Guide to the Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1970-
Creator: Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity (1974-1994)
Extent: 6.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG26.0005.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Administrative Information

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives at various times. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007 and updated December 2009. Collection processed by Brian Oleson.

Preferred Citation: Offioce of Equal Opportunity and Diversity Record, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Biographical Note

"In 1965, the federal government adopted Executive Order 11246, which ensured nondiscrimination against certain groups of individuals in the implementation of federal contracts. Consequently, all universities and colleges across the United States that received any type of financial support from the federal government had to comply with this new law. Executive Order 11246 was particularly concerned with protecting the equality and rights of those with disabilities, minorities, and women.

In response, the University of Iowa established the Office of Affirmative Action in 1972. The Office encouraged the hiring of members of these aforementioned groups for the sake of diversity and compliance with the executive order.

In 1985, the University of Iowa's Human Rights Policy was passed which prohibited discrimination against bisexuals, gays, transgendered individuals, and lesbians. Records in this collection reflect the University's response to enactment of this policy.Renamed the Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity in 2003, its obligations have expanded to include protecting the rights of those subjected to sexual assault or harassment.


Content Description

The records of the University of Iowa Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity (former the Office of Affirmative Action) are comprised of brochures, conference materials, correspondence, federal guidelines, magazine and newspaper clippings, official university assessments and reports, pamphlets, and training guides.The collection is divided into two subcategories: Records pertaining to LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) issues, and records concerning African Americans, women and other groups.

Related Materials

Organizations and Clubs Vertical Files, Afro-American Student Association folder (RG01.0015.004)

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
University of Iowa Office of Affirmative Action

Topics:
Affirmative action programs
Discrimination in employment
Minorities
Statistics

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Iowa City

Genre/Form of Materials:
Periodicals

Browse:
University of Iowa Administrative Services
University of Iowa Administration