Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Center for New Performing Arts Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1970-1978
Creator: Center for New Performing Arts (1905-1990)
Extent: 1.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG06.0024.004
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Records of the Center for New Performing Arts were transferred to the University Archives from the School of Music prior to 1980. Guide posted to the Internet December 2009.

Preferred Citation: [Name of collection], The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

"The Center for New Performing Arts grew out of the University of Iowa Center for New Music in 1970. The new program, directed first by William Hibbard and then by Martha Letterman, was established to stimulate interactive and creative experimentation in multiple fine arts disciplines, art, dance, film, laser art, music, and theater. The program sponsored visiting artists at the University of Iowa and had both local and touring productions. It published an untitled annual in 1972 and 1973 and is cataloged as Exhibition (see Related Materials).

The Records of the Center for New Performing Arts include budgets, correspondence, proposals, schedules, and subject folders.
Exhibition [supplied title], in University Serials and Journals Collection (RG01.0009.002)

Papers of William Hibbard (RG99.0338)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Areas of the arts to benefit from the center
  • Theatre
  • Dance
  • Music
  • Art
  • Creative Writing
  • Film
  • Information about the artists sponsored by the Center
  • CNPA-General - 1970-1975
    Contains a final report
  • Box 2:
  • Advisory Committee
  • Advisory Committee's first meeting minutes
  • Accepted and declined proposals
  • Proposals for support
    10 folders

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Hibbard, William, 1939-1989
Letterman, Martha

Corporate Names:
University of Iowa Center for New Performing Arts

Topics:
Performance art

Browse:
University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences