Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Labor Center Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1952-1993
Creator: Center for Labor (1913-)
Extent: 45.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG07.0006.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries from the Labor Center on numerous occasions from 1980 to 1999. Iinitial deposits processed by Leonard A. Hitchcock in August 1982. Guide posted to Internet April 2005; updated February 2006 and January 2008.

Preferred Citation: Labor Center Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

These records document educational programs presented by the Labor Center during the period 1952-1993. The programs were primarily classified as conferences, seminars, institutes, and short-courses. The records consist largely of printed programs and other printed materials utilized by instructors and student participants, student rosters, and correspondence directly related to the planning and execution of those programs. Occasionally, records of other professional activities of staff members are included, primarily attendance at out-of-state conferences.The bulk of the material covers 1962 to 1993. The focus during this period was labor rather than management, with documentation of attendees, correspondence, course materials, and booklets which were often provided by the various unions. Not all booklets are identified in the box list. Photographs of course participants are included in nearly every box, and may be included in folders but unlisted. Most of the programs conducted from 1952 to 1959 focused on courses for management, and those folders contain fewer records of how the programs were planned and conducted. Correspondence was retained beginning in October 1962.The educational programs offered by the Center for Labor and Management addressed virtually every important aspect of labor activity, e.g. union leadership and administration, communications, wage determination, grievance procedures, bargaining techniques, labor law, and labor-management relations. Some programs were concerned with the problems of particular unions, others were directed to more general union issues.A great many Iowa labor unions participated in Center for Labor programs. The following unions were conspicuous by their continuing sponsorship of educational events: United Rubber Workers, Communication Workers of America, National Association of Letter Carriers, American Federation of Grain Millers, International Association of Machinists, Aluminum Workers of America, United Packinghouse Workers, and the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers.
Schacht, John N. "American Labor and Working Class History at Iowa."Books at Iowa 53 (November 1990): 29-59; 54 (April 1991): 31-56, notes.

State Historical Society of Iowa labor collection

B.R. Dew Collection of Railroadiana, MsC0497, Box 2, labor agreements 1907 - 1947 (incomplete)

Papers of Edward J. Breen, MsC0334, Box 4, Iowa Senate during 1937

Papers of Leroy Jones, MsC0169, labor records 1936 - 1954

Papers of Clarence M. Updegraff, MsC0484, labor arbitration 1940 - 1970

Papers of Steven V. Carter, MsC0250, Box 3, congressman in 1950s

Papers of Norman A. Erbe, MsC0206, Box 3, Iowa Governor Erbe's 1962 speech regarding labor

Papers of Delbert L. Trowbridge, MsC0286, Box 7, Iowa legislator in early 1970s, regarding a labor bill

Papers of Dick Clark, MsC0414, administrative assistant to Iowa congressman John Culver 1965 - 1972

Papers of Henry A. Wallace, MsC0177

Papers of Anthony Vincent Sinicropi, MsC0399

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Labor short course. June 16-20 - 1952
  • Arbitration conference on labor-management relations. May 15 - 1953
  • Labor short course. June 1-5 - 1953
  • Labor short course. June 14-18 - 1954
  • Arbitration conference on labor-management relations. October 28-29 - 1954
  • Labor short course. May 23-37 - 1955
  • Gerontology conference. October 11 - 1955
  • Collective Bargaining and Arbitration Conference, 5th annual. October 13 - 1955
  • City managers' conference. November 4-5 - 1955
  • Iowa community conference. Annual meeting of Iowa Council for Community Improvement. Includes program; a report, Summary of the National Community Conference, Washington, D.C., June 13-16. October 5 - 1956
  • Labor short course, 5th annual. April 30-May 4 - 1956
  • Iowa Federation of Labor (IFL), Labor short course, 6th annual. April 28-May 3 - 1957
  • Management seminar, "Current Trends and Problems in Industrial Relations". Includes program and list of participants. May 21 - 1957
  • United Rubber Workers (URW) conference. Includes program and list of participants. September 21-22 - 1957
  • Industrial development conference, proposed. Includes "Iowa's Industrial Revolution Hasn't Slowed in 10 Years", Cedar Rapids Gazette, August 25, 1957. Includes tentative program and a list of 139 Iowa contacts. ca. October-November - 1957
  • Labor law short course. November 18-20 - 1957
  • Iowa State Employment Service Managers (ISES). Manager's Conference, "Human Relations and Public Relations Problems and Practices." December 9-12 - 1957
  • Management seminar, "Identifying and Developing Managers". Includes program. December 13-14 - 1957
  • American Society for Personnel Administration. Proposed management communications conference. ca. December - 1957
  • Supervisory development course. Cedar Rapids, February 10-May 19 - 1958
  • Supervisory development institute, "Methods of Effective Supervision". Includes program and budget. Waterloo, February 28, March 1 - 1958
  • Management short course, "Effective Administrative Action". Includes program and list of participants. Maquoketa, March 12-May 14, - 1958
  • American Society of Training Director (ASTD) conference. Courses in how to train workers covers 17 areas. Includes program and names of participants. April 17-18 - 1958
  • Iowa Federation of Labor, labor short course, 7th annual. Includes program and names of participants. April 28-May 2 - 1958
  • Arbitration conference, 6th annual. "Preparation for Arbitration and Hearing Procedure: a Summary of Advice and Information for Company and Union Representatives", by Clarence M. Updegraff. May 17 - 1958
  • Management training institute. Includes program and list of participants. Marshalltown, May 23-24 - 1958
  • Newton research project. "Evaluating the Maytag Company's Supervisor Training Program" by Edgar M. Swartz. Newton, June 4 - 1958
  • Supervisory development short course. Includes a course outline, and list of participants. Iowa City, October 2-December 11 - 1958
  • Supervisory development institute. Includes a list of participants and budget. Maquoketa, October 7-December 9 - 1958
  • Cedar Rapids Advisory Council on Adult Education. Communications short course, "Communications in Industry". Includes course outline and list of participants. Cedar Rapids, October 8-December 10 - 1958
  • Iowa Federation of Labor. Labor-Law short course. Includes program and list of participants. November 6-8 - 1958
  • Communications institute for supervisors. Includes program and list of participants. Muscatine, November 14-15 - 1958
  • Mason City junior college vocational education division. Supervisory development institute. Mason City, December 5-6 - 1958
  • Coe evening college. Supervisory Development short course. Includes list of participants. Cedar Rapids, March 4-May 6 - 1959
  • Supervisory Development short course, "Human Relations in Industry", 10 sessions. Includes course outline and program. Muscatine, March 9-May 11 - 1959
  • Keokuk Trades and Labor Assembly. Labor short course, "Communications in the Local Union", 6 sessions. Includes course outline and list of participants. Keokuk, March 10-April 14 - 1959
  • Northeast Iowa Industrial Management Club. Supervisory development institute, "Methods of Effective Supervision". Includes program and list of participants. Waterloo, March 13-14 - 1959
  • Human relations short course. Includes a list of participants. Newton, March 16-May 18 - 1959
  • "The Problem Drinker in Industry" conference. Includes a program. March 21 - 1959
  • United Rubber Workers institute. Includes photographs of different groups of participants, one is labeled "Labor short course 1957". Includes list of participants, a newspaper clipping of the United Rubber Workers local # 164, and February 1958 newsletter of URCLPWA local union #164. April 4-5 - 1959
  • Administration short course. Includes course outline and list of participants. Iowa City, April 8-May 13 - 1959
  • Labor-management 7th annual conference, "Necessary Steps in Arbitration Procedure". Includes program and John B. Hughes presentation. May 9 - 1959
  • Central Union Council conference. Includes program, expenses, and list of participants. May 23-24 - 1959
  • Labor short course. Includes list of 45 participants, and group photograph of 33. May 25-29 - 1959
  • Merit system council institute, "Progress in Personnel Administration". Includes program and list of participants. Lake Okoboji, September 1-3 - 1959
  • Iowa Federation of Labor (AFL-CIO), and American Arbitration Association 5th annual labor-law institute, "Preparation and Presentation of Arbitration Cases". Includes program, list of 13 presenters, list of 23 participants, photograph of 31 participants. Includes reprints from 1957 and 1958 issues of AFL-CIO Education News and Views, and letter to constituents from Iowa Committee on Political Education, AFL-CIO. September 10-12 - 1959
  • Iowa Council of Machinists conference. Includes material presented in program. September 18-20 - 1959
  • Cedar Rapids advisory council on adult education. "Effective Administrative Action" short course. Includes program and list of participants. Cedar Rapids, October 7-December 9 - 1959
  • Management short course, "Effective Administrative Action". Includes list of participants. Muscatine, October 13-December 1 - 1959
  • Vocational Education, State Department of Public Instruction, management short course, "Developing Human Resources in Industry". Includes course outline and list of participants. October 13-December 10 - 1959
  • American Society of Training Directors (ASTD) conference. Includes expenses, and Monthly News, November 1959, by Communications Workers of America, Local #7101. October 30-31 - 1959
  • Mason City Junior College vocational education, "Effective Management Action" institute. Includes program, expenses, list of participants. Mason City, December 4-5 - 1959
  • Box 2:
  • Cedar Rapids Labor communication program. Cedar Rapids, January 13-February 17 - 1960
  • Cedar Rapids shift workers spring program. Postponement notice. April 4 - 1960
  • Keokuk union leadership program. Keokuk, March 29-May 3 - 1960
  • Railway operating brotherhood spring institute. Includes participants from Order of Railway Conductors and Brakemen, Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers. Includes list of participants, program material, and 7 issues of The Conductor & Brakeman Magazine, June 1955-May 1960, incomplete. June 1956 issue dedicated to Kate Shelley. April 7-9 - 1960
  • New labor law spring institute. April 30 - 1960
  • Iowa Council of Machinists. Health, welfare and pension institute. Includes program. May 6-7 - 1960
  • Marshalltown independent union institute. Marshalltown, May 13-14 - 1960
  • United Rubber Workers conference. Janesville, Wisconsin, May 18 - 1960
  • Labor short course. Includes list of participants. May 23-27 - 1960
  • Oregon department of employment. Employment service management workshop. Includes program, course material, and list of participants. Eugene, Oregon, July 11-August 5 - 1960
  • Automation conference, state council of machinists. Sioux City, August 15 - 1960
  • Labor law short course. Includes program and list of participants. Includes a pamphlet, A Look at the Record, that compares the political views of Senator John F. Kennedy with those of Vice-President Richard M. Nixon, and includes a six-page record of Kennedy's personal and political life. October 6-8 - 1960
  • United Rubber Workers institute. Includes program, list of participants, and Manual for URW Shop Stewards, 1959. October 8-9 - 1960
  • Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen and Enginemen conference. Includes program. Creston, October 12 - 1960
  • Profit sharing conferences, sponsored by Council of Profit Sharing Industries. Chicago, Illinois, Houston, Texas - 1960
  • Current Economic Problems short course. Includes course outline, list of participants, and newspaper clippings. Des Moines, April-May - 1961
  • Labor short course, 10th annual. Includes program and list of participants. May 22-26 - 1961
  • Central Union Council conference / institute. Includes program. June 16-17 - 1961
  • Workmen's compensation agents institute. Includes course outline. June - 1961
  • Industrial Engineering institute. Includes Collective Bargaining Report, June 1957, course material, and program. October 23-27 - 1961
  • Iowa State Council of Machinists fall institute. Includes program. November 17-19 - 1961
  • Current Economic Problems short course. Includes list of participants. Des Moines, Fall - 1961
  • United Rubber Workers (URW) fall institute. Includes program and list of participants. December 1-3 - 1961
  • Dubuque Federation of Labor, union education weekend institute. Includes program, and list of benefits gained with the new contract. Dubuque, January 26-27 - 1962
  • Dubuque Federation of Labor, "Communications in the Local Union" short course. Includes course outline and list of participants. January 26-27 - 1962
  • Des Moines union education weekend institute. February 16-17 - 1962
  • Clinton-Maquoketa labor education institute. Clinton, February 23-24 - 1962
  • Educational institutions and international labor. East Lansing, Michigan, March 25-30 - 1962
  • Iowa Federation of Labor (AFL-CIO) weekend education committee conference. April 14-15 - 1962
  • Labor short course. May 20-25 - 1962
  • International Association of Personnel in Employment Security (IAPES) national convention, 49th annual. Includes correspondence, 1961 committee report, 1959 consultants report, 1962 program and budget. Includes 1960 agenda, 1961 IAPES convention booklet, and 1961 sales kit information. Booklets included are Veterans Memorial Auditorium promotion and floor plans, Space Age Automation Show, Look magazine sales booklet, Iowa Power and Light Company promotional booklet of Iowa, June 1962 copy of The Des Moines Visitor. Des Moines, June 25-29, 1962 - 1962
  • Communications Workers of America (CWA) leadership school. Includes program and list of participants. September 9-14 - 1962
  • Labor law institute, 6th annual. Includes Congressional Record speech "Unions and the Antitrust Laws" August 10, 1962, correspondence, program, budget, list of participants, news release. October 11-13 - 1962
  • International Association of Tool Craftsmen (IATC) institute. Includes correspondence and list of participants. Davenport, February 3 - 1962
  • Box 3:
  • Machinists institute, 4th annual, efforts to reduce unemployment. October 19-21 - 1962
  • Community services committee leadership institute. Includes correspondence, budget, course material. November 9-10 - 1962
  • Clinton weekend institute. Includes budget and list of participants. December 7-8 - 1962
  • Supervisory training workshops conducted at other universities. Background material collected November-December - 1962
  • International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) short course. Cedar Rapids, February 4-March 11 - 1963
  • Letter Carriers institute. Includes National Association of Letter Carriers: Training & Education, Handbook 1-63. Includes The Postal Record, December 1962 and January 1963; Postal Bulletin, September 12, 1962; correspondence, budget, and list of participants. February 16-17 - 1963
  • Davenport Builders Trade weekend institute. Includes program, list of participants, and a quiz on wages and employment in the construction industry. Rock Island, Davenport, February 22-23 - 1963
  • Industrial engineering time study institute. Includes 4 issues of Collective Bargaining Report, 1957 -- 1962. Includes "The Right and Wrong of Time Study Computations", The Iron Age, August 17, 1944; two papers on motion time systems by industrial engineer Bertram Gottlieb from the Department of Research, AFL-CIO. March 4-8 - 1963
  • Clinton labor short course. Includes correspondence and list of participants. Clinton, March 11-April 15 - 1963
  • Des Moines union administration short course. Includes How to Run a Union Meeting, AFL-CIO, 1959, other publications; course outline and budget. Des Moines, April 8-May 13 - 1963
  • Dubuque Federation of Labor workmen's compensation institute. Includes program and budget. Dubuque, April 19-20 - 1963
  • United Rubber Workers (URW) conference. Includes How the Rubber Workers Won, by the Committee for Industrial Organization, Washington, D.C., June 1936; The President Speaks Out on Unions, a pamphlet of quotes from John F. Kennedy; Camouflage: the Myth of "Labor Monopoly" by the Industrial Union Department, AFL-CIO, publication No. 33; several booklets from the Industrial Union Department dated 1962 -- 1963; several publications from United Rubber Workers, including the newsletter dated February 1963, vol. 29, No. 2. Conference held April 19-21 - 1963
  • United Automobile, Aircraft & Agricultural Implement Workers of America (UAW). UAW Foreign Affairs Conference. Includes numerous publications that address the Trade Expansion Act of 1962; The United Nations in Brief by the United Nations, July 1962; The ICFTU: How it Works, What it Does, March 1962; News From ICFTU newsletter, January 1962, which provides history of the organization; correspondence; list of participants; April 1963 press release. April 26-28 - 1963
  • Quad-City Federation of Labor, "Education in the Local Union" institute. Includes program, correspondence, list of participants. Davenport, May 3-4 - 1963
  • Labor short course, 12th annual. Includes course outline and list of participants. May 19-24 - 1963
  • Labor law institute, 7th annual. Focus on workmen's compensation, unemployment, the Shaff Plan, and industrial safety codes. Includes program, list of participants, and news releases. October 24-26 - 1963
  • International Association of Bridge, Structural and Ornamental Iron Workers Union, Local #493. Grievance handling, proposed conference. Includes correspondence. Des Moines, November-December - 1963
  • UAW, "Improving the Communications Process" short course. Includes course material. Cedar Rapids, January 8-February 12 - 1964
  • Box 4:
  • UAW, Local #299 steward training course. Cedar Rapids, January 8-February 12 - 1964
  • Industrial engineering institute. March 9-14 - 1964
  • Packinghouse workers, Ottumwa union leadership program. Ottumwa, March 16, 23, 30, April 13, 20, 27 - 1964
  • International Association of Machinists institute. April 3-5 - 1964
  • National Association of Letter Carriers institute. April 18-19 - 1964
  • Annual Labor short course, advanced group. May 10-15 - 1964
  • Annual Labor short course, basic group. May 17-22 - 1964
  • Central union council institute. June 6 - 1964
  • American Federation of Grain Millers, Local #6, grievance course. Clinton, October 13, 20, 27-November 3, 10 - 1964
  • American Federation of Grain Millers, Local #6, grievance course. Course syllabus. Clinton, October 6-November 10 - 1964
  • Box 5:
  • Related course materials - 1964
  • Box 6:
  • Labor law institute, 8th annual. October 8-10 - 1964
  • United Rubber Workers (URW) institute. November 7-8 - 1964
  • Cedar Rapids labor assembly short course. Cedar Rapids, November 10-December 15 - 1964
  • UAW foreign affairs conference. November 20-22 - 1964
  • UAW union leadership and grievance handling short course. Cedar Rapids, January 20, 27-February 3, 16, 17 - 1965
  • Quad Cities Federation of Labor, labor history short course. Rock Island, Illinois, February 17-March 24 - 1965
  • Quad Cities Federation of Labor, labor history short course. Syllabus. Rock Island, Illinois, February 17-March 24 - 1965
  • Box 7:
  • Letter Carriers institute. February 19-21 - 1965
  • Leadership conference. February 23-24 - 1965?
  • Clinton labor congress, union leadership. Clinton, March 9-April 20 - 1965
  • Labor-management conference, 9th annual. March 18 - 1965
  • Time study institute. March 29-April 12 - 1965
  • Labor short courses, 14th annual. Includes course materials. May 16-21 - 1965
  • Labor short course manual. May 16-21 - 1965
  • Box 8:
  • Labor short course, annual. Basic course. May 16-21 - 1965
  • Labor short course, annual. Advance course - 1965
  • United Furnace Workers, Local #31, program. Marshalltown, June 4-5 - 1965
  • Machinists leadership school. June 6-11 - 1965
  • United Packinghouse Workers of America, Local #1, union leadership course. Ottumwa, October 4-November 22 - 1965
  • United Packinghouse Workers of America, Local #1, union leadership course. Course syllabus. Ottumwa, October 4-November 22 - 1965
  • Labor law institute, 9th annual. October 14-16 - 1965
  • American Federation of Grain Millers. Union leadership course, Clinton labor congress. Clinton, October 19 - 1965
  • Aluminum Workers of America, Local #105, union leadership course. Bettendorf, October 26-December 4 - 1965
  • Aluminum Workers of America, Local #105, union leadership course. Course syllabus. Bettendorf, October 26-December 4 - 1965
  • Box 9:
  • Related course materials - 1965
  • Box 10:
  • Related course materials - 1965
  • Box 11:
  • International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) program. Cedar Rapids, October 27-December 18 - 1965
  • Woodbury County Labor Council, union leadership institute. Sioux City, October 30 - 1965
  • International Association of Machinists (IAM) institute, 6th annual. November 12-14 - 1965
  • International Association of Machinists (IAM) institute, 6th annual. Course syllabus, November 12-14 - 1965
  • Black Hawk County labor history program. Waterloo. (Cancelled), Planned for January 12, 17 - 1966
  • Polk County Labor Council, labor history short course. Des Moines, January 27-March 17 - 1966
  • Burlington Trades and Labor Assembly institute. Burlington, January 29 - 1966
  • UAW union, Local #893, leadership short course. Marshalltown, January 31-March 21 - 1966
  • UAW union, Local #893, leadership short course. Course syllabus, Marshalltown, January 31-March 21 - 1966
  • Clinton Iron Workers, Local #647, union leadership short course. Clinton, February 2-March 9 - 1966
  • Clinton Iron Workers, Local #647, union leadership short course. Course syllabus, Clinton, February 2-March 9 - 1966
  • Box 12:
  • Quad Cities Federation of Labor short course. Rock Island, Illinois, February 3-March 17 - 1966
  • United Packinghouse Workers of America (UPWA), Local #467, short course. Waterloo, February 8-March 15 - 1966
  • Keokuk Trades and Labor Assembly institute. Keokuk, February 19 - 1966
  • Tri-Cities Building and Trades Council short course. Includes Lex Hawkins correspondence regarding participation in Labor Center programs from 1964, 1965 and 1966. Rock Island, Illinois, March 17-April 28 - 1966
  • Letter Carriers program. Marshalltown, March 26 - 1966
  • Wage determination institute, 5th annual. April 17-22 - 1966
  • Labor-management conference, 10th annual. April 26 - 1966
  • Box 13:
  • Labor short course, 15th annual. May 15-20 - 1966
  • Labor short course, 15th annual. Course materials, May 15-20 - 1966
  • Midwest Labor Press Association conference. June 2-4 - 1966
    2 folders
  • Box 14:
  • Aluminum Workers program, steward training. Newburgh, Indiana, June 20. Chalmette, Louisiana, November 28-December 1 - 1966
    Also see folder 12/5
  • International Association of Machinists (IAM) basic leadership school. August 28-September 2 - 1966
  • Institute of Public Affairs, community action workshop. Fall - 1966
  • United Glass and Ceramic Workers of North America. Ohio State program. Columbus, Ohio, September 11-16 - 1966
  • Communications Workers of America conference. October 2-7 - 1966
  • Transparent Film Workers short course. Clinton, October 4-November 3 - 1966
  • Box 15:
  • Dubuque Federation of Labor, labor union history and administration course. Dubuque, October 12-November 16 - 1966
  • Polk County Labor Council institute. Des Moines, October 13-November 17 - 1966
  • United Rubber Workers (URW) institute. November 5-6 - 1966
  • International Association of Machinists (IAM) institute. November 18-20 - 1966
  • Aluminum Workers International Union program. Chalmette, Louisiana, November 28-December 1 - 1966
    See also folder 11/1
  • International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) course. Cedar Rapids, November 28-January 16 - 1966-1967
  • Box 16:
  • Related course materials - 1966
  • Box 17:
  • Mason City school system conference. Mason City, January 15-16 - 1967
  • Quad Cities Federation of Labor course. Rock Island, Illinois, February 6-March 13 - 1967
  • Clinton Labor Congress, union leadership course. Clinton, February 7-March 14 - 1967
  • Iowa Association of Letter Carriers institute. February 10-12 - 1967
  • American Federation of Government Employees seminar. March 3-5 - 1967
  • Public Works Management seminar. March 13 - 1967
  • Box 18:
  • American Federation of Grain Millers institute. Workmen's Compensation, Medicare, State Safety Laws. March 17-18 - 1967
  • AFL-CIO institute on Testing. Aptitude testing for union representatives. Correspondence. Iowa City, March 19-24 - 1967
  • AFL-CIO institute on Testing. Program material. Iowa City, March 19-24 - 1967
  • AFL-CIO institute on Testing. Registration, conference papers, photographs. Iowa City, March 19-24 - 1967
  • Polk County Labor Council. "Workmen's Compensation & Safety Legislation" short course. Des Moines, March 30-May 4 - 1967
  • Sheet Metal Workers, AFL-CIO, Local # 535, job evaluation program. Columbus, Ohio, April 7-8 - 1967
  • Du Pont Transparent Film Workers. Programs in "Iowa Labor Laws", "Unemployment Insurance", and "Workmen's Compensation". Clinton, April 11, 18, 25 and October 3, 10, 17 - 1967
  • Labor-management conference, 11th annual, "Conflict in the Local Union". April 12 - 1967
  • 7th District Nurses Association. "Contract Negotiations in Relation to the Membership" workshop. Des Moines, April 14-15 - 1967
  • Box 19:
  • Wage determination institute, 6th annual. Two courses, "Time Study" and "Job Evaluation". Includes photographs. April 23-28 - 1967
    2 folders
  • University of Minnesota, "Effective Administrative Action in the Public Service" institute. Minneapolis, Minnesota, May 3-5 - 1967
  • Iowa Federation of Labor. Labor short courses, 16th annual. May 14-19 - 1967
  • Iowa Federation of Labor. Labor short courses, 16th annual. Includes course materials, booklets about raising minimum wage to $1.40, and group photograph of participants, May 14-19 - 1967
  • Aluminum Workers International Union (UWIU), Local #420. Steward training course book. Messina, New York, June 5-9 - 1967
  • Box 20:
  • Three skits performed for audience of Job Corps Center female students to prepare them for union jobs. Clinton, June 13 - 1967
  • College of Education administrators eighth annual summer seminar. Papers presented. June 26-30 - 1967
  • NDEA workshop objectives. July 10-14 - 1967
  • Communications Workers of America (CWA) Second Leadership School. Includes budget, evaluation, photographs. July 30-August 4 - 1967
  • Communications Workers of America (CWA) Second Leadership School. Instructors manual. July 30-August 4 - 1967
  • University of Wisconsin Boilermakers institute. Includes correspondence. Madison, Wisconsin, August 6-12 - 1967
  • International Confederation of Free Trade Unions (ICFTU) world conference. Correspondence and report. Montreal Canada, August 16-25 - 1967
  • University of Wisconsin, AFGE institute. Includes correspondence. Madison, Wisconsin, August 20-25 - 1967
  • Joint Council on Economic Education workshop. Includes government publications, articles. Summer - 1967
  • Machinists Leadership School. Includes course material and photographs. September 10-15 - 1967
  • Box 21:
  • University of Illinois, job evaluation program. Chicago, Illinois, September 18-22 - 1967
  • Aluminum Workers International Union. (Cancelled). October 1-6 - 1967
  • Union Leadership Academy (ULA). "Effective Union Leadership." Des Moines, October 3-November 30 - 1967
  • ULA, "Institutional Conflicts in Society". Cedar Rapids, October 4-November 30 - 1967
  • United Rubber Workers (URW) institute. October 7-8 - 1967
  • ULA, "Communication Skills". Quad Cities, October 9-December 4 - 1967
  • Labor law institute, 10th annual. October 12-14 - 1967
  • IBEW, Local #944. Steward training program. Waterloo, October 16-November 20 - 1967
  • Clinton labor congress. Clinton, October 17, 24, 31; November 14-28 - 1967
  • American Federation of State, County & Municipal Employees (AFSCME), steward training program. October 19, 26; November 2, 16, 30; December 7 - 1967
  • University Labor Education Association (ULEA) meeting. Washington, D.C., October 24 - 1967
  • Box 22:
  • Related course materials - 1967
  • Box 23:
  • Iowa State Council of Machinists institute, 8th annual arbitration conference. December 1-3 - 1967
    2 folders
  • Aluminum Workers institute, University of Wisconsin. Includes correspondence. Madison, Wisconsin, December 7-8 - 1967
  • Central Union Council. Includes correspondence. Cedar Rapids, December 9 - 1967
  • Aluminum Workers International Union, Local #105. Steward training course. January 4, 11, 18, 25; February 1, 8 - 1968
  • School-Municipal Relations Workshop. Includes program. January 19-20 - 1968
  • Communications Workers of America (CWA) leadership academy. Includes correspondence, photographs, news releases. January 22-March 23 - 1968
  • Central District Elementary Principals Association. Includes correspondence. Newton, January 24 - 1968
  • International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW), Local #1362. Steward training course. Cedar Rapids, January 30-March 19 - 1968
  • Iowa Association of Letter Carriers institute. Includes course material, correspondence, 1968 national union agreement, photograph, and The Commission on Political Activity of Government Personnel: A Commission Report. Findings and Recommendations, volume one, 1967. February 16-18 - 1968
  • Box 24:
  • Union Leadership Academy (ULA), "Effective Union Leadership". Clinton, February 21-April 10 - 1968
  • ULA, "Social Legislation and the Labor Movement". Includes booklet, How Your Senators and Representatives Voted, 1965-1966. Cedar Rapids, February-April - 1968
  • ULA, "Problems of the Affluent Society". Includes magazine The American Federationist, February 1967. Quad Cities, Davenport, February-April - 1968
  • ULA, "Our Economy and the Labor Movement". Des Moines, February-April - 1968
  • American Federation of Grain Millers. March 8-9 - 1968
  • Young Workers program. March 10-15 - 1968
  • Employee development, "Key to Effective Management. Duluth, Minnesota, March 27-29 - 1968
  • Central Union Council. (Cancelled), March 29-30 - 1968
  • International Brotherhood of Pulp, Sulphite and Paper Mill Workers. Employment-management training institute. Includes booklet Proving Your Arbitration Case, by Boaz Siegel, 1961. Mobile, Alabama, March 31-April 5 - 1968
  • 1st annual institute on governmental employee management relations. April 3-4 - 1968
  • Box 25:
  • Labor-management conference, 12th annual. Includes correspondence. April 17 - 1968
    2 folders
  • University Labor Education Association (ULEA) conference. St. Louis, Missouri, April 22-24 - 1968
  • General Beadle State College. Madison, South Dakota. (Cancelled), April 29 - 1968
  • IRRA meeting. Chicago, Illinois, May 17-18 - 1968
  • Wage determination institute, 7th annual. May 19-24 - 1968
    2 folders
  • Box 26:
  • Wage determination institute, 7th annual. Includes Apprenticeship, Past and Present: a story of apprenticeship in the skilled trades since colonial days, by the U.S. Department of Labor, 1964. Includes a catalog of National Safety Council posters, 1967-1968. May 19-24 - 1968
  • Executive development program, 28th annual. June 9-21 - 1968
  • Communications Workers of America (CWA) convention. Washington, D.C., June 17-21 - 1968
  • Labor short course. June 23-28 - 1968
  • Industrial engineering institute, job evaluation program. Madison, Wisconsin, July 15-26 - 1968
  • Communications Workers of America (CWA), Local #308, program. July 28-August 2 - 1968
  • American Institute of Industrial Engineers (AIIE) meeting. Moline, Illinois, September 5 - 1968
  • "Effective Union Leadership" program. Cedar Rapids, September 5-October 24 - 1968
    2 folders
  • Box 27:
  • Advanced Employment Security Manager's Program. "Current Trends in the World of Work," September 8-13 - 1968
  • International Association of Tool Craftsmen course. Includes correspondence and course outline. September 9, 16, 23, 30; October 28 - 1968
  • Union Leadership Academy (ULA). "Institutional Conflicts in Society." Davenport , September 9-October 7, 14 - 1968
  • Iowa Federation of Labor convention, 13th annual. Cedar Rapids, September 11-13 - 1968
  • International Association of Machinists (IAM) Lodge 1686, steward training course. Includes list of participants. September 26; October 3, 10, 17, 24 - 1968
  • American Institute of Laundry Certification Clinic. Includes correspondence and program. September 21 - 1968
  • Testing institute, 2nd. Includes correspondence. Iowa City, September 22-27 - 1968
  • Testing institute, 2nd. Testing materials. Includes two, three-inch reel tapes, and one envelope of photographs. Iowa City, September 22-27 - 1968
  • United Packinghouse Workers of America, Local #46, shop steward training. Includes correspondence, evaluation, list of participants. Waterloo, September 24; October 1, 8, 15, 22, 29 - 1968
  • American Institute for Free Labor Development (AIFLD). Includes correspondence. Madison, Wisconsin. (Cancelled), September 30-October 2 - 1968
  • International Molders Union, Local #74. Includes correspondence and budget. Kellogg, Iowa, October 1-November 12 - 1968
  • IUE meeting. Includes correspondence. Kansas City, Missouri, October 25 - 1968
  • University of South Dakota labor-business school. Includes correspondence. Vermillion, South Dakota, October 26 - 1968
  • Management seminars. Includes correspondence and November -- December, 1968 issue of News for Iowa Industry, with photograph of Dr. Sinicropi teaching to a class. Cedar Rapids and Davenport, October 31-November 7, 14, 21 - 1968
  • Adult Education Association meeting. Includes correspondence and program. Des Moines, November 15 - 1968
  • Box 28:
  • Related course materials - 1968
  • Box 29:
  • State Council of Machinists. November 15-17 - 1968
  • Iowa community services conference. Des Moines, December 4 - 1968
  • Public bargaining conference. December 10 - 1968
  • Communications Workers of America (CWA). Leadership academy teaching materials. January 27-March 16 - 1969
  • American Federation of Government Employees. January 29-February 1 - 1969
  • Box 30:
  • South Central Iowa Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO, seminar. Recruiting and admissions to college, the admission process and cost. Des Moines, February 8 - 1969
  • Action studies course, "Labor and Radical Reform in America". Includes a 6-page bibliography of labor union history. February 17 - 1969
  • United Rubber Workers institute. Includes the Grievances and Arbitration Guidelines for the URW, undated. February 15-16 - 1969
  • Amalgamated Meat Cutters and Butcher Workmen of North America (AMCBW), Local P-1, Packinghouse workers of Ottumwa. Steward training course. A 35-minute film, "Packingtown, U.S.A." was shown, and a brief outline of the film is included. Ottumwa, February 17; March 3, 17; April 7, 21; May 5 - 1969
  • Iowa State Association of Letter Carriers institute, 7th annual. Includes numerous booklets, the 1968 contract agreement, and one photograph. February 21-23 - 1969
  • United Automobile, Aerospace, Agricultural Implement Workers of America (UAW), Local #893. Correspondence about attempts to schedule a steward training school. Marshalltown. (Cancelled), February 24-March 31 - 1969
  • International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW), Local #1362. Labor law course outline and correspondence. Cedar Rapids, March 4, 11, 18, 25-April 8 - 1969
  • Union Leadership Academy (ULA), communication skills in 8 sessions. Includes three International Labor Press Association guides dated 1965 -- You Can Be Sued: A Primer On Libel, Invasion of Privacy and Copyright, and ILPA Press Relations Guide, and ILPA Local Publications Guide. Clinton, March 5-April 23 - 1969
  • Box 31:
  • Union Leadership Academy (ULA), "Our Economy and the Labor Movement". Includes course material and list of participants. Cedar Rapids, May-April 24 - 1969
  • American Federation of Grain Millers institute, on labor law. Includes course material and list of participants. March 7-8 - 1969
  • ULA, "Unions and the Community". Includes course material and list of participants. Quad Cities, Davenport, March 10-April 28 - 1969
  • ULA, "Unions and the Community". Includes course material and list of participants. Des Moines, March 11-April 29 - 1969
  • United Federation of Postal Clerks institute, "Union Administration and Grievance Handling". Includes course material, list of participants, and news release. March 21-23 - 1969
  • Communications Workers of America (CWA), education coordinators meeting. Includes course material and correspondence. April 7-10 - 1969
  • American Arbitration Association, arbitration conference, 13th annual. Includes correspondence. May 7 - 1969
  • American Arbitration Association, arbitration conference, 13th annual. "The process and current issues" course. Includes photographs. May 7 - 1969
  • Box 32:
  • Wage determination institute. May 18-23 - 1969
  • Labor short course, 18th annual. June 22-27 - 1969
  • International Association of Machinists (IAM), basic leadership school. September 7-12 - 1969
  • Box 33:
  • Communications Workers of America (CWA), leadership conference. Includes CWA 1966 constitution, CWA 1969 resolutions, and photographs with names of participants. September 14-19 - 1969
  • Union Leadership academy (ULA),"Effective Union Leadership." Quad Cities, Davenport, September 29 - 1969
  • ULA, "Communications Skills". Burlington, September 29-November 18 - 1969
  • ULA, "Institutional Conflict". Des Moines, September 30-November 18
  • ULA, "Social Needs in an Affluent Society". Clinton, October 1-November 19
  • ULA, "Communication Skills". Cedar Rapids, October 2-November 20
  • Teamsters, Local #238, steward training class. Cedar Rapids, October 2-4
  • International Association of Machinists (IAM), steward training program. Waterloo, October 9-November 16
  • New York Governor's conference. Includes correspondence and a national contact list. New York, New York, October 14-16
  • Dubuque Federation of Labor, steward training class. Dubuque, October 15-November 19
  • Labor law institute, 11th annual
  • Includes Job Testing and the Disadvantaged: APA Task Force on Employment Testing of Minority Groups, reprinted from American Psychologist, vol. 24, No. 7, July - 1969
  • Adaptability Test by Science Research Associates, Inc. - 1967
  • Institute (Cancelled), November 17-19 - 1969
  • Aptitude Testing Institute. (Cancelled), November 9-14 - 1969
  • Industrial relations conference. Includes numerous course outlines for arbitration; two articles from Monthly Labor Review, May 1969. November 17-19 - 1969
  • Box 34:
  • Central union council. Speech by Charles Buntz. Des Moines, December 6 - 1969
  • ULEA conference. Ann Arbor, Michigan, December 15-17 - 1969
  • Iowa Association of Letter Carriers institute. February 20-22 - 1970
  • Union Leadership Academy (ULA), "Our Economy and the Labor Movement". Quad Cities, Davenport, February 23-April 6 - 1970
  • ULA, "Man and his Environment". Des Moines, February 24-April 7 - 1970
  • ULA, "Effective Union Leadership". Burlington, February 25-April 8 - 1970
  • ULA, "Unions and the Community". Cedar Rapids, February 26-April 9 - 1970
  • American Federation of Grain Millers institute. March 6-7 - 1970
  • Postal Clerks institute. (Cancelled) March 13-15 - 1970
  • Box 35:
  • Wage determination institute, 9th annual
  • Area Wage Survey: The Davenport - Rock Island - Moline, Iowa - Illinois, Metropolitan Area, by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, October - 1967
  • Area Wage Survey: The Des Moines, Iowa, Metropolitan Area, by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, February - 1968
  • Institute, Iowa City (Cancelled), April 5-10 - 1970
  • Labor short course, 19th annual
  • Photograph of participants - 1970
  • Labor short course programs - 1963-1970
  • Correspondence - 1970
  • Three Audio-Visual Center job descriptions - 1970
  • Course, May 11-15 - 1970
  • Labor short course, 19th annual. Includes Memo from COPE; photograph of participants; 12 pages of excerpts from American Parliamentary Procedure for Officers and Members of Assemblies and Organizations, by Hugh F. Seabury, University of Iowa, January 9 - 1970
  • American Federation of Government Employees (AFGE). Includes ten photographs of AFGE participants; 2 copies of Executive Order 11491, signed October 29, 1969 by President Richard Nixon, distributed by American Federation of Government Employees; Executive Order 11491: A Primer, and Coordinated Federal Wage System, to explain the the New Coordinated Federal Wage System approved in December 1967. June 3-6 - 1970
  • International Printing Pressmen & Assistants' Union of North America (for the newspaper industry, commercial printing and specialty printing), seminar. Includes correspondence, program, and maps; News and Views, IPP & AU newsletter, vol. 1, no. 12, December 1969. Des Moines, June 6-7 - 1970
  • Communications Workers of America (CWA). Includes photographs, correspondence, program and program material; CWA budget report for 1970; question and answer booklet about the CWA; How to Win: a handbook for political education, by AFL-CIO, undated; Resolutions: 32nd annual convention, by CWA, June 1970; record of roll call votes for congressmen and senators during 1969. Program held September 13-18 - 1970
  • Box 36:
  • Labor law institute, 11th annual, "The 1970 Iowa Election". Includes The Pivotal 1970 Elections, by John M. Barry, managing editor of the AFL-CIO News, reprinted from October 1969 AFL-CIO American Federationist; AFL-CIO News, August 29, 1970. Includes Electing Congress: the financial dilemma: report of the Twentieth Century Fund Task Force on Financing Congressional Campaigns, 1970. September 25-26 - 1970
  • American Federation of Grain Millers institute. Includes correspondence, program, list of participants. Keokuk, October 2-3 - 1970
  • Central Union Council collective bargaining program. Includes a brief history of unions from the mid-1800s to 1947; material about contract negotiation, fringe benefits, and cost of living. Des Moines, November 21 - 1970
  • Des Moines labor law program. Includes correspondence, and list of participants. Des Moines, December 5 - 1970
  • National Association of Letter Carriers institute. Includes program, correspondence, list of participants, and two photographs; NALC Bulletin No. 5, February 24, 1971; material to explain the impact of Executive Order 11491, labor - management relations in the federal service. February 26-28 - 1971
  • Printing Pressmen programs on labor history and legislation, and steward training. Includes A Layman's Guide to Basic Law Under the National Labor Relations Act, May 1970. Includes The Labor Movement in the United States, by Jack Barbash, public affairs pamphlet No. 262, December 1966; The National Labor Movement: Chronology of Events in the History of Collective Bargaining in the United States, 1786-1955; Important Events in American Labor History, 1778-1963, by U.S. Department of Labor; A Guide to the 1959 Labor Reform Law; Are Union Members Liberal or Conservative? by Edgar R. Czarnecki; a comparative chart of the Wagner Act and Taft-Hartley. Des Moines, March 13-14, 27, 28 - 1971
  • Box 37:
  • Iowa State Council of Machinists, 10th annual leadership institute. Includes photograph of participants; The Alcoholic American, by National Association of Blue Shield Plans, 1970; The Coming Battle for National Health Insurance, by Bert Seidman, AFL-CIO Director of Social Security, January 1969; The Case for National Health Insurance, by George Meany, reprinted from January 1970 AFL-CIO American Federationist; Health Care for All Americans, by Rep. Martha W. Griffiths, reprinted from April 1970 AFL-CIO American Federationist. Institute held March 26-28 - 1971
  • Communications Workers of America (CWA), Iowa City Local #7116, steward training course. Booklets included are Important Events in American Labor History, 1778 -- 1963, by the U.S. Department of Labor, 1964; The Future of Collective Bargaining, by Joseph A. Beirne, President of Communications Workers of America, 1967; CWA Steward's Manual, not dated; Let's Hold A Good Union Meeting, by the CWA Education Department, October 1963; This is the AFL-CIO, November 1969; A Layman's Guide to Basic Law Under the National Labor Relations Act, by the Office of the General Counsel, National Labor Relations Board, 1970. Course held March 31-June 8 - 1971
  • Iowa Federation of Postal Clerks, union leadership institute. Includes the official publication of the United Federation of Postal Clerks, The Union Postal Clerk & The Postal Transport Journal, March 1971. Institute held April 17-18 - 1971
  • Grain Millers institute. Includes publications Toward National Health Security, winter 1971; Memo From COPE, Committee on Political Education, AFL-CIO, February 1971. Institute held at University of Illinois, Champaign, Illinois, April 21-22 - 1971
  • Iowa Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO labor short course, 20th annual. Includes booklet Successful Leadership in Groups and Organizations, by Joseph A. Wagner, 1959. May 17-21 - 1971
  • Iowa Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO labor short course, 20th annual. Includes course material, correspondence, photographs; How Your Senators and Representatives Voted, 1967-1968; The American Federationist, May - 1971
  • Box 38:
  • Amalgamated Clothing Workers conference. May 22 - 1971
  • American Federation of Government Employees. June 2-5 - 1971
  • Collective bargaining school. Clinton, June 2-July 7 - 1971
  • Central union council meeting. Amana, July 24 - 1971
  • Equal employment opportunity program. Rock Island, Illinois Arsenal, August - 1971
  • Box 39:
  • Communications Workers of America (CWA) leadership conference. Includes correspondence. September 12-17 - 1971
  • Quad Cities time study. Scott Community College, Riverdale, September 29-November 17, and October 4-November 29 - 1981
  • Labor law training institute. Des Moines, October 11-December 6 - 1971
  • Kirkwood Community College. Black entrepreneurial training program, "Obstacles to Minorities Entering Business". Includes correspondence, list of participants, course evaluation, and booklet Cedar Rapids Black Community Self-help Enabler Project, 1970. Program held Cedar Rapids, October-September - 1971-1972
  • AFSCME shop steward training program. Ankeny, Iowa, November 9-December 14 - 1971
  • Box 40:
  • Fort Dodge leadership training. Fort Dodge (Cancelled), November 20-21 - 1971
  • American Federation of Teachers (AFT) conference. November 20-21 - 1971
  • Iowa Federation of Labor. "The Wage-price Freeze and the Labor Movement" course. December 3-4 - 1971
  • Mason City leadership training. Mason City (Cancelled), December 4-5 - 1971
  • Cedar Rapids Labor Council financial analysis. Cedar Rapids, December 8 - 1971
  • Quad City labor law program. Scott Community College Riverdale, February 16-April 12 - 1972
  • Box 41:
  • Youth and the labor movement. Waterloo, Dubuque, Des Moines, February 12, 19, 26 - 1972
  • Iowa Association of Letter Carriers institute. February 25-27 - 1972
  • Fort Madison labor education program. Fort Madison (Cancelled), March 29-May 18 - 1972
  • American Federation of Grain Millers institute. Includes Presidential Appointments. April 5-7 - 1972
  • Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America (Cancelled). May 20 - 1972
  • Box 42:
  • Union Leadership Academy - 1968-1975
  • Box 43:
  • AFL-CIO Scholarship Program - 1970-1975
  • Box 44:
  • Programs and conferences - 1972
  • Box 45:
  • Programs and conferences - 1972
  • Box 46:
  • Programs and conferences - 1973
  • Box 47:
  • Programs and conferences - 1973
  • Box 48:
  • Programs and conferences - 1973
  • Box 49:
  • Programs and conferences - 1973
  • Box 50:
  • Programs and conferences - 1974
  • Box 51:
  • Programs and conferences - 1974
  • Box 52:
  • Programs and conferences - 1974
  • Box 53:
  • Programs and conferences - 1974
  • Box 54:
  • Programs and conferences - 1975
  • Box 55:
  • Programs and conferences - 1975
  • Box 56:
  • Programs and conferences - 1975
  • Box 57:
  • Programs and conferences - 1975
  • Box 58:
  • Programs and conferences - 1975
  • Box 59:
  • Administrative files - 1976-1980
  • Box 60:
  • Off-campus programs - 1992-1993
  • Box 61:
  • Off-campus programs - 1992-1993
  • Box 62:
  • Cancelled programs
  • Mutual Aid and Protection
  • New Tactics for Tough Times
  • Trade Union Women
  • Iowa Workers Compensation
    7 folders
  • UCLEA Regional Conference
  • ADA/DIS on campus
    2 folders
  • Box 63:
  • Workplace Health and Safety
  • Creating a Hazard-free Workplace
    2 folders
  • Labor Law
    3 folders
  • Civil Rights (Affirmative Action)
  • Health Care Issues in the '90s
  • Annual Labor Press Workshop
    3 folders
  • NALC on Campus
    3 folders
  • Box 64:
  • Employee Involvement/Map/Gainsharing
    4 folders
  • One-on-One Mobilizing
  • Bargaining for Retirement
  • 40th Annual Labor Short Course
    2 folders
  • 39th Annual Labor Short Course
    2 folders
  • Stewards' School
    4 folders
  • Financial Officers Education
    9 folders
  • Fact-finding and Interest Arbitration
    2 folders
  • NALC 89
  • Box 65:
  • Advanced Level Leadership
  • American Federation of Government Employees
    6 folders
  • Advanced Arbitration
  • Childcare
  • Collective Bargaining
    10 folders
  • Box 66:
  • Collective Bargaining
    8 folders
  • Communications Workers of America
    4 folders
  • 38th Annual Labor Short Course
    2 folders
  • Legislative Internship Program - 1979-1982
    9 folders
  • Dave Heart Research Memorial Grant
  • Annual Convention Programs and Reports
    19 items
  • Right to Work
    5 publications
  • Box 67:
  • Photographs, audio tapes
  • Box 68:
  • Video tapes
  • Box 69:
  • Audio tapes

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa College of Business