Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the International Programs Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1949-2003
Creator: International Programs
Extent: 24.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG23.0006.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 27, 47, 48.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Records of International Programs have been transferred to the University Archives at various times. Collection processed and guide posted to the Internet January 2008.

Preferred Citation: International Programs Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Since the late 1800's the UI has hosted students from other countries and has also arranged opportunities for its resident students to study abroad. In 1908, the UI chapter of the Cosmopolitan Club was founded to promote greater understanding among different cultures. It was one of five such clubs on U.S. campuses, operating until the 1940's.
 
The post-World War II enrollment boom brought with it an influx of international students. In response, the University appointed an adviser for foreign students in the Office of Student Affairs (OSA) in 1948. In 1952, the University established the International Center to meet the needs of its foreign students. By 1956, the Center moved to 219 N. Clinton St., the former home of Benjamin and Bertha Shambaugh, longtime associates of the University. (In 2002, Shambaugh House, as it was known, was moved to the corner of Clinton and Fairchild streets, becoming the home of the International Writing Program. The house move was prompted by construction of the new Belin-Blank Honors Center nearby.)
 
Continued growth in international student enrollment led to the establishment in 1971 of the Office of International Education and Services (OIES), which also managed study abroad-related services. Additionally, the Center for International and Comparative Studies (CICS), founded in 1981 as a faculty committee, was established to coordinate and support interdisciplinary education related to foreign studies, becoming one of nine national resource centers funded by the U.S. Dept. of Education in 1985.
 
In 1997, the OIES was reorganized as International Programs, an entity combining the services of OIES, CICS, and other programs. From its inception in 1971 until 2007, International Programs was located in the former Law Commons, west of the Iowa River. It moved to the University Capitol Centre, in the Old Capitol Town Center near the Pentacrest, in 2007.

The Records of International Programs are arranged into four series: Subject Files, Printed Material, Latin American Studies Program (LASP), and Clippings and Scrapbooks. Of particular interest with information about student body demography are the folders Foreign Students Statistics, 1977-1998 in Box 9, Office of Study Abroad, 1981-1998 in Box 16, and Foreign Student Population Statistics, 1949-1972, in Box 24.
Rempel, Averno Milton. "Studies of the Role of the State University of Iowa in World Affairs: I. Foreign Student Relationships: II. Certain Variables Involved in the Development of International Understanding." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Iowa, 1954.

Records of the Center for International and Comparative Studies (RG23.0006.002)

Records of the International Women's Club (RG23.0006.003)

Records of the International Association (RG23.0006.004)

Organizations and Clubs Vertical Files (RG01.0015.004), which include international student-related groups, such as the African Students Association, the Cosmopolitan Club, the Indonesian Student Association, and many others.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: SUBJECT FILES
Series 2: PRINTED MATERIAL
Series 3: LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES PROGRAM (LASP)
Series 4: CLIPPINGS AND SCRAPBOOKS

  • Series 1: SUBJECT FILES
  • Box 1:
  • Admissions - 1971-1993
    8 folders
  • Advisory Committee on International Education - 1965-1981
    5 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Advisory Committee on International Education - 1981-1984
    13 folders
  • Box 3:
  • Advisory Committee on International Education - 1982-1983
  • Box 4:
  • African trip - 1973
  • African Studies Committee - 1979-1985
  • AID Nairobi - 1965
  • LASPAU workshop - 1979
  • Intensive English Proficiency Program possibilities - 1975-1986
  • Linguistics/English as Second Language Program - 1974-1994
    9 folders
  • Box 5:
  • Program in International Development (PID) - 1992-1993
  • UI College of Education International Committee Directions - 1982-1990
    2 folders
  • East Asian Studies - 1972-1974
    2 folders
  • Center for Development Studies - 1976-1984
    2 folders
  • Multinational Corporation and World Order - 1972
  • Comparative Literature - 1972
  • NDEA Program
  • Asian Colloquium - 1972
  • Box 6:
  • Center activities - 1965-1968
    2 folders
  • Center for International Studies report trip - 1965
  • International Studies - 1972
  • Olson Committee report - 1959-1960
  • Center for International and Comparative Studies (CICS) meetings - 1983
  • CICS Barkan proposed agenda and responses - 1981-1982
  • CICS planning retreat - 1991
  • CICS "Representing Nomadic Cultures" symposium - 1993
  • China - 1984-1988
    4 folders
  • Box 7:
  • Center membership - 1965-1966
    2 folders
  • Council for International Visitors to Iowa City - 1985-1990
  • UI College of Business International Resources Directory - 1984
  • Iowa City Foreign Relations Council - 1982-1998
    10 folders
  • Box 8:
  • Foreign Student Committee - 1977-1989
    7 folders
  • Box 9:
  • Foreign students statistics - 1977-1998
    9 folders
  • FSA - 1995
  • Box 10:
  • Office of Study Abroad, including AESOP program, African universities - 1976-1977, 1991-1997
    10 folders
  • Box 11:
  • Office of Study Abroad - 1976-1978
  • Box 12:
  • Office of Study Abroad - 1974-1976
  • Brazilian projects - 1977-1979
    7 folders
  • Box 13:
  • Kuwait - 1996
    2 folders
  • East Asian Studies - 1971-1974
    3 folders
  • Box 14:
  • Correspondence - 1973-1978
  • Hill Foundation - 1965-1972
    7 folders
  • President James Freedman re: China - 1982-1984
    2 folders
  • Box 15:
  • Global Studies - 1977-1991
    4 folders
  • Cross-cultural communication - 1978
  • OSEAS - 1995
    2 folders
  • Box 16:
  • Office of Study Abroad, including statistics about international students at UI - 1981-1998
    11 folders
  • Wales program
  • Far East plan - 1962
  • Ford Foundation application - 1965
  • Box 17:
  • College of Education international interest - 1977-1992
    4 folders
  • Internal review - 1993-1995
    3 folders
  • Box 18:
  • Foreign student recruiting - 1995-1996
    4 folders
  • Office of International Education and Services (OIES), including organization charts - 1992-1996
    5 folders
  • Box 19:
  • CICS-OIES internal review - 1996
  • Iowa-Dongguk - 1968-1972
    2 folders
  • IR at other schools - 1964
  • Box 20:
  • Korean project - 1986-1991
    10 folders
  • Box 21:
  • Korean project - 1990-1991
    7 folders
  • North Korea: Policy, Modernity, Fantasy International Conference - 2007
  • Budget - 1972-1984
    12 folders
  • Box 22:
  • Budget - 1984-1991
    9 folders
  • Box 23:
  • Foreign student rosters and summaries - 1989-1994
    10 folders
  • Box 24:
  • Foreign student population statistics - 1949-1972
    22 folders
  • Foreign student trends survey - 1971-1987
  • Foreign student survey - 1971-1974
  • Faculty foreign travel survey - 1985-1987
  • Box 25:
  • Foreign Student Committee - 1971-1991
    6 folders
  • Establishment of OIES - 1969-1972
  • Development of Training and Research in International Studies - 1964
  • Development of Training and Research in International Studies: Ford Foundation proposal - 1965
  • Establishment of CICS - 1981-1982
  • Immigration Aspects of Hiring Foreign Faculty - 1977
  • Box 26:
  • Foreign students study - 1959-1960
  • Foreign students study - 1962
  • International Center financial sheets - 1957-1958
  • International Club: Membership - 1957-1958
  • International Club: Membership: Programs and songsheets - 1950-1959
  • International Club: Membership: Statement of accounts - 1954-1955
  • International Center Association members, by-laws - 1961
  • International Center Association members, by-laws: Charter history - 1952, 1959-1960
  • International Center Association members, by-laws: Annual - 1959-1960
  • International House guest book (from time IH opened) - 1952-1954
  • National holidays inquiry correspondence - 1956-1957
  • International House Association newsletters - 1959-1960
  • Box 27:
  • International Club: Statement of account - 1954-1955
  • International Club: Invoice and voucher - 1954-1955
  • International Club: Center board meeting minutes - 1955-1956
  • International Club: Minutes, photographs, ephemera, members - 1949-1953
    binder
  • Box 28:
  • China exchange programs coordinated by Jan Felsing - 1980-1987
    10 folders
  • Box 29:
  • China exchange programs coordinated by Jan Felsing - 1980-1987
    16 folders
  • Box 30:
  • International Coordinating Council for International Studies: Advisors' newsletter - 1976-1980
  • International Coordinating Council for International Studies: Guidelines and history - 1969-1973
  • International Coordinating Council for International Studies: Faculty Steering Committee - 1980-1981
  • International Coordinating Council for International Studies: General correspondence - 1981-1986
  • Guidelines for Iowa Regents Study Abroad Programs - 1981
  • Jordan Project: correspondence, training - 1981-1983
    16 folders
  • Box 31:
  • Center for International and Comparative Studies (CICS): Events - 1984-1995
  • Center for International and Comparative Studies (CICS): Event posters - 1982-1994
  • African Studies event posters - 1982-1995
  • Global Studies event posters - 1982-1991
  • Latin American Studies event posters - 1982-1995
  • Program in International Development event posters - 1982-1993
  • South Asian Studies event posters - 1982-1994
  • Center for Asian and Pacific Studies event posters - 1987-1990
  • Box 32:
  • Global Health event posters - 1992-1993
  • Gender, Culture and Politics - 1995
  • Russian, Eastern European and Asian Studies event posters - 1993-1995
  • Women in International Development event posters - 1982-1993
  • Textile Artisans event posters - 1991
  • Recommendations for Strengthening International Education at the University of Iowa: A Report of the Advisory Committee on International Education - 1983
  • Proposal for a Comprehensive Program of International and Comparative Studies - 1982
  • Rockefeller Grant application: Advanced Study of Art and Life in Africa - 1987
  • Grant application: National Resource Center - 1987-1988
  • Box 33:
  • OIES monthly report, September-February - 1972-1983
  • International Center annual report - 1952-1962
    incomplete
  • International Highlights Newsletter, April - 1978
  • CICS annual report - 1982-1985
  • Box 34:
  • OIES annual report - 1971-1975, 1983-1990
  • Box 35:
  • Director's files: Correspondence received - 1982-1986
  • Director's files: Hong Kong - 1995-1997
  • Director's files: International Volunteer Alumni Counselor (IVAC) program - 1985
  • Director's files: International Classroom program - 1979-1995
  • Director's files: Midwest University Consortium for International Activities (MUCIA) internship budget - 1990-1992
  • Key Internationals: Correspondence - 1994-1996
  • Key Internationals: Garnett, Dr. W. Leslie (including biography) - 1979-1989
  • Key Internationals: Objectives - 1979-1982
  • Key Internationals: Foreign alumni - 1985-1986
  • Key Internationals: Questionnaires returned - 1985
  • Sub-Series: Key Internationals Review Questionnaires
  • Box 36:
  • Argentina - 1986-1989
  • Australia - 1987-1989
  • Barbados - 1987
  • Belgium - 1987-1989
  • Brazil - 1987-1989
  • Bulgaria - 1988
  • Burkina Faso - 1989
  • Burundi - 1989
  • Canada - 1987-1989
  • Cameroon - 1988
  • Colombia - 1987-1989
  • Costa Rica - 1989
  • Czechoslovakia - 1988-1989
  • Dominican Republic - 1987-1988
  • East Germany - 1988
  • Ecuador - 1989
  • El Salvador - 1988-1989
  • England - 1987-1989
  • France - 1988-1989
  • Gambia - 1987
  • Ghana - 1988
  • Honduras - 1987
  • Hong Kong - 1987-1989
  • Hungary - 1988-1989
  • Iceland - 1987
  • India - 1987-1989
  • Indonesia - 1987-1989
  • Ireland - 1988
  • Israel - 1987-1988
  • Italy - 1987-1989
  • Jamaica - 1987
  • Japan - 1987-1989
  • Jordan (West Bank) - 1986
  • Kenya - 1988
  • Liberia - 1988
  • Malawi - 1989
  • Malaysia - 1987-1989
  • Mexico - 1987-1989
  • Nigeria - 1988-1989
  • Northern Ireland - 1988-1989
  • Norway - 1987-1989
  • Panama - 1987-1989
  • People's Republic of China - 1987-1989
  • Peru - 1989
  • Philippines - 1987-1989
  • Poland - 1987-1989
  • Portugal - 1987-1989
  • Puerto Rico - 1989
  • Saudi Arabia - 1988
  • Scotland - 1987
  • Sierra Leone - 1989
  • Singapore - 1987-1988
  • South Africa - 1988-1989
  • South Korea - 1987-1989
  • Sri Lanka - 1987
  • Sweden - 1988
  • Syria - 1987
  • Thailand - 1987, 1988, 1997, 1999
  • Taiwan - 1987-1989
  • Tanzania - 1988
  • Turkey - 1988
  • United States - 1987-1989
  • Venezuela - 1987
  • West Germany - 1987-1989
  • Yugoslavia - 1988-1989
  • Zambia - 1989
  • Campus - 1987-1989
  • Key International Review newsletter - 1979-2000
    incomplete
  • Series 2: PRINTED MATERIAL
  • Box 37:
  • Directory of Foreign Students and Professionals - 1961-1975
  • Handbooks: Foreign Students are Friendly, The Dating "System," The "Organized" United States, How to Make Friends in the U.S., Entertaining a Foreign Guest - 1950-1959
    undated
  • Getting Along With Your Foreign Roommate - 1977
  • Learning With Your Foreign Roommate - 1982
  • Handbook for International Students and Professionals - 1973
  • Handbook for International Students and Professionals - 1972-1973
  • Handbook for Foreign Students and Professionals - 1974
  • Handbook for Foreign Students and Professionals - 1977
  • Handbook for Foreign Students and Professionals - 1981-1982
  • Handbook for Foreign Students and Professionals - 1982-1983
  • Handbook for Foreign Students and Professionals - 1983-1984
  • Handbook for Foreign Students and Professionals - 2000-2001
  • Box 38:
  • Newsletter: IHFP Newsletter (International Host Family Program), November-February - 1977-1982
    incomplete
  • Newsletter: International Center News/Iowa International - 1952-1956
  • Newsletter: CREES (Center for Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies) News - 2000-2001
  • Newsletter: CICS - 1988-1995
  • Newsletter: International Newsletter/Foreign Student Newsletter/Foreign Student Bulletin/International Bulletin - 1971-1990
  • Newsletter: UCOPIA World (OIES) - 1987-1988
  • Newsletter: Dromomania - 1986, 1994-1997
  • Newsletter: Calendar - 1997-2000
  • Box 39:
  • The Development of Training and Research in International Studies, May 28 - 1965
  • OIES Overseas Opportunities for Students - 1974-1975
  • OIES Overseas Opportunities for Students - 1975-1976
  • OIES Overseas Opportunities for Faculty - 1974-1975
  • International Resources Directory - 1978-1979
  • International Studies miscellaneous (information sheets for students, brochures) - 1972-1998
  • Series 3: LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES PROGRAM (LASP)
  • Box 40:
  • Business file - 1985-1986
  • Business file, August-December - 1986
  • Business file, Carlos Merced-Tesorero - 1984-1985
  • Business file - 1983-1984
  • Business file - 1982-1983
  • Cartas enviadas a ADELA - 1986
  • Cartas que ADELA Envia - 1983-1986
  • 11th Pena Folklorica - 1986
  • 9th Pena Folklorica - 1985
  • Isabel Aldunate concert, November 13 - 1985
  • Teatro - 1982
  • Exposiciones de Arte - 1982
  • Simon Bolivar bicentennial, July - 1983
  • Brazilian Carnival, February 25 - 1983
  • Noche de Ritmos Latino Americanos, March 8 - 1986
  • Grupo Aymara, Spring - 1983
  • Festival de Cine - 1986
    2 folders
  • Film Festival, Spring - 1984
  • Pena Folklorica, 1-6 - 1981-1983
  • Box 41:
  • 10th Pena Folklorica - 1986
  • ADELE Cine Club - 1986
  • Salsa Night - 1983
  • Publicity - 1983-1995
    2 folders
  • Bulk mailing - 1982-1985
  • Resources (student government) - 1987
  • Consul directory, undated
  • Minutes - 1986
  • Minutes - 1983
  • Office of Study Abroad - 1992
  • CICS - 1981-1982
  • Box 42:
  • CICS: Case Study of Older Persons and the Health Care System in Costa Rica, June 3 - 1993
  • Articles: Manufacturing Consent, by Edward S. Herman - 1988
  • Articles: Guatemala - 1995
  • Articles: Mexico, peso currency - 1995
  • Articles: Latin American journalism - 1995
  • Articles: Confronting La Frontera, by Joe Holley - 1994
  • Articles: Peru-Ecuador border dispute - 1994-1995
  • Articles: Politics and elections - 1994-1995
  • Articles: Mexico, Chiapas - 1995
  • Questionnaires (blank), undated
  • LASP annual report - 1990
  • LASP chair - 1990-1991
  • LASP-CICS - 1989-1990
  • Box 43:
  • Financial records - 1978-1984
    6 folders
  • Box 44:
  • MUCIA (Midwest Universities Consortium for International Activities) - 1988-1991
  • Scholarships/fellowships - 1989-1993
  • Course proposals and descriptions - 1989-1993
  • Univ. de Los Andes - 1988-1989
  • Box 45:
  • LASP orientation information - 1982-1992
  • Letterhead - 1990
  • Graduate assistants - 1988-1989
  • Events and speakers - 1989-1991
  • Study Abroad - 1992
  • LASP/CICS library - 1990-1991
  • Summer in Chile program - 1989-1990
  • LASP faculty - 1988-1989
  • Series 4: CLIPPINGS AND SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 46:
  • CICS clippings - 1983-1993
  • Box 47:
  • Clippings folder - 1977-1978
  • Scrapbook, including photographs - 1971-1972
  • Scrapbook, including photographs - 1972-1973
  • Scrapbook, including photographs - 1973-1974
  • Scrapbook, Indonesia trip - 1982-1985
  • Scrapbook, International Women's Panel - 1973, 1981-1982
  • Box 48:
  • Photographs: CICS - 1980, 1991
  • Photographs: Visiting scholars, undated
  • Photographs: International Center - 1960
  • Photographs: International Center/Law School building, interior and exterior - 1941-1965
    16 images
  • Photographs: Opening of Iowa International Center (includes President James Freedman), April 7 - 1982
  • Photographs: International Center interior and exterior - 1980-1989
  • Scrapbook: clippings about opening of Shambaugh House as International Center - 1956-1957

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Educational Development and Research