Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Civilian Pilot Training Program Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1942-1944
Creator: Civilian Pilot Training Program (1939-1944)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG10.0003.002
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970.

Preferred Citation: Civilian Pilot Training Program Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The Civilian Pilot Training Program was established in September 1939 on campuses nationwide, in anticipation of the need for increased numbers of pilots beyond what the armed forces was prepared to train. It was sponsored by the Civilian Aeronautics Administration as an extracurricular activity for college students. This civilian program was transformed into a military program during the summer of 1942. It was renamed the War Training Service Program and was designed for Army or Navy Air Corps cadets. In addition, the program provided supervisory training to Naval officers. According to the National Museum of the U. S. Air Force Web site, the services ended their contracts with the CPTP/WTS in early 1944 and the program was dissolved in 1946.

These papers include reports, correspondence, course schedules, and applications of instructors for the Civilian Pilot Training Program from 1942 to 1944 at the State University of Iowa.

Correspondence is included from the Naval Aviation Cadet Selection Board, St. Louis, Missouri, and the Civil Aeronautics Administration Civilian Pilot Training, Kansas City, Missouri, within the reports series. There is correspondence with the Shaw Aircraft Company, which operated a flight school at the Iowa City Municipal Airport. The U. S. Naval contract includes correspondence with John P. Morris, director of the Civil Aeronautics Administration War Training Service in Washington, D. C.

Applications for instructor positions included in this collection were primarily received between March and May 1943. Some letters of application noted that War Training Service programs on their local campuses had been discontinued, while others were applying for positions because they had recently graduated from courses. Applications arrived from Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, and Oregon.Reports include the names of graduated students.Eight-week course schedules cover the entire period of the War Training Service Program, from summer 1942 to spring 1944.
Folder, "Croft, Huber O.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Folder, "Dawson, Francis M.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Folder, "Lundquist, Elmer C.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Papers of Elmer C. Lundquist (RG99.0241)

Resource Guide to Military and Wartime Service

Browse by Series:
Series 1: APPLICATIONS, INSTRUCTOR POSITIONS
Series 2: RECLASSIFICATION REQUESTS
Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 4: WAR TRAINING SERVICE COURSE SCHEDULES
Series 5: REPORTS

  • Series 1: APPLICATIONS, INSTRUCTOR POSITIONS
  • Box 1:
  • Abate, Robert Valentino, photograph attached
  • Aguirre, James Brassell, photograph attached
  • Carnes, G. C.
  • Collier, Lauren Kent, photograph attached
  • Cunningham, Chester Clyde
  • Gardner, Eugene V.
  • Gilbert, Donald
  • Green, Jess D.
  • Hofstad, Anton, photograph attached
  • Holtman, John Monroe, photograph attached
  • Houser, H. F.
  • Immerman, David
  • Jones, Harry
  • Kirlin, S. Warner
  • Leu, Elmer Roy, photograph attached
  • Mason, Sam
  • McDowell, Floyd
  • Noble, Carl Elroy
  • Oppenheim, Theodore S.
  • Rudin, John Jesse, photograph attached
  • Scott, Lee
  • Shelden, Joseph Paul
  • Slayton, Clarence Harvy
  • Weblemoe, James L.
  • Zeiger, Hal
  • Zeiger, Harold, photograph attached
  • Series 2: RECLASSIFICATION REQUESTS
  • Box 1:
  • Gilbert, Donald
  • Hofstad, Anton
  • Holtman, John Monroe
  • Noble, Carl Elroy
  • Slayton, Clarence Harvy
  • Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Buckley Hotel, Iowa City, regarding beds for cadets - 1943-1944
  • Shaw Aircraft Company, Iowa City Municipal Airport - 1942-1943
  • U. S. Navy contract and correspondence - 1943-1944
  • Series 4: WAR TRAINING SERVICE COURSE SCHEDULES
  • Box 1:
  • Summer 1942-fall 1943 - 1942-1943
  • Fall 1943-spring 1944 - 1943-1944
  • Series 5: REPORTS
  • Box 1:
  • Facilities for the Special Training of Aeroplane Pilots and Mechanics at the University of Iowa [includes photographic prints] - 1938-1939
  • Iowa City CPT inspection - 1942
  • Mid-course reports - 1942
  • Semi-annual reports from Civil Aeronautics - 1942-1944
  • Graduated students - 1943-1944

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa College of Engineering