Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the University of Iowa Center for Human Rights Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1998-2006
Creator: University of Iowa Center for Human Rights
Extent: 19.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG23.0014.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Records of the UI Center for Human Rights were transferred to the University Archives as Accessions 2006-18, 2006-20 and 2007-20. Guide posted to the Internet October 2007.

Preferred Citation: University of Iowa Center for Human Rights Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The University of Iowa Center for Human Rights, organized in 1998 by Prof. Burns H. Weston, Prof. Rex Honey and Dorothy M. Paul, grew from the programming efforts of Global Focus: Human Rights '98, initiated and led by Prof. Weston to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, adopted by the United Nations General Assembly on December 10,1948.
 
In 1999, the program became The UI Center for Human Rights, a unit of The University of Iowa International Programs. According to its web site, its mission is the "promotion and protection of human rights at home and abroad through distinguished multidisciplinary leadership in human rights research, education, and public service to the University, its surrounding communities, the State of Iowa, and beyond".

The Records of the UI Center for Human Rights consist primarily of materials concerning the Center's Child Labor Research Initiative (CLRI), supported in part by the U.S. Department of Labor, the United Nations, and the International Labour Office. Records are arranged in the following four series: Administrative, Countries, Conference and Teaching Material, and Reports and Articles.
Papers of Kenneth Cmiel (RG99.0042)

Records of Students Against Sweatshops (RG02.0006.006)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE
Series 2: COUNTRIES
Series 3: CONFERENCE AND TEACHING MATERIAL
Series 4: REPORTS AND ARTICLES

  • Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE
  • Box 1:
  • Course syllabi
  • Course evaluations
  • Correspondence: U.S. Department of Labor - 2001-2004
  • Correspondence: Senator Tom Harkin - 2002-2003
  • Correspondence: International Labour Office - 2002-2004
  • Sub-Series: CLRI
  • Box 2:
  • Workplan
  • Department of Labor midterm review and evaluation
  • Budget
  • Grant activation
  • Request for proposals
  • Statements of work - 2002-2004
  • Box 3:
  • Administrative reports - 2002-2003
  • Budget cost-sharing
  • Series 2: COUNTRIES
  • Box 4:
  • Brazil
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Czech Republic
  • Egypt
  • Box 5:
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • France
  • The Gambia
  • South Africa
  • Sweden
  • Ghana
  • Box 6:
  • India
  • Nepal
  • Ireland
  • Japan
  • Mexico
  • Box 7:
  • Nigeria
  • Norway
  • Paraguay
  • Philippines
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Tanzania
  • Turkey
  • Box 8:
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Vietnam
  • Zimbabwe
  • South Africa
  • Series 3: CONFERENCE AND TEACHING MATERIAL
  • Box 9:
  • Teaching About Global Child Labor Conference: Binders - 2004 July 26-27
  • Teaching About Global Child Labor Conference: Posters
  • Teaching About Global Child Labor Conference: Applicants' files
  • Teaching About Global Child Labor Conference: Computer media
  • Box 10:
  • Child Labor Colloquium - 2003 July
  • Child Labor and International Human Rights reading packet - 2003 Spring
  • Child Labor and International Human Rights reading packet - 2004 Spring
  • Introduction to Global Child Labor: Adult Education Workshop - 2004 June
  • Introduction to Global Child Labor: Adult Education Workshop - 2004 July
  • Introduction to Global Child Labor: Resource Packet for Teachers - 2004 June
  • Child Labor and International Standards - 2004 September
  • Hazardous Child Labor - 2004 October
  • Child Soldiers - 2004 July
  • Child Slavery - 2004 October
  • Child Trafficking and Sexual Exploitation - 2004 October
  • Child Labor and Children's Health - 2004 September
  • Child Labor and International Trade - 2004 September
  • Box 11:
  • International Human Rights and Child Labor: Research Seminar - 2002 Spring
  • International Human Rights and Child Labor: Research Seminar - 2003 Spring
  • International Human Rights and Child Labor: Research Seminar - 2004 Spring
  • Teaching Child Labor Issues in the Classroom - 2003 May 2-3
  • Series 4: REPORTS AND ARTICLES
  • Box 12:
  • Helping Hands or Shackled Lives? Understanding Child Domestic Labour and Responses to It. Geneva: International Labour Office - 2004
  • Toys of Misery 2004: A Joint Report by National Labor Committee and China Labor Watch - 2004 February
  • Pathbreaking Strategies in the Global Fight Against Sex Trafficking: Conference Recommendations. Washington, D.C. - 2003
  • Committee on the Rights of the Child: Consideration of Reports Submitted by States Partis Under Article 44 of the Convention: Bangladesh - 2001 June
  • A World Fit for Children: Millennium Development Goals, Special Session on Children Documents - The Convention on the Rights of the Child. New York: United Nations - 2002
  • Press Release: Bellamy and Otunnu Hail Entry Into Force of Optional Protocol on Child Soldiers. New York: United Nations/UNICEF - 2002
  • Action Against Child Labour 2000-2001: Progress and Future Priorities. Geneva: International Labour Office - 2001
  • Trafficking in Persons Report: Released by the Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Department of State - 2002
  • AFL-CIO Position Statement on the Global Economy Resolution #3, Convention - 2001
  • ILO Annual Report 2001: Section on the Effective Abolition of Child Labour - 2001
  • Convention on the Rights of the Child: Cote d’Ivoire. New York: United Nations - 2000
  • Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights: List of Issues: India. New York: United Nations - 1999
  • The ILO: What It Is, What It Does. Geneva: International Labour Organization - Undated
  • ILO Conference Proceedings on Child Labour - 1999
  • ILO Conference Proceedings on Child Labour - 1998
  • Convention on the Rights of the Child: India. New York: United Nations - 1997
  • Report VI (1) Child Labour: Targeting the Intolerable. Geneva: International Labour Office - 1998
  • International Labour Office Legislative Series - 1955
  • Slavery in the 21st Century, Part 1 - Undated
  • What is Modern Slavery? Anti-Slavery International - 2007
  • Bonded Labour. Anti-Slavery International - 2007
  • Child Labour. Anti-Slavery International - 2007
  • Fair Labor Standards Act of - 1938
  • U.S. child labor file (corn detasseling) - 2004
  • The Legal Rights of Cambodian Children - Undated
  • Dugger, Celia W. "To Help Poor Be Pupils, Not Wage Earners, Brazil Pays Parents." The New York Times - 2004 January 3
  • The Exploitation of Child Labor: An Intractable International Problem? Westlaw - 1994
  • Investing in Every Child: An Economic Study of the Costs and Benefits of Eliminating Child Labour. Geneva: International Labour Office - 2003
  • Factbook on Global Sexual Exploitation: Cambodia
  • Factbook on Global Sexual Exploitation: The Philippines
  • Factbook on Global Sexual Exploitation: Thailand
  • Factbook on Global Sexual Exploitation: Japan
  • Box 13:
  • Johnson, Katharine. Confronting Child Labor. Rethinking Schools - 2004 Summer
  • Maskus, Keith E. Should Core Labor Standards Be Imposed Through International Trade Policy? Washington, D.C.: The World Bank Development Research Group - 1997 August
  • IPEC Action Against Child Labour, Highlights 2002. Geneva: International Labour Office - 2002 October
  • Pflug, Bharati. An Overview of Child Domestic Workers in Asia. Geneva: International Labour Office - 2002
  • Post, David. Education and the Child Labor Paradox Today. University Park, PA: Population Research Institute, The Pennsylvania State University - 2000
  • Children Without Childhoods. American Educator - 1996 Summer
  • Children Still in the Chocolate Trade. Save the Children - 2003 April
  • Child Labor Research Initiative: Cambodia
  • Ex-Ugandan Child Soldier Calls for End to Child Exploitation. Chicago Defender - 2004 April 20
  • Victims of Trafficking and Violence Protection Act of - 2000
  • Sex Slavery Awaits Ugandan Schoolgirls. BBC News - 2003 June 26
  • Weston and Sok: International Human Rights and Child Labor Current Students Papers
  • Proposal for "A Global Assembly on the Right to Health: Achieving Consensus" - 2000
  • Sok, Chivy W. Striving for 'A World Fit for Children' The Global Struggle Against Child Labor. University Park, PA: The Pennsylvania State University - 2004
  • Combined Fifth Quarterly Report and First Annual Report to the U.S. Department of State re Safeguarding the Global Workplace: A Proposal for University-Based Research on Codes of Conduct Against Global Sweatshop Labor (CCSL). Iowa City: The University of Iowa Center for Human Rights - 2002
  • Nomination for 2005 Conrad N. Hilton Humanitarian Prize submitted by Chivy W. Sok - 2005
  • Teaching About Global Child Labor: Student Opening Statement by Spencer Lundquist - 2004 July 24
  • Being a Good Citizen, by Seth Saeugling (Iowa City student)
  • Hammarberg, Thomas. A School for Children with Rights. Florence, Italy: UNICEF - 1997
  • The Enslavement of Dalit and Indigenous Communities in India, Nepal and Pakistan Through Debt Bondage. New York: United Nations - 2001
  • Considering the Issue of Trafficking: Background Paper. New Delhi: Asia Pacific Forum of National Human Rights Institutions - 2002
  • Child Labour and Education: An IPEC Perspective. Geneva: International Labour Office - Undated
  • A Future Without Child Labour: Report of the Director-General. Geneva: International Labour Office - 2002
  • Schrage, Elliot J. Promoting International Worker Rights Through Private Voluntary Initiatives: Public Relations or Public Policy? Iowa City: The University of Iowa Center for Human Rights - 2004
  • Weston, Marta Cullberg. How Could It Happen: Ethno-nationalism and the War in the Former Yugoslavia. Psychologists against Nuclear Weapons, for Peace and Ecological Balance. Translated by Peter Tucker. Monograph series No. 3 - 1994

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Educational Development and Research