Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Governor's Conference on Iowa in the Year 2000 (Iowa 2000) Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1974-1978
Creator: Governor's Conference on Iowa in Year 2000
Extent: 1.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG20.0005.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1982.

Preferred Citation: Governor's Conference on Iowa in the Year 2000 Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Iowa 2000 was a series of planning conferences proposed by then-U.S. Representative John C. Culver in 1972. Governor Robert D. Ray appointed a planning committee with University of Iowa President Willard L. Boyd as chair. Regional meetings culminated in statewide conferences held at Simpson College, 1974, the University of Iowa, 1977, and Iowa State University, 1978. The futures of Iowa's economics, resources, and society were discussed.

The Iowa Governor's Conference on Iowa in the Year 2000 (or Iowa 2000) Records, as maintained by the University of Iowa Institute of Public Affairs, were transferred by the Institute to the University of Iowa Archives in 1982. The records consist of three document boxes.The records include correspondence on the conferences, files and reports from them, resulting publications, and speeches by UI President Willard 'Sandy' Boyd, U.S. Rep. John C. Culver, and Gov. Robert D. Ray, as well as by James Hearst, Charles J. Hitch, Marvin Pomerantz, Alvin Toffler, and W. Willard Wirtz. At the University of Iowa, program coordinators were (or included) Penny K. Davidsen and Jean Lloyd-Jones. A theme song (copyright) is included, in paper and phonodisc formats.Iowa 2000 was a series of planning conferences proposed by then-U.S. Representative John C. Culver in 1972. Governor Robert D. Ray appointed a planning committee with University of Iowa President Willard L. Boyd as chair. Regional meetings culminated in statewide conferences held at Simpson College, 1974, the University of Iowa, 1977, and Iowa State University, 1978. The futures of Iowa's economics, resources, and society were discussed.
The Papers of John C. Culver, MsC 810, include reference to the Iowa 2000 conference in the Subject Files series, Futures subseries.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE, COMMITTEE
Series 2: 1974 CONFERENCES
Series 3: PROPOSALS
Series 4: 1977 CONFERENCES
Series 5: 1978 CONFERENCE
Series 6: GENERAL

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE, COMMITTEE
  • Box 1:
  • General
  • Iowa congressional delegation
  • Miscellaneous in-state
  • Out-of-state
  • Boyd, Willard
  • Crom, Bob
  • Everett, Beverly
  • Farrell, Carolyn
  • Mullins, Sue
  • Mutel, Connie
  • Osman, John
  • Ringgenberg, Clayton
  • Soth, Lauren
  • TePaske, Maurice
  • Turner, William F.
  • Series 2: 1974 CONFERENCES
  • Box 1:
  • Task force summary report (blue book)
  • Regional conferences
  • Millhone compilation of regional reports
  • Economic development
  • Energy
  • Life enhancement
  • Natural resources
  • First general session, June 13 - 1974
  • Toffler speech
  • Box 2:
  • Third general session, June 14 - 1974
  • Final report
  • Series 3: PROPOSALS
  • Box 2:
  • Proposal for continuation - 1975
  • People committee, proposal - 1976
  • Series 4: 1977 CONFERENCES
  • Box 2:
  • The Time of Our Lives, trends analysis booklet, preliminary - 1977
  • The Time of Our Lives, booklet
  • Regional meetings procedure
  • Al-Mon-Co, Albia
  • Central, Indianola
  • East Central, Cedar Rapids
  • North Central, Mason City
  • Northeast, Dubuque
  • Northwest, Sioux City
  • Southeast, Mt. Pleasant
  • Southwest, Council Bluffs
  • West Central, Fort Dodge
  • Commonwealth Conference
  • Commonwealth Conference speeches
    Includes Culver, Ray and Wirtz
  • Group I, Agricultural Organizations
  • Group 2, The Arts and Other Cultural Institutions
  • Group 3, Churches
  • Group 4, Educational Institutions
  • Group 5, The Family, the Individual, and the Single Person
  • Group 6, Health Institutions
  • Group 7, Labor and Business
    Includes Pomerantz
  • Group 8, Local Governments and Communities
  • Box 3:
  • Group 9, The Media
  • Group 10, Political Organizations and Citizens Groups
  • Group 11, Public and Private Social Services and Other Volunteer Organizations
  • Group 12, Recreation and Leisure Industries and Organizations
  • Group 13, State and Federal Governments, The Division of Responsibilities
  • A Perspective of Iowa 2000, The Time of Our Lives
  • Iowans comment about Iowa 2000
  • Series 5: 1978 CONFERENCE
  • Box 3:
  • Land, Water and Energy - 1978
    Includes Hearst and Kitch
  • Series 6: GENERAL
  • Box 3:
  • Speeches, Willard L. Boyd
  • Speeches, Robert D. Ray
  • Theme song and phonodiscs, copyright
  • The Times, June 2 - 2000

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa External Services