Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the College of Law Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1877-2001
Creator: College of Law (1925-)
Extent: 10.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG14.0002.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Box 12

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries at various times. Collection processed by David McCartney, February 2006. Guide posted to the Internet 2006; updated February 2008.

Preferred Citation: College of Law Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The records of the University of Iowa College of Law consist of eight series: Agricultural Law Center, Continuing Legal Education Program, Library, Conferences and Symposiums, Publications and Journals, Historical, Student Activity, and Faculty.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: AGRICULTURAL LAW CENTER
Series 2: CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION
Series 3: LIBRARY
Series 4: CONFERENCES AND SYMPOSIUMS
Series 5: PUBLICATIONS AND JOURNALS
Series 6: HISTORICAL
Series 7: STUDENT ACTIVITY
Series 8: FACULTY - OVERSIZE

  • Series 1: AGRICULTURAL LAW CENTER
  • Box 1:
  • Legal Economic Symposium, September - 1958
  • Nonfarm Inputs in Agricultural Production, by Marshall Harris. August 10-13 - 1960
  • Legal Institute: Fundamentals of Farm Leases; Water Rights in Iowa; Farmers' Social Security. September 23-24 - 1955
  • Vertical Integration and Contract Farming. First Phase Report. October - 1960
  • Vertical Integration and Contract Farming. Second Phase Report. October - 1961
    Volume 1 of 2
  • Box 2:
  • Vertical Integration and Contract Farming. Second Phase Report. October - 1961
    Volume 2 of 2
  • Vertical Integration and Contract Farming. Third Phase Report. November - 1962
  • Box 3:
  • No. 1: Legal - Economic Research. Marshall Harris and John C. O'Byrne, editors. May - 1959
  • No. 2: Family Farm Corporations. May - 1963
  • No. 3: Farm Partnership: Drafting the Agreement. Charles Vanderbur. December - 1963
  • No. 4: Iowa Farm Fence Law. N. William Hines and Marshall Harris. May - 1964
  • No. 5: Installment Land Contracts in Iowa. Marshall Harris. January - 1965
  • No. 6: Legal Aspects of the Small Watershed Program in Iowa. Charles Campbell, N. William Hines, and Marshall Harris. September - 1965
  • No. 7: Estate Planning Iowa Joint Tenancies. N. William Hines. September - 1965
  • No. 8: Methods for Legal - Economic Research into Rural Problems. N. William Hines and Marshall Harris, editors. September - 1966
  • No. 9: A Decade of Experience under the Iowa Water Permit System. N. William Hines. September - 1966
  • No. 10: Opportunities for Regional Research on Water Resources Problems. Dean T. Massey and Gordon D. Rose, editors. September - 1968
  • No. 11: Emerging and Projected Trends Likely to Influence the Structure of Midwest Agriculture, 1970-1985. John R. Brake, editors. June - 1970
  • No. 12: Entrepreneurship in Agriculture. Marshall Harris, undated
  • No. 13: Legal - Economic Aspects of Waste Law as It Relates to Farming. Marshall Harris. December - 1974
  • Sub-Series: Reprints
  • Box 3:
  • No. 1: Forfeiture and the Iowa Installment Land Contract. September - 1961
  • No. 2: Corporate Practice of Veterinary Medicine. September - 1961
  • No. 3: Farm Partnership: Ownership and Use of Real Property. May - 1962
  • No. 4: Iowa's New Water Statue - The Constitutionality of Regulating Existing Uses of Water. May - 1962
  • No. 5: Product Liability for Animal Food and Drugs. May - 1963
  • No. 6: Liability Resulting from Artificial Bodies of Water. August - 1963
  • No. 7: Partnership Bankruptcy: Proposed Amendments to the National Bankruptcy Act. August - 1963
  • No. 8: Regulation and Liability in the Application of Pesticides. November - 1963
  • No. 9: Taxation Affecting Agricultural Land Use. January - 1965
  • No. 10: Agrarian Reform as a Means to Economic and Social Development in Peru. January - 1965
  • No. 11: Surface Water Drainage in Iowa. March - 1965
  • No. 13: Nor Any Drop to Drink: Public Regulation of Water Quality. N. William Hines. September - 1967
  • Series 2: CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION
  • Box 4:
  • Educational Law Program [concerning student records and Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974], November 12-13 - 1976
  • Summer Program of Instruction for Lawyers at the Iowa Law School, July 12-17 - 1976
  • Summer Program of Instruction for Lawyers at the Iowa Law School, July 11-16 - 1977
  • Summer Program of Instruction for Lawyers at the Iowa Law School, July 17-22 - 1978
  • Fall Program of Instruction for Lawyers. Fall - 1976
  • Iowa Tort Guide, second edition. A Handbook of Basic Iowa Tort Law - 1982
    Promotional brochure
  • The Iowa Guide to Search and Seizure - 1986
    Promotional brochure
  • Kurtz on Iowa Estates. Promotional brochure - 1981
  • Contract Remedies, Equity and Restitution in Iowa - 1980
    Promotional brochure
  • Series 3: LIBRARY
  • Box 4:
  • Catalogue of the Hammond Historical Law Collection in the Law Library of the State University of Iowa. Noble, Frank H., compiler - 1895
  • User's Guide - 1973
  • User's Guide - 1974-1976
  • User's Guide - 1976-1977
  • User's Guide - 1977-1978
  • User's Guide - 1978-1980
  • User's Guide - 1980-1982
  • User's Guide - 1982-1984
  • The Rare Book Room of the Law Library, The University of Iowa College of Law. October 17-18 - 1986
  • User's Guide - 1987-1989
  • User's Guide - 1991-1993
  • User's Guide - 2000-2001
  • Series 4: CONFERENCES AND SYMPOSIUMS
  • Box 4:
  • The Role of the Large Corporation. Remarks by Paul S. Gerot, president of The Pillsbury Company. October 2 - 1959
  • Public Employee Bargaining II. November 15 - 1974
  • In Celebration of the Bicentennial of the United States Constitution. October-November - 1986
  • Global Focus: Human Rights '98 - 1998
  • Home Rule Symposium. April 25 - 1972
  • Transnational Law and Contemporary Problems. Symposium: The United States Commitment to International Law. Volume 1, Number 1. Spring - 1991
  • Series 5: PUBLICATIONS AND JOURNALS
  • Box 5:
  • College of Law informational booklets - 1965, 1967, 1980
  • Law Bulletin. Numbers 1-14 - 1891-1894
  • Box 6:
  • Law Bulletin. Numbers 15-42 - 1895-1901
  • Box 7:
  • The Iowa Advocate - 1962-1986
  • Box 8:
  • The Iowa Advocate - 1987-2000
  • Box 9:
  • The Iowa Advocate - 2001
  • Box 10:
  • Monographs
  • Hines, N. William. Property II: Cases and Readings in Limitations on the Use of Property. Volume I. January - 1986
  • Hines, N. William. Resource Planning: Cases and Readings in Limitations of the Use of Property. Volume II. February - 1978
  • Ladd, Mason. Iowa Probate Practice Problems. Third edition - 1939
  • Perkins, Rollin M. Iowa Peace Officers Code - 1937
  • Perkins, Rollin M. Handbook for Iowa Peace Officers - 1938
  • Perkins, Rollin M. Manual for Iowa Peace Officers - 1939
  • Box 11:
  • Perkins, Rollin M. Iowa Criminal Code - Annotated for Peace Officers - 1940
  • Perkins, Rollin M. Iowa Code of Criminal Procedure - Annotated for Peace Officers. Part 1 - 1941
  • Perkins, Rollin M. Iowa Code of Criminal Procedure - Annotated for Peace Officers. Part 3 - 1944
  • Weston, Burns H. Global Interdependence and Human Survival: An Introduction to World Order Studies - 1975
    Course materials
  • Box 12:
  • International Studies in Economics: No. 5. Brady, Eugene A. Production Functions for the Industrial Sector of Peru. November - 1967
  • International Studies in Economics: No. 6. Brady, Eugene A. The Distribution of Total Personal Income in Peru. January - 1968
  • International Studies in Economics: No. 9. Brady, Eugene A. A Methodological Procedure for Analyzing the Policy Instruments of an Underdeveloped Economy - Using the Economy of Peru as a Demonstrative Case. November - 1968
  • International Studies in Economics: No. 10. Arnold, Barry C. and Leonor Laguna. On Generalized Pareto Distributions with Applications to Income Data. May - 1977
  • Sub-Series: Directories
  • Box 12:
  • Alumni directory - 1877
  • Alumni directory - 1907
  • Alumni directory - 1914
  • Alumni directory - 1926
  • Alumni directory - 1931
  • Alumni directory - 1984
  • Alumni directory - 1989
  • Photo directory, First Year Class - 1973-1974
  • Photo directory, First Year Class - 1974-1975
  • Photo directory, First Year Class - 1975-1976
  • Photo directory, First Year Class - 1977-1978
  • Photo directory, First Year Class - 1978-1979
  • Photo directory, First Year Class - 1979-1980
  • Photo directory, First Year Class - 1980-1981
  • Photo directory, First Year Class - 1981-1982
  • Photo directory, First Year Class - 1982-1983
  • Photo directory, First Year Class - 1983-1984
  • Photo directory, First Year Class - 1984-1985
  • Photo directory, First Year Class - 1985-1986
  • Photo directory, First Year Class - 1988-1989
  • Photo directory, First Year Class - 1989-1990
  • Photo directory, First Year Class - 1990-1991
  • Series 6: HISTORICAL
  • Box 13:
  • The Law Department of the Iowa State University: Its History, Organization and Plan of Study - 1869
  • Program: Sixtieth Anniversary Celebration, College of Law, 1865-1925. November 6 - 1925
  • Program: Class Day Exercises. June 28 - 1875
  • Bulletin of the State University of Iowa. New Series No. 552. The Story of the Iowa Law School, by Rollin M. Perkins. March 29 - 1930
  • Series 7: STUDENT ACTIVITY
  • Box 13:
  • Iowa Law Rebuke - 1956-1959
  • ISBA (Iowa Student Bar Association) Newsletter - 1975-1987
  • Box 14:
  • Freshman Oral Arguments, sample - 1949-1968
  • Sub-Series: Oversize Box 2
  • Box 15:
  • Iowa Student Bar Association scrapbook - 1978-1979
  • Series 8: FACULTY - OVERSIZE
  • Box 1:
  • Binder 1: November 19-March 6 - 1906-1911
  • Binder 2
  • February 20-November 5 - 1905-1906
  • June 7-September 19 - 1909-1910
  • Binder 3: June 16-December 16 - 1910-1921

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa College of Law