Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Dean Wiley B. Rutledge College of Law Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1923-1944
Creator: Rutledge, Wiley B. (1894-1949)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG14.0001.006
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries in the 1970s.

Preferred Citation: Dean Wiley B. Rutledge Papers, College of Law, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Wiley Blount Rutledge was born July 20, 1894 in Cloverport, Kentucky. He married Annabel Person in 1917, the same year he was admitted to the Colorado bar. The family grew to include three children, Mary Lou, Jean Ann, and Neal.

Wiley B. Rutledge served as dean of the College of Law at Iowa from 1935 until 1939. He was also a professor of law at the University of Colorado, and professor and dean at Washington University, St. Louis. From Iowa, Rutledge was appointed to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia, and later to the U.S. Supreme Court. Justice Rutledge died September 10, 1949, at age 55.

The many writings on Rutledge's career include a sketch in the Dictionary of American Biography, supplement 4, and articles by Irving Brant and W. Willard Wirtz in the Iowa Law Review, Summer 1950. Both articles also appear in the Indiana Law Review, Summer 1950.

This collection is primarily the correspondence of Rutledge and a few reports regarding the routine business of participation in the Iowa Law Review, the American Bar Association, bar admissions, the Iowa Law School Association, the Association of American Law Schools, and the American Law Institute. The material is dated 1923 to 1944, encompassing a broader range than Rutledge's deanship at Iowa.
The law dean records arranged under Rutledge

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Iowa Law Review - 1930-1937
  • Iowa Law Review - 1937-1938
  • Iowa Law Review - 1938-1939
  • Iowa Law Review - 1939-1940
  • Iowa Law Review - 1940-1941
  • Iowa Law Review - 1941-1942
  • Iowa Law Review - 1942-1943
  • Iowa Law Review - 1943-1944
  • Box 2:
  • American Bar Association - 1933-1936
  • American Bar Association - 1937-1938
  • American Bar Association - 1938-1939
  • American Bar Association - 1939-1940
  • American Bar Association - 1940-1941
  • American Bar Association - 1941-1942
  • American Bar Association - 1942-1943
  • American Bar Association - 1943-1944
  • Bar admissions - 1938-1939
  • Iowa Law School Association - 1923-1937
  • Iowa Law School Association - 1937-1938
  • Iowa Law School Association - 1938-1939
  • Iowa Law School Association - 1939-1940
  • Iowa Law School Association - 1940-1941
  • Iowa Law School Association - 1942-1943
  • Box 3:
  • Association of American Law Schools - 1933-1937
  • Association of American Law Schools - 1937-1938
  • Association of American Law Schools - 1938-1939
  • Association of American Law Schools - 1939-1940
  • Association of American Law Schools - 1940-1941
  • Association of American Law Schools - 1941-1942
  • Association of American Law Schools - 1942-1943
  • Association of American Law Schools - 1943-1944
  • Box 4:
  • Annual report - 1940-1941
  • American Law Institute - 1935-1937
  • American Law Institute - 1937-1938
  • American Law Institute - 1938-1939
  • American Law Institute - 1939-1940
  • American Law Institute - 1940-1941
  • American Law Institute - 1941-1942
  • American Law Institute - 1942-1943
  • American Law Institute - 1943-1944

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Rutledge, Wiley, 1894-1949

Corporate Names:
American Bar Association

Occupations:
Lawyers
Law teachers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Articles
Reports
Correspondence

Title:
Iowa law review

Browse:
University of Iowa College of Law