Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Commencement Programs and Official Graduate Lists

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1857-
Creator: Commencement Programs and Official Graduate Lists (1947-2008)
Extent: 13.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG24.0001.007
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Commencement programs and official graduate lists are provided to the University Archives by the Office of the Registrar on a continuing basis.

Preferred Citation: [Name of collection], The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The collection consists of programs from graduation commencement ceremonies, including corresponding official graduate lists, as provided by the Office of the Registrar. They are arranged chronologically and date from 1857, the year of the first graduating class of the State University of Iowa. Commencement event planning details spanning 1928 to 1950 are also included, as are convocation programs for some years.
Lists of graduates are also included in some editions of the University General Catalogs from prior to 1940. (RG01.0008.001).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PROGRAMS

  • Series 1: PROGRAMS
  • Box 1:
  • Commencement programs - 1857-1890
  • Box 2:
  • Commencement programs - 1891-1900
  • Box 3:
  • Commencement programs - 1901-1910
  • Box 4:
  • Commencement programs - 1911-1916
  • Box 5:
  • Commencement programs - 1917-1923
  • Box 6:
  • Commencement programs - 1924-1928
  • Box 7:
  • Commencement programs - 1929-1932
  • Box 8:
  • Commencement programs - 1933-1936
  • Box 9:
  • Commencement programs - 1937-1940
  • Box 10:
  • Commencement programs - 1941-1946
  • Box 11:
  • Commencement programs - 1947-1950
  • Box 12:
  • Commencement programs - 1951-1958
  • Box 13:
  • Commencement programs - 1959-1966
  • Box 14:
  • Commencement programs - 1967-1970
  • Box 15:
  • Commencement programs - 1971-1975
  • Box 16:
  • Commencement programs - 1976-1982
  • Box 17:
  • Commencement programs - 1983-1985
  • Box 18:
  • Commencement programs - 1986-1988
  • Box 19:
  • Commencement programs - 1989-1991
  • Box 20:
  • Commencement programs - 1992-1994
  • Box 21:
  • Commencement programs - 1995-1997
  • Box 22:
  • Commencement programs - 1998-1999
  • Box 23:
  • Commencement programs - 2000-2002
  • Box 24:
  • Commencement programs - 2003-2005
  • Box 25:
  • Electronic copy of Official List of Graduates - 2005
    pdf format
  • Electronic copy of Official List of Graduates - 2006
    pdf format

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Student Services