Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1917-1975
Creator: Iowa Child Welfare Research Station
Extent: 34.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG23.0003.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 8.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station at various times. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.

Preferred Citation: Iowa Child Welfare Research Station Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Program was founded as the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station in 1917; name changed to Institute of Child Behavior and Development in 1964; institute closed in 1974.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: ADDENDUM 1
Series 3: ADDENDUM 2
Series 4: ADDENDUM 3: INSTITUTE OF CHILD BEHAVIOR/PREVENTIVE PSYCHIATRY RESEARCH PROGRAM
Series 5: OVERSIZE

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Emergency Education Program - 1934-1935
  • Financial Current Reports - 1930-1931
  • Financial Current Reports - 1931-1932
  • Form letters and notices to staff - 1930-1931
  • Millis, Cora B. - 1930-1931
  • Historical file: Hillis and Seashore correspondence - 1913-1917
  • Box 2:
  • Publications
  • Publicity for Station
  • Reading Clinic
  • Rooms
  • Staff lists
  • Staff meeting summaries
  • Students
  • Box 3:
  • Hillis-Seashore correspondence - 1918-1921
  • Historical file: miscellaneous
  • History
  • Home Laboratory
  • Institute of Character Research
  • Language Behavior Studies
  • McCloy, C.H.
  • Manry, James C.
  • Manual of Pre-School Practice - 1931-1932
  • Mental Hygiene Institute - 1930-1931
  • Parent Education
  • Spelman Reports (financial) - 1930-1931
  • Spelman Reports (financial) - 1931-1932
  • Spelman Fund - 1934-1935
  • Spelman Fund - 1936-1937
  • Box 4:
  • Stoddard, George D.
  • Radio Child Study Club
  • Elementary School Child - 1941-1945
  • Radio Child Study
  • Understanding Iowa Children - 1943-1944
  • Radio Child Study Club - 1941-1942
  • Understanding Iowa Children - 1941-1942
  • Radio Child Study Club: The Family - 1941-1942
  • Radio Child Study Club - 1943-1944
  • Box 5:
  • Radio Child Study Club
  • Box 6:
  • Radio Child Study Club
  • Box 7:
  • Annual Reports - 1942-1944
  • Assistantships and scholarships - 1943-1944
  • Bibliography-Anthropometry
  • Bird T. Baldwin memorial
  • Bivin Foundation
  • Boy Scouts of America - 1942-1943
  • Cobb, W.H. - 1942-1943
  • Commission for Younger Children
  • Committee on War Research
  • Committee to Study the Child Welfare Research Station
  • Conference, June - 1941-1944
  • Council on Children & Youth - 1952-1953
  • Current courses
  • Equipment lists
  • Financial current reports
  • Form letters and notices to staff
  • General Education Board
  • Iowa State Council on Child Study and Parent Education
  • Iowa Remedial Education Program
  • Irwin Film
  • Miscellaneous file
  • Morrissey, Mary
  • National Research Council on Nutrition Study
  • Parents Magazine
  • Personnel - 1942-1943
  • Pre-school administration
  • Box 8:
  • Photographs of classroom activity, height measurement of children, undated - 1930-1939
  • "Informal Report of Recommendations and Researches," April 17 - 1929
  • Conferences and workshops - 1952-1957
    11 folders
  • Series 2: ADDENDUM 1
  • Box 1:
  • Preschool - 1950-1962
  • Box 2:
  • Preschool - 1950-1962
  • Series 3: ADDENDUM 2
  • Box 1:
  • Child Welfare subject files - 1917-1933, 1960-1972
    Received December 1980 - 6 boxes. 3.0 ft.
  • Box 2:
  • Child Welfare subject files - 1917-1933, 1960-1972
  • Box 3:
  • Child Welfare subject files - 1917-1933, 1960-1972
  • Box 4:
  • Child Welfare subject files - 1917-1933, 1960-1972
  • Box 5:
  • Child Welfare subject files - 1917-1933, 1960-1972
  • Box 6:
  • Child Welfare subject files - 1917-1933, 1960-1972
  • Box 7:
  • Child Welfare subject files - 1965-1975
    Received January 1993 - 2 boxes. 1.0 ft.
  • Box 8:
  • Child Welfare subject files - 1965-1975
  • Box 9:
  • Pamphlets and leaflets, sorted by type and date
    3 boxes. 1.75 ft.
  • Box 10:
  • Pamphlets and leaflets, sorted by type and date
  • Box 11:
  • Pamphlets and leaflets, sorted by type and date
  • Box 12:
  • Child Welfare Review ("Institute of Child Behavior and Development") - 1972
    0.25 ft.
  • Box 13:
  • Staff files, arranged alpha by last name of individual - 1917-1960
    27 boxes. 14.0 ft.
  • Box 14:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 15:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 16:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 17:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 18:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 19:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 20:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 21:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 22:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 23:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 24:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 25:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 26:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 27:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 28:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 29:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 30:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 31:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 32:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 33:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 34:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 35:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 36:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 37:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 38:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 39:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Box 40:
  • Staff files - 1917-1960
  • Series 4: ADDENDUM 3: INSTITUTE OF CHILD BEHAVIOR/PREVENTIVE PSYCHIATRY RESEARCH PROGRAM
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence A-J - 1959-1960
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence K-Z - 1959-1960
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence A-G - 1961-1962
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence A-H - 1960-1961
  • Box 5:
  • Correspondence I-Q - 1960-1961
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence R-Z - 1960-1961
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence H-O - 1961-1962
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence P-Z - 1961-1962
  • Box 9:
  • Correspondence A-J - 1962-1963
  • Box 10:
  • Correspondence M-Z - 1962-1963
  • Box 11:
  • Preventive Psychiatry Research Program reports - 1950-1960
  • Box 12:
  • Preventive Psychiatry Research Program reports - 1950-1960
  • Series 5: OVERSIZE
  • Box 1:
  • Scrapbook (fragile) - 1915-1926
  • Box 2:
  • Scrapbook (fragile) - 1927-1952

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Educational Development and Research