Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Institute of Public Affairs Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1950-2002
Creator: Institute of Public Affairs
Extent: 9.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG20.0006
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Institute of Public Affairs at various times, including Accession 2005-50. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007; revised June 2007.

Preferred Citation: Institute of Public Affairs Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

"The Institute of Public Affairs was founded in 1949 as a part of the Division of Extension, State University of Iowa. It was established in order to provide consultation, research and training services to public officials and concerned citizens ""toward the goal of maintaining quality state and local government in Iowa,"" according to a 1970 publication. The bulk of the titles listed below are those of publications released by the Institute, including their year of issuance.

The collection consists of 19 series, reflecting the Institute's functions and activity. Folder or publication titles are listed in chronological order under each series heading.
 
Series I: About the Institute
 
Series II: Local Government Series and Salary Surveys
 
Series III: Public Policy Reports
 
Series IV: Conference Proceedings
 
Series V: Taxation and Finance
 
Series VI: Governor's Studies
 
Series VII: Studies of Legislatures
 
Series VIII: Voting and Elections
 
Series IX: Administrative Studies
 
Series X: Community Improvement and Economic Development
 
Series XI: Manuals
 
Series XII: Compilation of Information on Laws in Iowa
 
Series XIII: Police
 
Series XIV: Training
 
Series XV: Miscellaneous Publications
 
Series XVI: Title VIII Housing Act of 1964
 
Series XVII: Contemporary Public Affairs
 
Series XVIII: Newsletters and Annual Reports
 
Series XIX: Letters for Leaders.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.