Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Residence Services Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1913-
Creator: Residence Services
Extent: 6.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG26.0004.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 4

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives at various times.

Preferred Citation: Residence Services Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The office of University Housing oversees all University-administered residential services for students. Until June 2006 it was known as Residence Services.

University of Iowa Student Government Records (RG02.0007.001)

Organizations and Clubs Vertical Files (RG01.0015.004)

University News Service Recrods (RG23.0005.001), Box 97, 1971-1987

The Villager newsletter, in University Serials and Jornals Collection

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GUIDES
Series 2: PAMPHLETS
Series 3: CLIPPINGS
Series 4: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GUIDES
  • Box 1:
  • Insight, Vol. 1 - 1979
  • Synergist, Vol. 2 - 1979-1980
  • Guidebook - 1920-2013
    48 folders
  • Series 2: PAMPHLETS
  • Box 2:
  • Burge Hall - 1957-1965
    Includes memos, floor plans, waitress manual
  • Currier Hall - 1913-1927
  • Hillcrest - 1959-1968
    Includes applications
  • Law Commons - 1934-1950
    Includes University of Iowa News Bulletin, clippings
  • Quadrangle - 1932-1969
    Includes bulletins, newsletters, report, floor plan, applications, correspondence
  • Rienow - 1970-1971
  • Westlawn - 1958-1966
  • Dormitories for men - 1940
  • Dormitories for women - 1965-1966
    Student employee handbook
  • Box 3:
  • Living at Iowa - 1949, 1956, 1966, 1967
  • Student Residences at Iowa, March 4 - 1939
    Includes cooperative dorms
  • Pamphlets - 1942, 1954
  • Pamphlets, some undated - 1955-1963
  • Clinton Street Residence Halls - 1961-1969
    Burge, Currier, Daum, Stanley
  • Grand Avenue Residence Halls - 1967-1968
    Rienow, Quadrangle
  • Housing regulations booklets - 1931-1940
  • Series 3: CLIPPINGS
  • Box 3:
  • Clippings - 1934-1968
    Includes Quadrangle, Law Commons, Westlawn
  • Clippings - 1934-1949
    Includes cooperative dorms, Currier, Eastlawn, Hillcrest, Law Commons, Quadrangle
  • Currier Hall - 1944
    Regarding the 1908 Women's Building Rally
  • Daum - 1964
  • Hillcrest - 1955
  • Quadrangle - 1965-1968, 1984
  • Married student housing - 1946-1949
  • Clippings - 1964, 1967-1968
  • Clippings - 1968-1971
  • Series 4: GENERAL
  • Box 4:
  • Photographs, Currier Hall and Quadrangle
    2 folders
  • Cooperative dormitories
    Includes University of Iowa News Bulletin with published photographs
  • Cooperative dormitories, correspondence - 1935-1939
  • Married student housing, general - 1956-1965
  • Married student housing, pamphlets - 1948-1968
  • SUI Staff Magazine, April - 1960
    Article, "SUI Dormitory System," pages 2-12, includes photographs
  • Des Moines Sunday Resgister Picture Magazine, April 9 - 1967
    Article on SUI Dining
  • Correspondence and statistics on room rates - 1931-1936, 1949-1950
  • Notebook of purchases compiled by William Horatio Bates, SUI Secretary
  • Various early documents - 1919-1949
    Includes Graduate Dorms, 1944
  • General records - 2 folders
  • Box 5:
  • Associated Residence Halls (Inter-Dormitory Council - 1957-1962
    Includes clippings, program of Big Ten Residence Halls Conference (1961), Leadership Training School itinerary (1962)

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Administrative Services