Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Physics Department Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1888-1997
Creator: Physics Department
Extent: 40.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG06.0028.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Department of Physics at various times. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.

Preferred Citation: Physics Department Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Papers of James A. Van Allen (RG 99.0142)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Physics Library
    2.0 ft.
  • Physics accession received June - 1994
    12.0 ft.
  • Physics accession received February - 1994
  • Physics accession received February - 1992
    numbered 9-13 02/92; 9.0 ft.
  • Physics accession received January - 1991
    12.0 ft.
  • UI Dept. of Physics & Astronomy Collection on November 1, 1991 Tragedy: "November 1991 Condolences" (Gang Lu/Lu Gang shootings) - 1991
    1.0 ft.
  • Hickman, Vivian (UI librarian) Collection on November 1, 1991 Tragedy - 1991
    0.5 ft.
  • Weather Records - 1888
    0.5 ft.
  • History series, James P. Wells material
    0.5 ft.
  • Physics and Astronomy Publications
  • MURA high energy accelerator proposals
    1.0 ft.
  • Physics BS thesis - 1892-1904
    0.5 ft.
  • Fusion (Physics Club)
    0.5 ft.
  • Physics and Astronomy Research Report series
    Titles are arranged chronologically by sequence number; e.g., 73-24 is the 24th title released during 1973. Titles with no or non-conforming numbers are placed at the end of that year's series; 34.0 ft.
  • Studies and reports
    0.25 ft.