Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1970-
Creator: Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity (1974-1994)
Extent: 6.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG26.0005.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives at various times. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007 and updated December 2009. Collection processed by Brian Oleson.

Preferred Citation: Offioce of Equal Opportunity and Diversity Record, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

"In 1965, the federal government adopted Executive Order 11246, which ensured nondiscrimination against certain groups of individuals in the implementation of federal contracts. Consequently, all universities and colleges across the United States that received any type of financial support from the federal government had to comply with this new law. Executive Order 11246 was particularly concerned with protecting the equality and rights of those with disabilities, minorities, and women.

In response, the University of Iowa established the Office of Affirmative Action in 1972. The Office encouraged the hiring of members of these aforementioned groups for the sake of diversity and compliance with the executive order.

In 1985, the University of Iowa's Human Rights Policy was passed which prohibited discrimination against bisexuals, gays, transgendered individuals, and lesbians. Records in this collection reflect the University's response to enactment of this policy.Renamed the Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity in 2003, its obligations have expanded to include protecting the rights of those subjected to sexual assault or harassment.

The records of the University of Iowa Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity (former the Office of Affirmative Action) are comprised of brochures, conference materials, correspondence, federal guidelines, magazine and newspaper clippings, official university assessments and reports, pamphlets, and training guides.The collection is divided into two subcategories: Records pertaining to LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) issues, and records concerning African Americans, women and other groups.
Organizations and Clubs Vertical Files, Afro-American Student Association folder (RG01.0015.004)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Anti-LGBT [Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender] Groups/Materials - 1995
  • Assault on Gay America: Campus Outreach Kit/GLSEN Materials - 2000-2002
  • Boy Scouts of America Anti-Gay Controversy - 2000-2001
  • External LGBT Conferences / Groups - 1994-1999
  • GLBTQ [Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Questioning] Youth Services Committee - 1998-2000
  • LGBT Educational Courses / Seminars - 1993-2000
  • LGBT General Correspondence - 1991-2003
  • LGBT History and Issues at the University of Iowa - 1990-1996
  • LGBT Literature - 1988-2001
  • LGBT Magazine / Newspaper Articles - 1991-1998
  • LGBT Miscellaneous - 1992-1997
  • LGBT Public Materials - 1992-2003
  • LGBT Referral Line - 1996-2000
  • Box 2:
  • LGBT and Supportive Religious Organizations - Undated
  • LGBT University Surveys About Homophobia - 1991-1993
  • Matthew Shepard Scholarship / Rainbow Scholarship - 2000-2003
  • Office of Affirmative Action Self-Evaluation of LGBT Activities - 1997-1999
  • Other LGBT Graduation Ceremonies / Scholarships - 1998-2001
  • Other Safe Zone Programs - 1997-1999
  • Rainbow Graduation Materials - 1999-2004
  • Rainbow Project Recommendations / Reports - 1996
  • Rainbow Project Recommendations / Reports - 1996-1999
  • Rainbow Project Task Force Correspondence - 1996-1998
  • Box 3:
  • Rainbow Project Task Force Minutes - 1996
  • Safe Zone Correspondence / Notes - 1998-2003
  • Safe Zone Evaluation / Response Forms - 1998-2003
  • Safe Zone Guides / Materials - 1998-2000
  • Safe Zone Powerpoint / Slide Presentations - Undated
  • Safe Zone Training Participant Contact Information - 1998-2001
  • Same-Sex Domestic Partners Benefits / Surveys - 1992-1997
  • Same-Sex Domestic Partners Benefits / Surveys - 1998-2000
  • Box 4:
  • Same-Sex Parents - 1995
  • Ten Percent Handbook - 1992
  • Understanding Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Issues: An Introductory Workshop - 1993
  • Box 5:
  • Ad Hoc Review Committee of the Women’s Resource and Action Center - 1986-1996
  • Affirmative Action and Diversity in Skilled Trades - 1995-1998
  • Affirmative Action and Diversity in Skilled Trades Task Force - 1992-1998
  • Affirmative Action General Correspondence - 1991-2003
  • Affirmative Action Magazine / Newspaper Articles - 1972-2002
  • Affirmative Action Miscellaneous - 1970-2003
  • Affirmative Action Recruitment Manuals - 1972-1986
  • Box 6:
  • Affirmative Action Task Force Correspondence / Minutes - 1972-1974
  • Annual Affirmative Action Plan and Report of Activity - 1972-1976
  • Annual Affirmative Action Plan and Report of Activity - 1978-1979
  • Annual Affirmative Action Plan and Report of Activity - 1981-1982
  • Annual Affirmative Action Plan and Report of Activity - 1983-1984
  • Box 7:
  • Annual Affirmative Action Plan and Report of Activity - 1986-1988
  • Annual Affirmative Action Plan and Report of Activity - 1988-1991
  • Annual Affirmative Action Plan and Report of Activity - 1991-1994
  • Annual Affirmative Action Plan and Report of Activity - 1994-2001
  • Box 8:
  • Annual Affirmative Action Plan and Report of Activity - 2002-2006
  • Annual Affirmative Action Plan and Report of Activity - 2006-2009
  • Annual Affirmative Action Plan and Report of Activity - 2010
  • Box 9:
  • Annual Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action Workforce Reports - 1970-1972
  • Annual Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action Workforce Reports - 1972
    2 folders
  • Annual Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action Workforce Reports - 1972-1975
  • Box 10:
  • Annual Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action Workforce Reports - 1976-1978
  • Annual Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action Workforce Reports - 1980-1981
  • Annual Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action Workforce Reports - 1999-2003
  • Annual Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action Workforce Reports - 2003-2009
  • Box 11:
  • Catalyst Awards - 2002-2008
  • City of Iowa City Equal Employment Opportunity Policy and Affirmative Action Program - 1972
  • Diversity / Racial Awareness Materials - 1987-2001
  • External Programs Concerning Diversity - 1998-2003
  • Faculty / Staff Educational Programs - 1994-1998
  • Faculty / Staff Educational Programs - 1998-2002
  • Box 12:
  • Female Empowerment and Equality in the Job Market - 1971-2002
  • Louis Calabro - 1999-2000
  • Minority Correspondence / Materials - 2000-2002
  • Multicultural Medicine Task Force - 1997-1999
  • Pierre Pierce Case - 2002-2003
  • Racial Profiling - 2002
  • Sexual Harassment Correspondence / Materials - 1983-2002
  • Students with Disabilities Correspondence / Materials - 1995-2002
  • Timothy Jacob Wise Biography / Information - 1995-2003
  • Box 13:
  • U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare Higher Education Guidelines - 1972-1973
  • White Privilege Conferences - 2001-2002