Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the College of Homeopathic Medicine Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1887-1919
Creator: College of Homeopathic Medicine
Extent: 3.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG13.0001.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Records of the College of Homeopathic Medicine were transferred to the University Archives at various times, including a part of Accession 2007-06. Guide posted to the Internet February 2007.

Preferred Citation: College of Homeopathic Medicine Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The records of the College of Homeopathic Medicine consist of case records, faculty minutes, and other materials. Documents are arranged in chronological order within each series. Publications of the College (announcements, bulletins, and annual reports) are in Archives cataloged serials as Announcement - College of Homeopathy. The College existed from 1876 until 1919.
Papers of Dr. George Royal (RG99.0257)

Publications of James G. Gilchrist

Cone, Carl B. "The College of Homeopathic Medicine." In his "History of the State University of Iowa : The College of Medicine," pp. 279-299, notes. Iowa City, 1941. Hardin; Archives.

Persons, Stow. "The Decline of Homeopathy--The University of Iowa, 1876-1919." Bulletin of the History of Medicine 65 (spring 1991): 74-87, notes. Hardin; Historical Papers Collection in Archives (RG01.0001.003).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: OVERSIZE BOX

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Homeopathic Weekly Hospital Reports - 1895-1896
  • Homeopathic Weekly Hospital Reports - 1896-1897
  • Homeopathic Weekly Hospital Reports - 1897-1898
  • Homeopathic Weekly Hospital Reports - 1898-1899
  • Homeopathic Weekly Hospital Reports - 1899-1900
  • Homeopathic Weekly Hospital Reports - 1901-1902
  • Homeopathic Weekly Hospital Reports - 1902-1903
  • Homeopathic Weekly Hospital Reports - 1903-1904
  • Homeopathic Weekly Hospital Reports - 1904-1905
  • Homeopathic Weekly Hospital Reports - 1905-1906
  • Proving of the O.O. & L. Society, undated
  • Preliminary Examination of the Nose and Throat
  • Examination of the Blood
  • Bacteriological Examination
  • Preliminary Examination of the Ears
  • Routine Functional Examination (Chest)
  • Record of the Students' Standing on Examinations - 1878-1891
  • Secretary's Book - Homeopathic Hospital Association minutes - 1887-1895
  • List of physicians in Iowa, undated
  • Lecture notes
  • Box 2:
  • Superintendent's Record - University Homeopathic Hospital, March 29-June 29 - 1917-1919
  • Series 2: OVERSIZE BOX
  • Box 1:
  • Records of Clinic, Homeopathic Department - 1887-1900
    1 ledger
  • Outpatient Record, Homeopathic Department - 1914-1919
  • Homeopathic case records - 1916-1919
  • Faculty minutes - 1906-1915

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa College of Homeopathic Medicine