| Date Span: | 1923-1944 |
| Creator: | Rutledge, Wiley B. (1894-1949) |
| Extent: | 2.00 linear feet. |
| Collection Number: | RG14.0001.06 |
| Repository: | University of Iowa Archives |
| Summary: |
Wiley Blount Rutledge was born July 20, 1894 in Cloverport, Kentucky. He married Annabel Person in 1917, the same year he was admitted to the Colorado bar. The family grew to include three children, Mary Lou, Jean Ann, and Neal.
Wiley B. Rutledge served as dean of the College of Law at Iowa from 1935 until 1939. He was also a professor of law at the University of Colorado, and professor and dean at Washington University, St. Louis. From Iowa, Rutledge was appointed to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia, and later to the U.S. Supreme Court. Justice Rutledge died September 10, 1949, at age 55.
The many writings on Rutledge?s career include a sketch in the Dictionary of American Biography, supplement 4, and articles by Irving Brant and W. Willard Wirtz in the Iowa Law Review, Summer 1950. Both articles also appear in the Indiana Law Review, Summer 1950.
Access: This collection is open for research.
Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.
Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries in the 1970s.
Preferred Citation: Dean Wiley B. Rutledge Papers, College of Law, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.
| Repository: | University of Iowa Archives |
| Address: | 100 Main Library University of Iowa Libraries Iowa City, IA 52242 |
| Phone: | 319-335-5921 |
| Curator: | David McCartney |
| Email: | david-mccartney@uiowa.edu |
| Website: | http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec-coll/archives |
Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.
This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.