10/25/1938) 2nd and 3rd floor, room and door schedules; 1445 4th and 5th floor, details, roof, room and door schedules; 1446 elevations 4; 1447 sections and details; 1448 main entrance details, east entrance plan and elevation, window sections; 1449 lobby and lounge details; 1450 toilet room details; 1451 interior details; 1452 foundation plan, column, lentils and footing schedules; 1453 (10/28/1938) 1st floor framing, girderless ribbed slab schedule; 1454 2nd floor framing, schedule for girderless ribbed slab; 1455 4th and 5th floor framing, girderless ribbed slab schedule; 1456 5th floor and roof framing, rib bands and bars schedule; 1457 structural details; 1458 basement and 1st floor; 1459 2nd and 3rd floor; 1460 4th and 5th floor; 1461 basement and 1st floor plumbing; 1462 (10/31/1938) 2nd and 3rd plumbing; 1463 4th and 5th floor plumbing; 1464 basement and 1st floor electrical; 1465 2nd and 3rd floor electrical; 1466 4 and 5th floor electrical; 1467 termination of new North-South wing plans and sections. 1443 to 1467 mostly prints.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Administrative Services