Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Iowa Lakeside Laboratory Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1909-1990
Creator: Iowa Lakeside Laboratory
Extent: 9.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG20.0004.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Department of Biological Sciences at various times. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.

Preferred Citation: Iowa Lakeside Laboratory Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Frederick W. Kent Collection of Photographs (RG30.0001.001), Series I (Prints), Sub-series Colleges and Departments and Sub-series Scenes.

Baker, Debby Zieglowsky. "Eighty Years of Research at Iowa Lakeside Laboratory: A Bibliography." Journal of the Iowa Academy of Science 97 (December 1990): 190-199.

Bovbjerg, Richard V., Martin J. Ulmer, and John C. Downey. The Iowa Lakeside Laboratory: Its Past, Present, and Potentials for the Future. N.p., 1974. 69, 139 pp.

Nuss, Elizabeth Frances. "History of the State University of Iowa: The Iowa Lakeside Laboratory." M.A. thesis, University of Iowa, 1946. 161 pp.

Zieglowsky, Debby J. "Thomas Macbride's Dream: Iowa Lakeside Laboratory." Palimpsest 66 (March-April 1985): 42-56, 61-65, illus.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence files - 1940-1969
  • Bulletins and publicity, includes brochures and photos - 1940-1969
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence files, includes bulletins scattered throughout chronologically-arranged files - 1960-1989
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence files - 1960-1989
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence files - 1960-1990
  • Alumni lists - 1960-1990
  • Box 5:
  • Newsletters - 1950-1959
  • Letters of support in response to Legislature‚Äôs threat to close the lab (closure did not happen) - 1991-1992
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence files
  • Box 7:
  • Articles, bulletins and brochures promoting the lab - 1909-1990
  • First announcement - 1909
  • Box 8:
  • Additional support letters - 1991-1992
  • Box 9:
  • "Okoboji Dredgings" newsletter - 1989-1992
  • Box 10:
  • Articles of Incorporation - 1910
  • Early Director's Reports - 1920-1929
  • Correspondence
    Including Bohumil Shimek
  • Box 11:
  • Minutes and committee reports - 1920-1929